chessbase india logo

Sooraj shines at Adith Paulson Memorial 4th Don Bosco Open

by Shahid Ahmed - 14/10/2019

Fourth seeded Sooraj M R of Thrissur won his maiden open rating tournament by scoring an unbeaten 8.0/9 and finishing a half point of the runner-up. Sooraj is the current Thrissur District Senior, Rapid and under-25 champion. 67-year-old Abdul Majeed N scored an impressive unbeaten 7.5/9 to secure the first runner-up position. Top seed of the tournament Gunasekaran N scored 7.0/9 and due to a better tie-break score he was placed third. Total 205 players participated in the tournament from all across the country from 4th - 8th October 2019. Total Prize fund ₹301000 was distributed among 92 prize winners. A pictorial report of the tournament with photographs from Chief Arbiter of the tournament FA Peter Joseph M

Sooraj wins his maiden open rating tournament

Sooraj M R of Thrissur won his maiden open rating tournament by scoring an unbeaten 8.0/9 and finishing a half point ahead of the runner-up Abdul Majeed N

Champion Sooraj M R of Thrissur | Photo: Peter Joseph

Sooraj receives his Champion's trophy and ₹30000 | Photo: Peter Joseph

In the prize distribution ceremony, Fr. Manuel Mevada, Rector, Don Bosco, presided over the meeting. Mr. Saju Pathadan, District Governor Lions Club distributed the prizes for the winners. Mr. Johnson Kolankanny,  Mr. Shajan Chakkalakal, President, Lions Club, Irinjalakuda West, Mr. Peter Joseph, Secretary, Chess Association Thrissur, Mr. Radhakrishnan K S, Treasurer, Chess Association Thrissur attended the closing ceremony.

Sooraj remained undefeated and gained 36 Elo rating points

Thomas Unniyaden lights up the lamp in the traditional 'Lighting of the Lamp Ceremony' | Photo: Peter Joseph

The tournament was inaugurated by Mr. Thomas Unniyaden, Ex-Kerala government Chief Whip at Don Bosco School on 4th October 2019. Mr. Sasidharan, President, Chess Association Thrissur, presided over the inaugural meeting. Mr. George Moreli, II Vice District Governor, Lions Club, Mr. Johnson Kolankanny, Mr. Sajithan, K K, Zonal Chairman, Mr. Sureshkumar T J, Indian Youth Team Coach, Mr. Shajan Chakkalakal, President, Lions Club, Irinjalakuda West, Mr. Babu K T, Chairman, Adith Foundation, were present at the ceremony. Fr. Manuel Mevada, Rector, Don Bosco Irinjalakuda, welcomed the gathering and Mr. Peter Joseph M, Secretary, Chess Association Thrissur expressed the vote of thanks.

Inaugural moves are made | Photo: Peter Joseph

The tournament hall | Photo: Peter Joseph

Total 205 players from all over the country took part in this five-day nine round Swiss league tournament, organized by Don Bosco Youths,Lions club, Irinjalakuda West Lions Club and Thrissur Chess Academy from 4th to 8th October 2019.

Final Standings

Rk.SNoNameFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
14Sooraj M RIND18388,00,049,553,5
28Abdul Majeed N.IND17417,50,053,057,0
31Gunasekaran K.IND20177,00,054,058,5
415Suresh P KIND16947,00,049,553,5
516Nijai GiriIND16727,00,048,050,5
620Abhinav Chakrapani SanthalayanIND16477,00,047,552,0
718Vishnu MenonIND16627,00,047,551,0
817Raveendran C.R.IND16677,00,046,049,5
913Madhusoodanan K.R.IND16987,00,044,548,5
1026Felix MoothedathIND15687,00,044,045,0
113Abdulkhader A.IND18447,00,042,547,0
125Raju SIND18356,50,050,554,5
1311Raju O AIND17066,50,050,554,0
149John Veny AkkarakaranIND17226,50,049,053,0
157Joy AntonyIND17516,50,048,553,0
1623Bright Lee M SunilkumarIND15776,50,048,552,5
1727Mihir A KIND15426,50,043,047,0
1864Vishnu Dath V DIND12906,50,043,046,0
1928Jos Paul DavisIND15206,50,043,045,0
2037Ebin BennyIND14486,50,042,044,5
2121Nithyan SIND16256,50,040,544,5
2233Jyothika U RIND14756,50,039,042,0
236Joy Lazar M.A.IND17696,00,050,555,0
2419Mohanan U.C.IND16586,00,048,553,0
2547Adra PIND13696,00,047,551,0

