chessbase india logo

Harshavardhan wins Manoir hotel Touquet golf resort Open 2023, Iniyan second and Nitin third

by Shahid Ahmed - 13/03/2023

IM Harshavardhan G B, GM Iniyan P and IM Nitin S scored 7/9 each at 1st Manoir hotel Touquet golf resort Open 2023. The reigning Asian Junior Open 2022 Gold medalist, Harshavardhan became champion due to better tie-break score. Iniyan and Nitin were placed second and third respectively. All three of them suffered a loss each. Harshavardhan's sole loss was against the eventual runner-up, Iniyan. The top three prizes were €900, €800 and €300 along with a trophy each respectively. This is Harshavardhan's first tournament victory of the year as well as after becoming Asian Junior champion in November last year. Photo: Iniyan P

Indians claim eight out of top ten

Out of 66 players, 51 were from France and nine from India. India's 80th GM Vignesh N R, the Commonwealth 2022 Gold medalist, IM P Shyam Nikhil, IM Ratnakaran K and FM Mohamed Anees M scored 6.5/9 each. They were placed fourth to eighth according to tie-breaks. IM Viani Antonio Dcunha scored 6/9 to finish ninth.

Champion - IM Harshavardhan G B 7/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Runner-up - GM Iniyan P 7/9

Second Runner-up - IM Nitin S 7/9 | Photo: Iniyan P

Harshavardhan's only loss was against the eventual runner-up, GM Iniyan P

The top three finishers with their trophies (L to R) - 1st Harshavardhan G B, 2nd GM Iniyan P and 3rd IM Nitin S | Photo: Iniyan P

Back row L to R: IM Ratnakaran K, FM M Anees, GM Vignesh N R and the reigning Commonwealth 2022 Gold medalist, IM P Shyam Nikhil.


A total of 66 players including 3 GMs, 6 IMs and a WGM took part from six countries all over the world. The six-day nine-round Swiss league Rating tournament was organized by Romain Christophe-Hayot Romain at Manoir Hotel avenue du Golf in Le Touquet, France from 25th February to 2nd March 2023. The time control of the tournament was 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1.

Final standings

pl NameRatingCat.fedeLeagueClubPointsTr.Perf
2gINYAN P2514FSen MIDFExchequer of Franconville742½2489
3mNITIN S.2374FSen M7422441
4gKORNEEV Oleg2485FSepMCAPGrasse Chess452472
5mVIGNESH NR2490 FSen M44½2441
6mSHYAAMNIKHIL P2487FSen M43½2447
7mRATNAKARAN K.2290 FSen M42½2355
8fMOHAMED ANEES M2259 FJunM41½2367
10fHENRIS Luke2151 FSepMEASTVandoeuvre-Chess6402160



Official site

Tournament Details

Related news:
Abhimanyu Puranik clinches 40th Cappelle la Grande Open 2024 with a 2686 performance

@ 13/03/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sushanth Kamabathula wins 1st Festival du Manoir Hotel Touquet Golf Resort Open 2024

@ 11/03/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Bharath Subramaniyam H clinches 37th Cannes Open 2024 with a 2661 performance

@ 04/03/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain convincingly clinches 3rd Tours Open 2024

@ 30/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain victorious at 16th Marseille International Festival 2023

@ 18/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sankalp Gupta sensational at 20th Bois Colombes Master 2023 with a 2712 performance

@ 14/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Pranesh M wins 32nd Caen Open 2023, Nubairshah third

@ 14/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Deep Sengupta clinches 21st Capechecs Open 2023, Sayantan Das second

@ 12/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Nikita Petrov wins 1st Annemasse International Festival 2023, Sayantan second and Sahaj third

@ 06/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain dominates 1st Saint-Macaire Autumn Open 2023

@ 04/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Karthikeyan Murali clinches 1st Imaweb Trophy GM Tournament 2023

@ 03/09/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Iniyan wins 27th Creon Open 2023, Bharath Subramaniyam second

@ 30/08/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain wins 14th Vaujany Open 2023

@ 31/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sebastian Bogner clinches 96th Paris IdF Masters 2023, Harshavardhan second and Karthik Venkataraman third

@ 26/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Harikrishna wins French Top 16 for Asnières le Grand Échiquier

@ 13/06/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
S Rohith Krishna clinches 19th Malakoff Open 2023

@ 15/05/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Christian Bauer wins 10th Martinique Open - Joel Gratien Memorial, Priyanka second and Karthik third

@ 11/04/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sayantan Das convincingly clinches 6th Cannes Chess Open 2023, becomes India's 81st Grandmaster

@ 02/03/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sethuraman wins 39th Cappelle la Grande Open 2023 on his 30th birthday, Harsha Bharathakoti second

@ 25/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Diptayan Ghosh wins 21st Rochefort Chess Festival Masters 2023, Harsha Bharathakoti third

@ 20/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Pranesh conquers 33rd City of Cannes Summer Open 2022

@ 24/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Marc' Andria Maurizzi clinches 2nd Bastia Open 2022, M R Venkatesh second

@ 12/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
P Shyam Nikhil clinches 7th Noisiel Open, Vignesh second and Karthik third

@ 20/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Andrei Shchekachev triumphs at Paris IdF Masters 2022, Harsha Bharathakoti second

@ 18/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Maxime Lagarde triumphs at 20th Sautron Open 2022, Sidhant second and Bala Chandra third

@ 13/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vitaly Sivuk wins 2nd La Plagne Chess Festival 2022 Masters, Iniyan second and Sayantan third

@ 10/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Deep Sengupta triumphs 18th Vandoeuvre Open 2021

@ 25/12/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Antonio Viani wins double in France

@ 30/10/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)

Contact Us