chessbase india logo

Karthikeyan Murali clinches 1st Imaweb Trophy GM Tournament 2023

by Shahid Ahmed - 03/09/2023

GM Karthikeyan Murali scored an unbeaten 7/9 to win 1st Imaweb Trophy GM Tournament 2023. Karthikeyan finished a half point ahead of the field. IM Dominik Horvath (AUT) was placed second. He scored sole 6.5/9. Third place was claimed by GM Karen H Grigoryan (ARM). He made 6/9 and also remained undefeated. He drew against the eventual champion, Karthikeyan in the final round. The total prize fund was €6000. The top three prizes were €2500, €2000 and €1500 each respectively. This is Karthikeyan's first rating tournament triumph of the year. It was one of the most high level close tournament played in France - Category 14. Photos: Echiquier du Roy René

An unbeaten champion

GM Karthikeyan Murali won his first rating tournament of the year which had an average rating of 2554. We all know that he is very strong. This tournament triumph and that also while remaining undefeated only reasserts that notion.

Champion - GM Karthikeyan Murali 7/9

All ten participants of the tournament

Rodshtein - Karthikeyan, Round 5

Position after 30...Rxc3

GM Karthikeyan Murali (2618) navigated through the complex rook and few pawns endgame against GM Maxim Rodshtein (ISR, 2606) in the fifth round. 31.Ra5 Rc2 32.Rxa7?? b5 -+ and Black had no trouble converting his decisive advantage into a full point. The counter-intuitive 31.Kg2 allowing Black to capture White's pawns was a better practical choice than 31.Ra5. It would have given him some fighting chances.

Round 5: GM Maxim Rodshtein (ISR) - GM Karthikeyan Murali: 0-1

GM Karthikeyan Murali scored an unbeaten 7/9 and gained 16.10 Elo rating points

Round 2: GM Karthikeyan Murali - GM Leon Livaic (CRO): 1-0

GM Karthikeyan Murali deep in thought

The ten player round-robin tournament featured 6 GMs and 4 IMs from seven countries across the world. The tournament was organized by Echiquier du Roy Rene from 7th to 13th August 2023 at Espace Polyvalent Arbois Duranne in Aix en Provence, France. The nine-round tournament had a time control of 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1.

Final standings




Tournament Regulations

Related news:
Abhimanyu Puranik clinches 40th Cappelle la Grande Open 2024 with a 2686 performance

@ 13/03/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sushanth Kamabathula wins 1st Festival du Manoir Hotel Touquet Golf Resort Open 2024

@ 11/03/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Bharath Subramaniyam H clinches 37th Cannes Open 2024 with a 2661 performance

@ 04/03/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain convincingly clinches 3rd Tours Open 2024

@ 30/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain victorious at 16th Marseille International Festival 2023

@ 18/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sankalp Gupta sensational at 20th Bois Colombes Master 2023 with a 2712 performance

@ 14/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Pranesh M wins 32nd Caen Open 2023, Nubairshah third

@ 14/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Deep Sengupta clinches 21st Capechecs Open 2023, Sayantan Das second

@ 12/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Nikita Petrov wins 1st Annemasse International Festival 2023, Sayantan second and Sahaj third

@ 06/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain dominates 1st Saint-Macaire Autumn Open 2023

@ 04/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Iniyan wins 27th Creon Open 2023, Bharath Subramaniyam second

@ 30/08/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain wins 14th Vaujany Open 2023

@ 31/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sebastian Bogner clinches 96th Paris IdF Masters 2023, Harshavardhan second and Karthik Venkataraman third

@ 26/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Harikrishna wins French Top 16 for Asnières le Grand Échiquier

@ 13/06/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
S Rohith Krishna clinches 19th Malakoff Open 2023

@ 15/05/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Christian Bauer wins 10th Martinique Open - Joel Gratien Memorial, Priyanka second and Karthik third

@ 11/04/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Harshavardhan wins Manoir hotel Touquet golf resort Open 2023, Iniyan second and Nitin third

@ 13/03/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sayantan Das convincingly clinches 6th Cannes Chess Open 2023, becomes India's 81st Grandmaster

@ 02/03/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sethuraman wins 39th Cappelle la Grande Open 2023 on his 30th birthday, Harsha Bharathakoti second

@ 25/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Diptayan Ghosh wins 21st Rochefort Chess Festival Masters 2023, Harsha Bharathakoti third

@ 20/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
India finishes third at 4th SCO Online Team Tournament 2022

@ 08/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Pranesh conquers 33rd City of Cannes Summer Open 2022

@ 24/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Marc' Andria Maurizzi clinches 2nd Bastia Open 2022, M R Venkatesh second

@ 12/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
P Shyam Nikhil clinches 7th Noisiel Open, Vignesh second and Karthik third

@ 20/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Andrei Shchekachev triumphs at Paris IdF Masters 2022, Harsha Bharathakoti second

@ 18/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Maxime Lagarde triumphs at 20th Sautron Open 2022, Sidhant second and Bala Chandra third

@ 13/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vitaly Sivuk wins 2nd La Plagne Chess Festival 2022 Masters, Iniyan second and Sayantan third

@ 10/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Deep Sengupta triumphs 18th Vandoeuvre Open 2021

@ 25/12/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
GM Karthikeyan Murali on balancing chess and academics

@ 21/05/2020 by Sagar Shah (en)
Antonio Viani wins double in France

@ 30/10/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)

Contact Us