chessbase india logo

Himal Gusain wins 14th Vaujany Open 2023

by Shahid Ahmed - 31/07/2023

IM Himal Gusain and GM FT Hicham Hamdouchi scored 7.5/9 at the main category (>1800) of 14th Vaujany Open 2023 International Chess Festival. Himal won the tournament on tie-breaks,Hicham was placed second. Despite losing the sixth round game to Hicham, Himal bounced back by winning the last three games to win the tournament and become champion. GM Neelotpal Das and IM Anwesh Upadhyaya are the only two other Indians to make a top ten finish. Their penultimate round encounter ended in a draw. They scored 6.5/9 and 6/9 each respectively to secure fourth and seventh place respectively. The total prize fund of the event was €5400. The first prize was €1200 + trophy. Photos: J P Lees / Promoechecs

Himal's third tournament triumph of the year

IM Himal Gusain started the year by winning Surya Trophy Rating Open 2022. Then he won 19th Caspian Cup 2023 in Iran. After winning this event, Himal went to Spain where he won the 9th Ciudad de Oviedo Open 2023 scoring an unbeaten 7.5/9. We will mention it in detail in a separate post.

Top 3 - 3rd GM Jean-Marc Degraeve (FRA) 6.5/9, 1st IM Himal Gusain 7.5/9 and 2nd GM FT Hicham Hamdouchi (MAR) 7.5/9

4th GM Neelotpal Das 6.5/9

5th WGM FT Monica Calzetta Ruiz (ESP) 6.5/9

6th IM Remy Degraeve (FRA) 6/9

7th IM Anwesh Upadhyaya 6/9

10th GM Joszef Horvath (HUN) 5.5/9

IM Himal Gusain in action at various rounds

IM Himal Gusain scored 7.5/9 and performed at 2578

The penultimate round battle between IM Anwesh Upadhyaya and GM Neelotpal Das ended in a draw

Photo Gallery

Players analyzing their games

Beautiful vistas of Vaujany

Players with their trophies with waterfalls and greenery as their background

Players, parents and accompanying persons at the closing ceremony

The beautiful trophies for the prize winners

Espace Loisirs in Vaujany, France was the venue for the tournament

The tournament hall

Thanks to the organizer, J P Lees for sharing beautiful high quality photos of the tournament. To view more of them, please click here.


A total of 62 players including 4 GMs, 7 IMs, a WGM and a WIM took part from 12 countries across the world in the Main category (>1800). The nine-day nine round Swiss League Rating tournament. It was organized by Jean-Pierre Lees at Espace Loisirs in Vaujany, France from 13th to 21st July 2023. The time control of the event was 40 moves in 100 minutes + 40 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1.

Replay Round 1-9 Main tournament games

Final standings

Pl NomEloCat.FedeLigueR 1R 2R 3R 4R 5R 6R 7R 8R 9PtsTr.Perf
2399 FSenM+ 44N+ 24B+ 12N+ 10B=  6N-  2N+ 11B+  3B+  5N42½2578
2521 FSepMIDF+ 23N= 27B+ 19N+ 18B+  4N+  1B=  3N=  5B+  6N42½2564
2466 FSepMIDF+ 36N+ 11B=  4N+  8B= 10N+  6B=  2B-  1N+ 13B44½2490
2362 FSenM+ 52B+  9N=  3B+ 20N-  2B= 15N+ 28B=  7N+ 14B422407
2164 FSepF+ 47B=  7N= 13B+ 14N= 12N+ 18B+ 27B=  2N-  1B642½2393
2467 FJunMPAC+ 37B= 20N+ 16B+ 27N=  1B-  3N+ 15B+ 21N-  2B642½2391
ANWESH Upadhyaya
2356 FSenM+ 25N=  5B-  8N= 37N+ 33B+ 38B= 14N=  4B+ 21N638½2247
2161 FMinMEST+ 54B= 13N+  7B-  3N- 27B+ 52N= 10N+ 36B+ 24B6372325
2075 FSenMARA+ 60N-  4B+ 25N- 12B+ 39N+ 43B= 13B+ 20N= 11B6372269
2432 FSepM+ 53B+ 21N+ 14B-  1N=  3B- 27N=  8B= 17N+ 26B412296



