chessbase india logo

Nubairshah wins Late R B Sapre Memorial Open Rapid Rating 2020

by Shahid Ahmed - 30/01/2020

Top seed of the tournament, 1st SAARC Champion IM Nubairshah Shaikh of Maharashtra scored 8.5/9, remained undefeated to win Late R B Sapre Memorial Open Rapid Rating 2020. FM Nikhil Dixit finished at sole 8.0/9 to claim the second position. Three players finished at 7.5/9, IM Ramnathan Balasubramaniam of Tamil Nadu secured third position due to a better tie-break score. Total 227 players including 3 IMs and 2 FMs participated in this two-day tournament, organized by Chessmen Ratnagiri on 18th and 19th January 2020. Total cash prizes worth ₹131000 were distributed among prize winners. Photo: IA Vivek Sohani

Top seed dominates the field

1st SAARC Champion IM Nubairshah Shaikh of Maharashtra scored an unbeaten 8.5/9 to win Late R B Sapre Memorial Open Rapid Rating 2020. It is rare in a Swiss league event that a champion has faced four out of top six finishers. His only draw was in the penultimate round against the eventual runner-up FM Nikhil Dixit of Maharashtra, who finished at sole 8.0/9. Three players finished at 7.5/9, IM Ramnathan Balasubramaniam of Tamil Nadu finished at third place due to a better tie-break score.

Champion IM Nubairshah Shaikh 8.5/9 receives a beautiful trophy and ₹25000 cash prize for his efforts | Photo: Vivek Sohani

Nubairshah's unbeaten championship run also gained him 16 Elo rating points

The podium finishers (L to R) - Champion Nubairshah Shaikh, Second Runner-up Ramnathan Balasubramaniam and Runner-up Nikhil Dixit | Photo: Vivek Sohani

The Tournament was inaugurated on 18th January 2020 by Mr. Sachin Gabale from JSW Jaigarh Port who supported the event and Mr. Shriram Khare, President, Ratnagiri District Chess Association by Lighting of the lamp ceremony followed by moves over the board. Mr. Prasanna Ambulkar delivered President’s Address and vote of thanks at the end of Inaugural ceremony. The event was supported by JSW Foundation Jaigarh.


Total cash prizes worth ₹131000 were distributed by Captain Ravi Chander, Vice president and Unit head – JSW Jaigarh Port, Sudhir Tailong – JSW Jaigarh Port, Madhav Hirlekar KGN Saraswati Foundation, Chandrakant Halbe, KGN Saraswati foundation and Prasanna Ambulkar, President Chessmen Ratnagiri. As the tournament is consistently organized every year in the name of Mr. Sapre, this year the total prize money was sponsored by the family members of Mr. Sapre in his memory.


Total 227 players including 3 IMs and 2 FMs from five states across the country participated in this two-day Rapid rating event on 18th and 19th January 2020 at Ratnagiri, Maharashtra. The tournament was organized by Chessmen Ratnagiri.

Final Standings

Rk.SNo NameTypsexFEDRtgIClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
IMMohammad Nubairshah ShaikhIND2255MAH8,50,052,056,552,508
FMDixit NikhilIND2054MAH8,00,053,557,549,507
IMRamnathan BalasubramaniamIND2107TN7,50,055,560,548,007
Dere PushkarIND1763MAH7,50,048,552,540,757
Gandhi AnishIND1933MAH7,50,045,049,040,507
Sammed Jaykumar SheteIND2086MAH7,00,055,560,544,007
FMDeshpande AniruddhaIND2161MAH7,00,051,556,541,007
Mishra SanjeevIND1620MAH7,00,048,551,037,756
Suthar PradipIND1501MAH7,00,048,050,537,507
CMKadam Om ManishU13IND1465MAH7,00,047,050,536,007
Patwardhan Avdhut SIND1763MAH-R7,00,047,050,036,507
Gengaje PratikIND1464MAH7,00,046,050,036,256
WCMChopdekar GunjalF15wIND1509GOA7,00,043,545,032,007
Gajanan Vijay JayadeIND1814MAH6,50,051,554,036,755
Boricha KetanIND1905MAH6,50,050,053,035,006
Utkarsh LomateIND1954MAH6,50,048,552,035,256
Aditya SavalkarU15IND1540MAH6,50,047,550,034,006
Bhosale ShrirajIND1615MAH6,50,047,549,533,256
Om Nagnath LamkaneIND1625MAH6,50,047,050,034,256
Tanvi Vasudev HadkonkarF15wIND1398GOA6,50,046,048,532,256
Mali NileshIND1441MAH6,50,045,049,031,756
Pednekar AyushIND1311GOA6,50,045,049,031,256
Parab RishikeshU15IND1340GOA6,50,044,046,532,505
Halwai Aftab HasanIND1191MAH6,50,043,046,031,006
Bhatkar Zaheer AbbasIND1658GUJ6,50,041,544,030,006

Complete standings