chessbase india logo

P Shyam Nikhil clinches 7th Noisiel Open, Vignesh second and Karthik third

by Shahid Ahmed - 20/07/2022

IM P Shyam Nikhil scored an unbeaten 7.5/9 to win 7th Noisiel International Open. He finished a half point ahead of the competition. IM Vignesh N R and GM Karthik Venkataraman scored 7/9 each. They were placed second and third according to tie-breaks. Total prize fund of the tournament was €44000. Top three prizes were €1200 and trophy, €800 and €600 each. 11-year-old Aditya Kunal Patil won the Open C (Below 1600) category, scoring 7/9. He remained undefeated and finished a half point ahead of the field. The kid received €250 as his first prize. The eighth edition of the tournament will take place in February 2023, dates will be announced in September this year. Photo: IO FI Narayanin Oupindrin

Indians dominate at Noisiel, France

GM-elect IM P Shyam Nikhil scored his fourth tournament triumph of the year. He started the year by winning the All India Railway Team Championship for Integral Coach Factory. Next he won Pandit Shiv Kumar Khamparia Memorial Blitz Rating Open in the same month, January. Then he won 2nd VS Chess Academy Rapid Rating Open in April. Thus, he won four tournaments this year, in all three formats of the sport. The runner-up of this tournament, IM Vignesh N R was Shyam's teammate in the All India Railway Team Championship.

Top 3 (L to R) - 1st IM P Shyam Nikhil, 2nd IM Vignesh N R and 3rd GM Karthik Venkataraman | Photo: IO FI Narayanin Oupindrin

Arbiters Jocelyn Azzegag and Khaled Bennadou accompanied by the tournament organizer IO FI Narayanin Oupindrin along with the top three finishers of 7th Noisiel International Open 2022.

Champion - IM P Shyam Nikhil 7.5/9 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

IM P Shyam Nikhil scored an unbeaten 7.5/9 to win the tournament

Runner-up - IM Vignesh N R 7/9 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Second Runner-up - GM Karthik Venkataraman 7/9 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

The 8th Noisiel International Open will be held in mid-February 2023, the dates will be confirmed in September 2022.


A total of 118 players took part combining three categories. The Open A section had 20 players including 4 GMs and 2 IMs from four countries across the world. The Open B and C categories had 49 players each from five countries across the world. The event was organized by IO FI Narayanin Oupindrin from 9th to 13th July 2022 in Noisiel, France. The time control was 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1.

Final standings in Open A

pl Last nameRatingCat.fedeLeagueClubPointsTr.Cu.Perf
1mSHYAAMNIKHIL P2443FSen M38½39½2560
2mVIGNESH NR2427FSen M739382515
4fJulien2298FSen MIDFLutece Chess3929½2333
5gDOURERASOU Jonathan2441FSen MIDFUSVillejuif Chess39272326
6 JOLLY Julien2252FJunMmacawOyonnax-Dortan Chess Club39½252285
7 BARBARAS Matthew2187FSen MISBischwiller38½23½2241
8gBELKHODJA Slim2322FSepMIDFJEAN38½22½2200
9 ROUAST Joseph2065FCadMIDFLe Vesinet Chess Club38242260
10 Nicolas HEINRICH2144FSen MISBischwiller3422½2201


Final standings in Open C (<1600)

pl Last nameRatingCat.fedeLeagueClubPointsTr.Cu.Perf
1 ADITYA KUNAL PATIL1224FPupM743½38½1564
2 EBOUE Yuri1375FMinMREUThe Kings of the East43½36½1479
3 EL KAROUI Noah1325FPouMIDFSaint-Maur Chess Club40311477
4 EL KAROUI Adam1303FPupMIDFSaint-Maur Chess Club38½321443
5 ALI ABSIEH Zakaria1199ESen M643361477
6 WALSH Theo1199EJunMIDFEvry Grand Roque64332½1442
7 CHHAUV Victor1456FSen MIDFMaubuee-Gondoire Chess641½341396
8 DEBARD Hugo1363FMinMIDFR2C2 Paris 1464030½1412
9 LAMORELLE Alexey1279FPpoMIDFLutece Chess638½301453
10 Dufraisse Matteo1380FJunMIDFThe Red Rider637½301458