Official site

Tournament Details

Related news:
Harikrishnan A Ra dominates 2nd Noisiel Blitz Rating Open 2024, third in Classical

@ 07/05/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Abhimanyu Puranik clinches 40th Cappelle la Grande Open 2024 with a 2686 performance

@ 13/03/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sushanth Kamabathula wins 1st Festival du Manoir Hotel Touquet Golf Resort Open 2024

@ 11/03/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Bharath Subramaniyam H clinches 37th Cannes Open 2024 with a 2661 performance

@ 04/03/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain convincingly clinches 3rd Tours Open 2024

@ 30/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain victorious at 16th Marseille International Festival 2023

@ 18/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sankalp Gupta sensational at 20th Bois Colombes Master 2023 with a 2712 performance

@ 14/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Pranesh M wins 32nd Caen Open 2023, Nubairshah third

@ 14/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Deep Sengupta clinches 21st Capechecs Open 2023, Sayantan Das second

@ 12/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Nikita Petrov wins 1st Annemasse International Festival 2023, Sayantan second and Sahaj third

@ 06/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain dominates 1st Saint-Macaire Autumn Open 2023

@ 04/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain dominates 1st G H Raisoni Memorial Pune Rapid Rating Open 2023

@ 22/10/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Karthikeyan Murali clinches 1st Imaweb Trophy GM Tournament 2023

@ 03/09/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Iniyan wins 27th Creon Open 2023, Bharath Subramaniyam second

@ 30/08/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain clinches 9th Ciudad de Oviedo Open 2023

@ 13/08/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sebastian Bogner clinches 96th Paris IdF Masters 2023, Harshavardhan second and Karthik Venkataraman third

@ 26/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Harikrishna wins French Top 16 for Asnières le Grand Échiquier

@ 13/06/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
S Rohith Krishna clinches 19th Malakoff Open 2023

@ 15/05/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Christian Bauer wins 10th Martinique Open - Joel Gratien Memorial, Priyanka second and Karthik third

@ 11/04/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Harshavardhan wins Manoir hotel Touquet golf resort Open 2023, Iniyan second and Nitin third

@ 13/03/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sayantan Das convincingly clinches 6th Cannes Chess Open 2023, becomes India's 81st Grandmaster

@ 02/03/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain wins 19th Caspian Cup 2023, Kushagra Mohan third

@ 28/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sethuraman wins 39th Cappelle la Grande Open 2023 on his 30th birthday, Harsha Bharathakoti second

@ 25/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Diptayan Ghosh wins 21st Rochefort Chess Festival Masters 2023, Harsha Bharathakoti third

@ 20/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain dominates Surya Trophy Rating Open 2022

@ 22/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Pranesh conquers 33rd City of Cannes Summer Open 2022

@ 24/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Marc' Andria Maurizzi clinches 2nd Bastia Open 2022, M R Venkatesh second

@ 12/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
P Shyam Nikhil clinches 7th Noisiel Open, Vignesh second and Karthik third

@ 20/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Andrei Shchekachev triumphs at Paris IdF Masters 2022, Harsha Bharathakoti second

@ 18/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Maxime Lagarde triumphs at 20th Sautron Open 2022, Sidhant second and Bala Chandra third

@ 13/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vitaly Sivuk wins 2nd La Plagne Chess Festival 2022 Masters, Iniyan second and Sayantan third

@ 10/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Deep Sengupta triumphs 18th Vandoeuvre Open 2021

@ 25/12/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Antonio Viani wins double in France

@ 30/10/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)

Contact Us