chessbase india logo

Bharath Subramaniyam H clinches 37th Cannes Open 2024 with a 2661 performance

by Shahid Ahmed - 04/03/2024

GM Bharath Subramaniyam H won 37th Cannes Chess Open A (>2100) 2024 with an unbeaten 7.5/9. He finished a half point ahead of the rest to become a clear champion. Four players - IM Kazybek Nogerbek (KAZ), GM Di Li (CHN), IM Savva Vetokhin and IM Ilamparthi A R scored 7/9 each. They were placed second to fifth respectively according to tie-breaks. The total prize fund for Open A was €6000. The top three prizes were €1800, €1200 and €700 along with a trophy each. This is the second rating tournament Bharath played in 2024 and he won it. Earlier, in February, he won a Rapid Rating tournament. GM K Sasikiran is the only other Indian to make a top ten finish. He scored 6/9 to be placed tenth. Photo: GM ShyamSundar M

Bharath wins two in-a-row

Four players - GM Bharath Subramaniyam H, IM Adar Tarhan (TUR), IM Savva Vetokhin and IM Kazybek Nogerbek (KAZ) were the four leaders 6.5/8 heading into the final round. Bharath defeated Adar and Savva drew against Kazybek in the final round. Thus, Bharath became a clear champion.

Champion - GM Bharath Subramaniyam H 7.5/9 | Photo: GM ShyamSundar M

Marco - Bharath, Round 6

Position after 28...Qa4!

28...Qa4! is an excellent move by GM Bharath Subramaniyam H (2515) against IM Marco Materia (FRA, 2434) for two reasons - one is to attack on the a2-pawn. However, that is not the primary reason. Second, to create access towards White's back rank. 29.a3 c3! White cannot take the c3-pawn due to Qd1+ followed by checkmate. 30.Nf3 Qc4 31.h3 c2 32.Kh2 Bb5 33.Ne1 Ba4 34.Qb2 Qxc5 and it's over. White lost material and c1Q threat is looming large.

Bharath Subramaniyam H en route his first round win against Sebastien Midoux (FRA) | Photo: Cannes Echecs

GM Bharath Subramaniyam H scored an unbeaten 7.5/9 to win the tournament, finished a half point ahead of others and gained 14.8 Elo rating points

5th IM Ilamparthi A R 7/9 | Photo: GM ShyamSundar M

Bharath and Ilamparthi belong to the same Velammal school and also a student of Chess Thulir academy | Photo: GM ShyamSundar M

10th GM K Sasikiran 6/9 | Photo: Cannes Echecs

The prize winners of Open A | Photo: Cannes Echecs

Top boards in action | Photo: Cannes Echecs

The trophies for the prize winners | Photo: Cannes Echecs

The tournament hall at Palais des Festivals de Cannes in Cannes, France | Photo: Cannes Echecs

A total of 136 players including 9 GMs, 24 IMs, a WGM and 3 WIMs took part from 22 countries all over the world in the Open A (>2100) section. The seven-day nine-round Swiss league Rating tournament was organized by Romuald De Labaca and Association Cannes Echecs at Palais des Festivals de Cannes in Cannes, France from 19th to 25th February 2024. The time control of the tournament was 40 moves in 90 minutes, followed by 30 minutes with 30 seconds increment from move no.1.

Replay all available games

Final standings

Pl NomEloCat.FedeLigueClubPtsPerfTr.
1gBHARATH SUBRAMANIYAM2515 FCadMPACCannes Echecs266142
2mNOGERBEK Kazybek2463 FJunM7260542½
3gLI Di2563 FSenM7259441
4mVETOKHIN Savva2410 FMinM7256140½
5mILAMPARTHI A R2414 FMinM7251737
6mTARHAN Adar2415 FCadM255841½
7mZHAO Yuanhe2449 FSenM255039½
8 BELKAID Sohan2414 FCadMIDFClichy-Echecs-92244134½
9fABDILKHAIR Abilmansur2357 FSenM243835
10gSASIKIRAN Krishnan2585 FSenMIDFEvry Grand Roque6251039
11fROUX Baptiste2331 FJunMARALyon Olympique Echecs6250343½
12gKARTHIKEYAN P.2281 FSenM6249341½
13mXIANG Zeyu2407 FSenM6248943
14mCAN Isik2492 FJunMIDFJ.E.E.N.6247041
15gPETKOV Momchil2504 FJunM6243238



Official site

Tournament Details

Related news:
'The Lighting Kid' Vishy Anand dominates 13th Quenza Blitz Open 2024 with a 3123 performance

@ 08/07/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Harikrishnan A Ra dominates 2nd Noisiel Blitz Rating Open 2024, third in Classical

@ 07/05/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Abhimanyu Puranik clinches 40th Cappelle la Grande Open 2024 with a 2686 performance

@ 13/03/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sushanth Kamabathula wins 1st Festival du Manoir Hotel Touquet Golf Resort Open 2024

@ 11/03/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain convincingly clinches 3rd Tours Open 2024

@ 30/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain victorious at 16th Marseille International Festival 2023

@ 18/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sankalp Gupta sensational at 20th Bois Colombes Master 2023 with a 2712 performance

@ 14/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Pranesh M wins 32nd Caen Open 2023, Nubairshah third

@ 14/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Deep Sengupta clinches 21st Capechecs Open 2023, Sayantan Das second

@ 12/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Nikita Petrov wins 1st Annemasse International Festival 2023, Sayantan second and Sahaj third

@ 06/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain dominates 1st Saint-Macaire Autumn Open 2023

@ 04/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Karthikeyan Murali clinches 1st Imaweb Trophy GM Tournament 2023

@ 03/09/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Iniyan wins 27th Creon Open 2023, Bharath Subramaniyam second

@ 30/08/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain wins 14th Vaujany Open 2023

@ 31/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sebastian Bogner clinches 96th Paris IdF Masters 2023, Harshavardhan second and Karthik Venkataraman third

@ 26/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Harikrishna wins French Top 16 for Asnières le Grand Échiquier

@ 13/06/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
S Rohith Krishna clinches 19th Malakoff Open 2023

@ 15/05/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Christian Bauer wins 10th Martinique Open - Joel Gratien Memorial, Priyanka second and Karthik third

@ 11/04/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Harshavardhan wins Manoir hotel Touquet golf resort Open 2023, Iniyan second and Nitin third

@ 13/03/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sayantan Das convincingly clinches 6th Cannes Chess Open 2023, becomes India's 81st Grandmaster

@ 02/03/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sethuraman wins 39th Cappelle la Grande Open 2023 on his 30th birthday, Harsha Bharathakoti second

@ 25/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Diptayan Ghosh wins 21st Rochefort Chess Festival Masters 2023, Harsha Bharathakoti third

@ 20/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Pranesh conquers 33rd City of Cannes Summer Open 2022

@ 24/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Marc' Andria Maurizzi clinches 2nd Bastia Open 2022, M R Venkatesh second

@ 12/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
P Shyam Nikhil clinches 7th Noisiel Open, Vignesh second and Karthik third

@ 20/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Andrei Shchekachev triumphs at Paris IdF Masters 2022, Harsha Bharathakoti second

@ 18/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Maxime Lagarde triumphs at 20th Sautron Open 2022, Sidhant second and Bala Chandra third

@ 13/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vitaly Sivuk wins 2nd La Plagne Chess Festival 2022 Masters, Iniyan second and Sayantan third

@ 10/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Deep Sengupta triumphs 18th Vandoeuvre Open 2021

@ 25/12/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Antonio Viani wins double in France

@ 30/10/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)

Contact Us