Related news:
Harikrishnan A Ra dominates 2nd Noisiel Blitz Rating Open 2024, third in Classical

@ 07/05/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Abhimanyu Puranik clinches 40th Cappelle la Grande Open 2024 with a 2686 performance

@ 13/03/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sushanth Kamabathula wins 1st Festival du Manoir Hotel Touquet Golf Resort Open 2024

@ 11/03/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Bharath Subramaniyam H clinches 37th Cannes Open 2024 with a 2661 performance

@ 04/03/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain convincingly clinches 3rd Tours Open 2024

@ 30/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain victorious at 16th Marseille International Festival 2023

@ 18/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sankalp Gupta sensational at 20th Bois Colombes Master 2023 with a 2712 performance

@ 14/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Pranesh M wins 32nd Caen Open 2023, Nubairshah third

@ 14/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Deep Sengupta clinches 21st Capechecs Open 2023, Sayantan Das second

@ 12/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Nikita Petrov wins 1st Annemasse International Festival 2023, Sayantan second and Sahaj third

@ 06/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain dominates 1st Saint-Macaire Autumn Open 2023

@ 04/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Karthikeyan Murali clinches 1st Imaweb Trophy GM Tournament 2023

@ 03/09/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Iniyan wins 27th Creon Open 2023, Bharath Subramaniyam second

@ 30/08/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain wins 14th Vaujany Open 2023

@ 31/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sebastian Bogner clinches 96th Paris IdF Masters 2023, Harshavardhan second and Karthik Venkataraman third

@ 26/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Harikrishna wins French Top 16 for Asnières le Grand Échiquier

@ 13/06/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
S Rohith Krishna clinches 19th Malakoff Open 2023

@ 15/05/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Christian Bauer wins 10th Martinique Open - Joel Gratien Memorial, Priyanka second and Karthik third

@ 11/04/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Harshavardhan wins Manoir hotel Touquet golf resort Open 2023, Iniyan second and Nitin third

@ 13/03/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sayantan Das convincingly clinches 6th Cannes Chess Open 2023, becomes India's 81st Grandmaster

@ 02/03/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Invincible Iniyan clinches 8th Noisiel Open 2023, Vignesh N R second

@ 26/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sethuraman wins 39th Cappelle la Grande Open 2023 on his 30th birthday, Harsha Bharathakoti second

@ 25/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vignesh N R becomes India's 80th and first Grandmaster brothers with Visakh

@ 21/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Diptayan Ghosh wins 21st Rochefort Chess Festival Masters 2023, Harsha Bharathakoti third

@ 20/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vignesh N R dominates 24th NordWest Cup 2023

@ 10/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vignesh N R clinches 34th All India Railway Chess Championship 2022

@ 16/11/2022 by R Anantharam (en)
22nd Dubai Open 2022 R3: Vignesh holds Predke to a draw, Arjun Erigaisi now World no.20

@ 30/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Pranesh conquers 33rd City of Cannes Summer Open 2022

@ 24/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vignesh N R dominates 47th Ciudad de Sevilla Open 2022

@ 13/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Marc' Andria Maurizzi clinches 2nd Bastia Open 2022, M R Venkatesh second

@ 12/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Andrei Shchekachev triumphs at Paris IdF Masters 2022, Harsha Bharathakoti second

@ 18/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Maxime Lagarde triumphs at 20th Sautron Open 2022, Sidhant second and Bala Chandra third

@ 13/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vitaly Sivuk wins 2nd La Plagne Chess Festival 2022 Masters, Iniyan second and Sayantan third

@ 10/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Deep Sengupta triumphs 18th Vandoeuvre Open 2021

@ 25/12/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Antonio Viani wins double in France

@ 30/10/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Gujarat GM Open R9: Vignesh NR takes sole lead

@ 11/10/2018 by Aditya Pai (en)

Contact Us