chessbase india logo

Arpith S Bijoy wins Cademic Chess Carnival Rapid Rating Open 2023

by Shahid Ahmed - 20/05/2023

Arpith S Bijoy, Goutham Krishna H and IM Ratnakaran K - all four scored 8/9 each at Cademic Chess Carnival Rapid Rating Open 2023. 14-year-old Arpith won the tournament due to better tie-breaks. 12-year-old Goutham and Ratnakaran were placed second and third respectively. Arpith drew against Goutham in the final round. Both of them remained undefeated. The total prize fund of the tournament was ₹300000. The top three prizes were ₹25000, ₹18000 and ₹10000 along with a trophy each respectively. The two-day rapid rating tournament was organized by Cademic Chess Center. This was Arpith's first ever rating tournament triumph. Ratnakaran went on to win the Blitz Rating Open of the Carnival on the following day. Photo: Cademic Chess Center

Arpith's first Rating tournament triumph

14-year-old Arpith S Bijoy and the 34th National Under-12 Open champion, Goutham Krishna H were the coleaders heading into the final round 7.5/8. They drew their game. Fou players were in pursuit at 7/8 each. They were - Hermon Dain Saldanha, IM Ratnakaran K, Anilkumar O T and Chandar Raju. Hermon lost to Ratnakaran and Anilkumar drew against Chandar. Thus, Ratnakaran also ended with 8/9. He was placed third according to tie-breaks.

Top 3 (L to R): 2nd Goutham Krishna H, 1st Arpith S Bijoy and 3rd IM Ratnakaran K 8/9 | Photo: Cademic Chess Center

Arpith S Bijoy scored an unbeaten 8/9 and gained 102.4 Elo rating points

This was the first of the four Rating tournaments which took place consecutively, part of the Cademic Chess Carnival from 22nd April to 1st May 2023.

The podium finishers with IA Smitha Selvi, Tournament Director (left) and IA M Ephrame, Chief Arbiter (right) | Photo: Cademic Chess Center

The trophies for all four rated events of the Cademic Chess Carnival | Photo: Cademic Chess Center

A total of 349 players including 4 IMs participated from various states across the country. The two-day nine-round Swiss league Rapid Rating tournament was organized by Cademic Chess Center at St. Thomas Church Hall, Valiaveli in Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala on 22nd an 23rd April 2023. The time control for the event was 15 minutes + 5 seconds increment from move no.1.

Final standings

Rk.SNoNameTypsexGrFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
117Arpith S BijoyIND1881KER - KNR854,559,552,50
214Goutham Krishna HU13MCAIND1923KER - TVM85155,547,75
34IMRatnakaran K.IND2235SRLYS8495347,50
410Nithin BabuIND1964KER - KSD7,55458,547,00
51FMJubin JimmyIND2455KER - KLM7,5535846,00
68FMSreyas PayyappatIND2083KER - TVM7,5525642,50
77Aswath SCapeIND2092TN7,550,555,545,75
82IMNitin S.IND2294TN7,5505443,00
919Chandar RajuIND1855KER - EKM7,549,553,542,75
1012Anilkumar O.T.S55IND1934KER - KZK7,548,553,541,25
1127Madhavan R MunjanattuIND1706KER - KYM75256,541,00
125FMHarsh SureshIND2148TN751,555,542,00
1339Hermon Dain SaldanhaIND1606KAR7485238,50
1435Anupam M SreekumarwIND1637KER - TVM7485137,50
1547Shaun Deon SequeiraU14IND1534KAR74549,537,00
1687Atul Krishna MU14IND1336KER - EKM744,547,535,00
1749Arunkumar SIND1520KER - TVM7434634,00
1858AIMAadinath HarilalU13IND1450KER - EKM7414433,25
1957Kavin Oviyan RIND1453KER - PTA7414433,00
2064Kalyani SirinF13wIND1424KER - TCR7414432,25
2120Vaibhav KalpakaU14IND1805KAR6,552,55739,25
2234Femil ChelladuraiwIND1642TN6,550,55637,75
2311Raju O AIND1952KER - TCR6,55053,534,25
2430Godson Merlin EIND1660TN6,54851,535,25
2554ACMMadhavakrishnan RIND1474TN6,547,551,529,25
2622Abdallah M NistharIND1771KER - KLM6,54751,535,50
27116Patil AkshajU14IND1256MH6,5474833,25
2816Mythireyan PIND1906TN6,5465034,25
2955AFMSureka AkshatU14IND1473KAR6,54649,531,75
3056Sidharth MohanMCAIND1457KER - TVM6,5464931,25



