chessbase india logo

Himanshi Rathi clinches AICFB National Women Chess Championship for the Blind 2022

by Shahid Ahmed - 14/05/2022

Himanshi Rathi (GUJ) scored an unbeaten 7.0/8 to win AICFB National Women Chess Championship for the Blind 2022. She finished a half point ahead of the field. This is her third National Women title. Previously, she won it in 2019 and 2020. Vaishali Savalker (MAH) scored an unbeaten 6.5/8 to finish at second place. She also finished second for the third consecutive time. Five players scored 6.0/8. Tijan Punaram Gawar (MAH) was placed third according to tie-breaks. A total of 50 players participated in this three-day eight round tournament from various states across the country. Top three totally blind and top three partially are selected for Asian para games. Photo: AICFB

Himanshi and Vaishali finish top two for the third consecutive time

Himanshi Rathi and Vaishali Savalker have secured first and second place for the third consecutive edition of AICFB National Women Chess Championship for the Blind. Previous two occassions were in 2019 and 2020.

Champion - Himanshi Rathi 7.0/8 | Photo: AICFB
Himanshi Rathi becomes AICFB National Women Champion for the third consecutive time | Video: ChessBase India

Himanshi scored a crucial victory in the sixth round against then tournament leader Mrunali Pande to get herself in the lead

Runner-up - Vaishali Savalker 6.5/8 | Photo: AICFB
Interview with Vaishali Savalker by Kishan Gangolli (Hindi Audio) | Video: ChessBase India

Second Runner-up Tijan Punaram Gawar 6.0/8 | Photo: AICFB

Top 3 (L to R) - 3rd Tijan Punaram Gawar, 1st Himanshi Rathi and 2nd Vaishali Savalker | Photo: AICFB

Dr. Suman Revenkar Superintendent of Police of Karwar district, Karnataka making the inaugural move | Photo: AICFB

Kishan Gangolli, Vice President of AICFB makes the inaugural move | Photo: AICFB

Dr. Suman Revankar delivers her inaugural speech | Photo: AICFB

Guests and Officials at the Inauguration Ceremony | Photo: AICFB

The tournament was inaugurated by Dr. Suman Revenkar Superintendent of Police of Karwar district, Karnataka. Other guests present were Anand, CEO of BNB securities, Manish Thool, General Secretary of AICFB, Sri Krishna Udupa, President of Karnataka State Chess Association, Kishan Gangolli, Vice President of AICFB. Rtn. M Stephen Rodigreous, President of Rotary Club of Honnavar.

The trophies for the prize winners | Photo: AICFB

Highlights of the tournament: This event was hosted for the first time in Karnataka. Despite this tournament being held in a remote area, there was a record number of entries for the first time in the history of blind Chess.

The tournament hall | Photo: AICFB

Second seeded Mrunali Pandey (MAH) en route her victory against Vruthi Jain (KAR) in Round 5 | Photo: AICFB

A special thanks to AICFB Vice President, Kishan Gangolli for sharing photos and various info about the tournament.


A total of 50 players took part from various states across India. The tournament was jointly organised by Rotary Club of Honnavar and All India Chess Federation for the Blind (AICFB) in association with Karnataka State Chess Association for Visually Challenged from 6th to 8th May 2022 at Honnavar, Karnatak. The eight-round Swiss league tournament had a time control of 60 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1.

Round 8 results

17Tijan Punaram Gawar1162½ - ½Rathi Himanshi12226
238Sanskruti Vikas More0½ - ½Mrunali Pande12852
31Vaishali Nrendra Salavkar13141 - 05Sarita Manoj Kataria12663
435Patra Roshni050 - 15Megha Chakraborty12344
521Jain Neha051 - 05Tembhurnikar Ritu101110


Final standings

Rk.SNoNameFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
16Rathi HimanshiIND1222Gujarat7,037,541,50,0
21Vaishali Nrendra SalavkarIND1314Maharashtra6,539,041,50,0
37Tijan Punaram GawarIND1162Maharashtra6,040,544,50,0
42Mrunali PandeIND1285Maharashtra6,039,041,50,0
54Megha ChakrabortyIND1234West Bengal6,038,042,00,0
638Sanskruti Vikas MoreIND0Maharashtra6,036,540,50,0
721Jain NehaIND0Chhattisgarh6,035,538,50,0
85Lokhande ShobhaIND1232Maharashtra5,537,039,00,0
98Vruthi JainIND1044Karnataka5,038,040,00,0
1010Tembhurnikar RituIND1011Maharashtra5,037,041,00,0



Tournament Info

AICFB official site

Related news:
Pranav Venkatesh aces Promethean Rapid Rating Open 2023

@ 03/03/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Rathanvel V S wins 3rd SCMA Rapid Rating Open 2023

@ 18/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Stany G A wins Republic Day Cup Rapid Rating Open 2023

@ 08/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ritviz Parab victorious at 5th Kudremukh Trophy Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 08/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Balkishan wins SIMSRH 1st Rapid Rating Open with a perfect score

@ 03/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Samarth J Rao wins 3rd All India Physically Challenged Rating Chess Championship 2022

@ 02/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Aakash Sharadchandra Dalvi is the winnner of SAS Ventures 2nd Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 12/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vaisnav A dominates 8th ICA Below 1700 Rating Tournament

@ 06/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sharan Rao dominates 2nd SCMA Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 27/11/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
54-year-old P D S Girinath triumphs at 1st BongCloud Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 16/11/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Chakravarthy Reddy clinches Sushruta Reddy's 1st Rating Open 2022

@ 23/10/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Laxman R R dominates 17th BRDCA Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 11/10/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ajith MP triumphs at 3rd ICA Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 26/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Harikrishnan wins 9 Sportz All India Rapid Rating Chess Tournament 2022

@ 13/06/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Laxman R R wins DKCA All India Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 28/05/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Thej Kumar wins SCMA All India Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 06/05/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Swara Lakshmi S Nair clinches 7th ICA Below 1700 Rating Chess Tournament 2022

@ 04/05/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Nitin Senthilvel wins All India Blitz Rating Open 2022

@ 30/04/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kaustuv Kundu triumphs at 4th Bangalore Open 2022

@ 20/04/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sammed Jaykumar Shete wins All India Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 19/04/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Arghyadip Das wins 16th BRDCA All India Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 31/03/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Pranav Venkatesh wins 4th Kudremukh Trophy All India Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 20/01/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Rathanvel VS clinches R Hanumantha Memorial Cup All India Open Rapid and Blitz Rating 2021

@ 07/01/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
IM Muthaiah Al dominates Torpedoes Rashmi Shetti Memorial All India Rapid Rating Open 2021

@ 27/12/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sharan Rao emerges victorious in 15th BRDCA Karnataka State Open

@ 06/04/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
38th BRDCA Rapid Open attracts 260 players all over India

@ 02/03/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Karnataka's third and India's 63rd GM Girish Koushik gets felicitated by Infosys

@ 17/02/2020 by Ganesh Gopalan (en)
Advaith and Siddhi win Karnataka State under-9 Open and Girls 2020

@ 01/02/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Stany wins Mandya Chess Academy All India Open Blitz 2019

@ 11/12/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
534 kids take part in the Karnataka State Schools 2019

@ 19/11/2019 by Hinduja Reddy (en)
Roto Lawyer's Cup is back

@ 22/10/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)