chessbase india logo

54-year-old P D S Girinath triumphs at 1st BongCloud Rapid Rating Open 2022

by Shahid Ahmed - 16/11/2022

Generally, we almost always see a young player creating/breaking new record quite often. It's time to rejoice for adults and veterans as IM P D S Girinath scored eight straight victories at 1st BongCloud Rapid Rating Open 2022. A last round loss did not affect his first place position. Three more players - FM R Ashwath, IM Kushagra Mohan and top seed GM Thej Kumar M S scored 8/9 each. They were placed second to fourth according to tie-breaks. Thej was the only one to beat the eventual champion. Girinath showed that age is just a number. His knowledge, skills and understanding of the game is timeless. The total cash prize fund of the tournament was ₹200000. The top three prizes were ₹40000, ₹25000 and ₹15000 along with a trophy each. Photo: Amit Shriwas/BongCloud Chess Club

Girinath's first tournament victory in India in over seven years

This was IM P D S Girinath's second tournament victory of the year. Earlier in January, he won a close round-robin tournament, ASK1 in Serbia scoring an unbeaten 6.5/7. Girinath has been playing for a long time. He has performed admirably in various tournaments throughout his career. The last tournament he won in India was a Classical Rating tournament in May 2015. This could very well be his first Rapid Rating tournament victory. 15-year-old FM Shubh Jayesh Laddha (USA) was the youngest top ten. He scored 7.5/9 to secure seventh position.

Champion - IM P D S Girinath 8/9 | Photo: Amit Shriwas/Bongcloud Chess Club

Runner-up - FM R Ashwath 8/9 | Photo: Amit Shriwas/BongCloud Chess Club

Second Runner-up - IM Kushagra Mohan 8/9 | Photo: Amit Shriwas/BongCloud Chess Club

IM P D S Girinath en route his victory over one of the latest IMs of India, Kushagra Mohan | Photo: Amit Shriwas/BongCloud Chess Club

IM P D S Girinath scored eight consecutive wins, a last round also did not deter his championship chances

4th GM Thej Kumar M S 8/9 | Photo: Amit Shriwas/BongCloud Chess Club

6th IM D V Prasad 7.5/9 | Photo: Amit Shriwas/BongCloud Chess Club

The tournament director, Amit Shriwas addresses the audience at the closing ceremony | Photo: Amit Shriwas/BongCloud Chess Club

The organizing team along with arbiters, Karnataka's first IM and Arjuna Awardee D V Prasad, Karnataka's first GM Thej Kumar and the tournament winner IM P D S Girinath | Photo: Amit Shriwas/BongCloud Chess Club

The tournament hall at The Galleria Mall, Yelahanka | Photo: Amit Shriwas/BongCloud Chess Club

The trophies for the prize winners | Photo: Amit Shriwas/BongCloud Chess Club

A special thanks to Amit Shriwas, Tournament Director for sharing photos and info about the tournament.


A total of 360 players including a GM and 3 IMs took part from various parts of the country, one from Mongolia and Scotland each, two from USA. The one-day nine-round Swiss league Rapid Rating tournament was organized by BongCloud Chess Club at The Galleria Mall in Bengaluru, Karnataka on 30th October 2022. The time control of the tournament was 15 minutes + 5 seconds increment.

Final standings

Rk.SNo NameTypsexGrFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
IMGirinath P.D.S.IND2261TG85659,551,0008
FMAshwath R.IND2240TN8535648,7507
CMKushagra MohanIND2295TG852,55648,0008
GMThejkumar M. S.IND2312KA8495348,0008
Prachura P.P.BNGIND2121KA7,554,558,546,5007
IMPrasad Devaki VS60BNGIND2225KA7,55256,545,7506
FMLaddha Shubh JayeshU15USA2081USA7,551,554,542,7507
Sham RIND1646TN7,551,55341,2507
Abhishek DasIND2158JH7,55155,545,0007
Sailesh RIND1576TN7,550,554,543,2507
FMSenthil Maran KIND2109TN7556044,0007
Lokesh N.IND2112TN749,55337,5007
AGMLakshith B SalianMNGIND1406KA749,55237,5007
Bellayaru SamarthU15BNGUSA1755KA74953,538,5007
Pranav A JBNGIND1413KA74953,537,5007
Abhyuday SanthoshU15BNGIND1588KA7495238,5006
Medhansh RathiU15BNGIND1346KA748,55136,0007
Subash AnandIND1345TN74750,536,0007
Tejas Pai TU15BNGIND1151KA7465037,0007



BongCloud Chess Club: Official site, facebook, instagram, twitter and youtube

Related news:
Pranav Venkatesh aces Promethean Rapid Rating Open 2023

@ 03/03/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Rathanvel V S wins 3rd SCMA Rapid Rating Open 2023

@ 18/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Stany G A wins Republic Day Cup Rapid Rating Open 2023

@ 08/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ritviz Parab victorious at 5th Kudremukh Trophy Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 08/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Balkishan wins SIMSRH 1st Rapid Rating Open with a perfect score

@ 03/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Samarth J Rao wins 3rd All India Physically Challenged Rating Chess Championship 2022

@ 02/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Aakash Sharadchandra Dalvi is the winnner of SAS Ventures 2nd Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 12/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vaisnav A dominates 8th ICA Below 1700 Rating Tournament

@ 06/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sharan Rao dominates 2nd SCMA Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 27/11/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Chakravarthy Reddy clinches Sushruta Reddy's 1st Rating Open 2022

@ 23/10/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Laxman R R dominates 17th BRDCA Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 11/10/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ajith MP triumphs at 3rd ICA Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 26/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Harikrishnan wins 9 Sportz All India Rapid Rating Chess Tournament 2022

@ 13/06/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Laxman R R wins DKCA All India Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 28/05/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himanshi Rathi clinches AICFB National Women Chess Championship for the Blind 2022

@ 14/05/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Thej Kumar wins SCMA All India Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 06/05/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Swara Lakshmi S Nair clinches 7th ICA Below 1700 Rating Chess Tournament 2022

@ 04/05/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Nitin Senthilvel wins All India Blitz Rating Open 2022

@ 30/04/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kaustuv Kundu triumphs at 4th Bangalore Open 2022

@ 20/04/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sammed Jaykumar Shete wins All India Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 19/04/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Arghyadip Das wins 16th BRDCA All India Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 31/03/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Pranav Venkatesh wins 4th Kudremukh Trophy All India Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 20/01/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Rathanvel VS clinches R Hanumantha Memorial Cup All India Open Rapid and Blitz Rating 2021

@ 07/01/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
IM Muthaiah Al dominates Torpedoes Rashmi Shetti Memorial All India Rapid Rating Open 2021

@ 27/12/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sharan Rao emerges victorious in 15th BRDCA Karnataka State Open

@ 06/04/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
38th BRDCA Rapid Open attracts 260 players all over India

@ 02/03/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Karnataka's third and India's 63rd GM Girish Koushik gets felicitated by Infosys

@ 17/02/2020 by Ganesh Gopalan (en)
Advaith and Siddhi win Karnataka State under-9 Open and Girls 2020

@ 01/02/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Stany wins Mandya Chess Academy All India Open Blitz 2019

@ 11/12/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
534 kids take part in the Karnataka State Schools 2019

@ 19/11/2019 by Hinduja Reddy (en)
Roto Lawyer's Cup is back

@ 22/10/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)