Complete Standings

Related news:
Sandeep Santhosh wins 4th ISC Triumph Cup Below 1800 Rating Tournament 2024

@ 11/07/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
FIDE Arbiter Unni Krishnan dominates 33rd CUSAT Rating Open 2024

@ 26/06/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
13-year-old Goutham Krishna dominates 3rd Chessmii Rapid Rating Open 2024

@ 27/04/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Augustin awesome at Anatoly Karpov Legacy Rating Open 2024

@ 17/04/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Christ College Irinjalakuda, Kerala, pioneers Chess Literacy in Physical Education

@ 07/02/2024 by Peter Joseph M (en)
Nimmy A G becomes Kerala's first Woman International Master

@ 01/12/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Che International Chess Festival 2023: Praggnanandhaa beats Nihal 7.5 - 2.5 in their first-ever Blitz match

@ 23/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Che International Chess Festival 2023: Kerala wins against Cuba 42.5 - 37.5

@ 19/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
केरल VS क्यूबा - पहले दिन क्यूबा नें 21-19 से आगे

@ 17/11/2023 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Kerala vs Cuba, Nihal vs Praggnanandhaa set to take place at Che International Chess Festival 2023

@ 15/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Yash Kulhari wins 1st Dhoni's Trophy Below 1600 Rating Tournament 2023

@ 11/10/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Shadhursshaan clinches 1st Dhoni's Trophy Rating Open 2023

@ 16/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Marthandan wins 32nd CUSAT Rating Open 2023

@ 21/06/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
A visit to God's Own Country

@ 14/06/2023 by Aditya Sur Roy (en)
Arpith S Bijoy wins Cademic Chess Carnival Rapid Rating Open 2023

@ 20/05/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ratnakaran wins Cademic Chess Carnival - 3rd Cademic Blitz Rating Open 2023

@ 19/05/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Simultaneous Chess Exhibition with Grandmaster S L Narayanan

@ 02/05/2023 by Abhijith M (en)
Cademic Chess Carnival 2023 offers a prize fund of ₹1299999, starts this Saturday 22nd April

@ 18/04/2023 by Smitha Selvi (en)
Ravi Teja wins CCS Chess Festival Blitz Rating Open 2023

@ 15/04/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Jubin Jimmy jubilant at CCS Chess Festival Rapid Rating Open 2023

@ 11/04/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Chakravarthi Reddy dominates CCS Chess Festival Rating Open 2023

@ 07/04/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Satheesh wins Chalakudy Chess Academy Below 1600 Rating Tournament 2023

@ 01/03/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
14-year-old Sreyas Payyappat wins Johnson Pallippatt Memorial 7th Don Bosco Rating Open 2022

@ 21/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Abhijith triumphs at 2nd ISC Below 1700 Rating Tournament 2022

@ 12/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Prasannaa wins 1st ISC Rating Open 2022

@ 08/11/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mithun Anand V wins 1st Cademic International Rating Open 2022

@ 08/09/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Rakesh Kumar Jena does a hat-trick by clinching BYJU's Starwarz Rating Open 2022

@ 01/09/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Manigandan triumphs at 31st CUSAT Rating Open Chess Tournament 2022

@ 26/06/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Hrithickkesh P R clinches 5th Adith Paulson Memorial Don Bosco Rating Open 2021

@ 14/01/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Chandar Raju clinches 58th Kerala State Senior Open 2021

@ 04/04/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
IM Neelash Saha and Samriddhaa Ghosh win 30th National under-17 2019

@ 09/07/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
S Prasanna wins Ananthapuri Parents 1st Open 2019

@ 13/05/2019 by Rejith LR (en)
S Prasanna wins 4 Queens 2nd FIDE Rated Open 2019

@ 10/05/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)

Contact Us