Cademic Chess Center: Official site and fb page

Related news:
Augustin awesome at Anatoly Karpov Legacy Rating Open 2024

@ 17/04/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Christ College Irinjalakuda, Kerala, pioneers Chess Literacy in Physical Education

@ 07/02/2024 by Peter Joseph M (en)
Nimmy A G becomes Kerala's first Woman International Master

@ 01/12/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Che International Chess Festival 2023: Praggnanandhaa beats Nihal 7.5 - 2.5 in their first-ever Blitz match

@ 23/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Che International Chess Festival 2023: Kerala wins against Cuba 42.5 - 37.5

@ 19/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
केरल VS क्यूबा - पहले दिन क्यूबा नें 21-19 से आगे

@ 17/11/2023 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Kerala vs Cuba, Nihal vs Praggnanandhaa set to take place at Che International Chess Festival 2023

@ 15/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Yash Kulhari wins 1st Dhoni's Trophy Below 1600 Rating Tournament 2023

@ 11/10/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Shadhursshaan clinches 1st Dhoni's Trophy Rating Open 2023

@ 16/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Marthandan wins 32nd CUSAT Rating Open 2023

@ 21/06/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
A visit to God's Own Country

@ 14/06/2023 by Aditya Sur Roy (en)
Ratnakaran wins Cademic Chess Carnival - 3rd Cademic Blitz Rating Open 2023

@ 19/05/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Simultaneous Chess Exhibition with Grandmaster S L Narayanan

@ 02/05/2023 by Abhijith M (en)
Cademic Chess Carnival 2023 offers a prize fund of ₹1299999, starts this Saturday 22nd April

@ 18/04/2023 by Smitha Selvi (en)
Ravi Teja wins CCS Chess Festival Blitz Rating Open 2023

@ 15/04/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Jubin Jimmy jubilant at CCS Chess Festival Rapid Rating Open 2023

@ 11/04/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Chakravarthi Reddy dominates CCS Chess Festival Rating Open 2023

@ 07/04/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Satheesh wins Chalakudy Chess Academy Below 1600 Rating Tournament 2023

@ 01/03/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
14-year-old Sreyas Payyappat wins Johnson Pallippatt Memorial 7th Don Bosco Rating Open 2022

@ 21/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Abhijith triumphs at 2nd ISC Below 1700 Rating Tournament 2022

@ 12/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Prasannaa wins 1st ISC Rating Open 2022

@ 08/11/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mithun Anand V wins 1st Cademic International Rating Open 2022

@ 08/09/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Rakesh Kumar Jena does a hat-trick by clinching BYJU's Starwarz Rating Open 2022

@ 01/09/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Manigandan triumphs at 31st CUSAT Rating Open Chess Tournament 2022

@ 26/06/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Hrithickkesh P R clinches 5th Adith Paulson Memorial Don Bosco Rating Open 2021

@ 14/01/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Chandar Raju clinches 58th Kerala State Senior Open 2021

@ 04/04/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sooraj shines at Adith Paulson Memorial 4th Don Bosco Open

@ 14/10/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
IM Neelash Saha and Samriddhaa Ghosh win 30th National under-17 2019

@ 09/07/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
S Prasanna wins Ananthapuri Parents 1st Open 2019

@ 13/05/2019 by Rejith LR (en)
S Prasanna wins 4 Queens 2nd FIDE Rated Open 2019

@ 10/05/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)

Contact Us