chessbase india logo

Manigandan triumphs at 31st CUSAT Rating Open Chess Tournament 2022

by Shahid Ahmed - 26/06/2022

Starting out as the top seed, Manigandan S S scored an unbeaten 7.5/8. He finished a half point ahead of the field to win 31st CUSAT Rating Open 2022. Four players scored 7/8 each. They are - Arpith S Bijoy, Goutham Krishna H, Mithun Anand V and Abdallah M Nistar. 13-year-old Arpith and the reigning National Under-12 Open champion, Goutham were placed second and third respectively according to tie-breaks. Total prize fund of the tournament was ₹300000. Top three prizes were ₹30000, ₹25000 and ₹20000 along with a trophy each. The tournament was held between 26th and 29th May 2022 at CUSAT Campus. Photo: IA T Vinoth Kumar

Kerala kids dominate the podium

Two out of the top three places were claimed by strong kids from the home state, Kerala. While 13-year-old Arpith secured second place, 11-year-old Goutham was placed third according to the tie-breaks. Another teenager, 13-year-old Aswath S scored 6.5/8 to make a top 10 finish at seventh place. Kerala's very own Anilkumar O T was the sole veteran (Above 50) to make it in the top 10. He scored 6.5/8 to finish sixth. The tournament returned after a two-year hiatus due to Covid-19 pandemic. The previous edition was won by Ilamparthi A R in 2019.

Champion - Manigandan S S 7.5/8 | Photo: IA T Vinoth Kumar

Manigandan S S scored an unbeaten 7.5/8 and gained 5 Elo rating points

Runner-up - Arpith S Bijoy 7/8 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Second Runner-up - Goutham Krishna H 7/8 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Dr. K N Madhusoodanan, Vice-Chancellor, CUSAT inaugurated the event | Photo: IA T Vinoth Kumar

A total of 446 players took part in this four-day Classical Rating tournament. The event was organized by Department of Physical Education, CUSAT and CUSAT Chess Club at CUSAT Campus, Cochi, Kerala from 26th to 22nd May 2022. The time control of the event was 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment.

Final standings

Rk.SNoNameTypsexGrFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
11Manigandan S SIND2122TN7,539,544,040,500,07
218Arpith S BijoyU15IND1713KER7,041,045,538,500,06
319Goutham Krishna HU15IND1709Ker7,040,544,538,000,06
425Mithun Anand VIND1672TN7,036,039,031,500,07
528Abdallah M NistharIND1653KER7,035,538,533,500,06
65Anilkumar O.T.S50IND1996KER6,541,045,034,500,06
722Aswath SU15IND1694TN6,539,543,532,750,06
8100Nishanth DsouzaIND1283KAR6,539,042,533,000,06
97Dinesh Kumar JaganathanIND1974Tn6,538,543,033,750,06
1046Vivek VinodIND1506Ker6,538,541,532,250,06
1111Sanjay S PillaiIND1780Ker6,538,541,531,250,05
123Sridhar JIND2090Tn6,537,040,528,750,06
1371Giridhar AU15IND1381KER6,536,040,033,000,05
1414Dharmaraj P.IND1765TN6,536,038,530,000,05
1531Raveendran C.R.S50IND1640KER6,535,539,030,000,06
1627Rajeev V MIND1659KER6,535,038,031,750,05
1751Aadithya PradeepIND1477Ker6,533,035,528,250,06
1834Suhail RasheedIND1604KER6,532,535,528,500,06
196Marthandan K UIND1995KER6,042,044,530,000,06
2010Joy Lazar M.A.S50IND1794KER6,041,546,030,750,05
214Chandar RajuIND2012Ker6,041,545,031,000,05
222Ram S. KrishnanIND2110TN6,039,543,530,000,05
239Ajeesh AntonyIND1807KER6,038,542,028,750,05
2452Jack SamuelU15IND1477TN6,038,041,027,500,06
258Dhanush Ragav N SIND1902TN6,038,041,027,000,05
2615Arul Anandh S P KIND1757TN6,037,541,529,000,06
2745Shirodkar AayushIND1511Goa6,037,541,528,500,06
2839Adithya A ChullikkadU15IND1560KER6,036,540,530,000,04
2930Krishna Karthik NIND1646Tel6,036,540,529,250,05
3041Raaghav Kabil MU15IND1537Tn6,036,038,527,250,05