chessbase india logo

Abhimanyu Puranik clinches 40th Cappelle la Grande Open 2024 with a 2686 performance

by Shahid Ahmed - 13/03/2024

GM Abhimanyu Puranik and GM Lorenzo Lodici (ITA) scored 7.5/9 each at 40th Cappelle la Grande Open 2024. Abhimanyu won the tournament due to better tie-breaks, Lorenzo was placed second. Nine players scored 7/9 each. Out of them, IM Alberto Barp (ITA) secured third place. The total prize fund in the Open tournament was €12000. The top three prizes were €2000 + trophy, €1500 and €1200 each respectively. This is Abhimanyu's third rating tournament triumph of the year. Earlier, he won 33rd Keres Memorial Blitz Open 2024 in January. Then he won Bangabandhu Premier League 2024 for Bangladesh Police and now he won his first individual Classical rating tournament in 2024. Photos: L'Echiquier Cappellois

A photo finish

IM Alberto Barp (ITA) was the sole leader 7/8 going into the final round. GM Abhimanyu Puranik, GM Lorenzo Lodici (ITA) and IM Ryosuke Nanjo (JPN) were trailing by a half point at 6.5/8 each. Alberto lost to GM Alessio Valsecchi (ITA) and Abhimanyu defeated Ryosuke in a spectacular way to become the champion. Last year, Sethuraman won the 39th edition and this time Abhimanyu won it in a memorable finish for him.

Champion - GM Abhimanyu Puranik 7.5/9
Interview with GM Abhimanyu Puranik | Video: ChessBase India

Top 3 (L to R): 3rd IM Alberto Barp (ITA) 7/9, 2nd GM Lorenzo Lodici (ITA) 7.5/9 and 1st GM Abhimanyu Puranik 7.5/9

Abhimanyu - Nanjo, Round 9

Position after 18.f5

GM Abhimanyu Puranik launched a devastating attack on IM Ryosuke Nanjo's (JPN) kingside in the final round, starting with 18.f5. Black had no other choice but to take it 18...gxf5 19.Qxf5 Ng5 20.Qg6 Rg8 21.Qh6+ Rg7 22.Bxg5 Bxg5 23.Qh8+ Rg8 24.Rxf7+! a fantastic sacrifice to continue the relentless attack Kxf7 25.Qh7+ Ke6 26.Qxh3+ Ke7 27.Qh7+ Ke6 28.Rf1 Qe8 29.Rf6+ and Nf4# is unstoppable. Undoubtedly this is the best game of Abhimanyu from the tournament.

GM Abhimanyu Puranik before one of his games

GM Abhimanyu Puranik scored an unbeaten 7.5/9 with a performance of 2686

Round 2: IM Antoine Bournel (FRA) lost to GM Abhimanyu Puranik in 24 moves

Round 5: GM Abhimanyu Puranik defeated IM Anatole Vlachos (GRE) in 36 moves

GM Abhimanyu Puarnik in action

The winner's trophy which GM Abhimanyu Puranik won

Prize winners

The tournament hall at Palais des Arts et des Loisirs in Cappelle la Grande, France
Replay Round 9 live commentary by WGM Andrea Navrotescu (French audio) | Video: Andy_rekt

A total of 516 players including 17 GMs, 24 IMs, a WGM and a WIM took part from 25 countries all over the world in this seven-day nine round Rating Open tournament. It was organized by L'Echiquier Cappellois at Palais des Arts et des Loisirs in Cappelle la Grande, France from 2nd to 8th March 2024. The time control of the event was 40 moves in 90 minutes + 30 minutes + 30 seconds increment per move.

Replay all available games

Final standings

Pl NomEloCat.FedeLigueClubPtsTr.PerfBu.
1gPURANIK Abhimanyu2618 FSenM46½268657½
2gLODICI Lorenzo2558 FSenM44261353½
3mBARP Alberto2449 FSenM748262359
4mLAMARD Guillaume2483 FSenMPACCannes Echecs746257457
5gIDANI Pouya2609 FSenMCVLC'Chartres Echecs744256155
6mTARHAN Adar2432 FCadM743½254453½
7gPACHER Milan2393 FSenM743250652½
8gVALSECCHI Alessio2490 FSenM742251152
9mBOYER Mahel2415 FJunMPACL'Echiquier du Roy René742250352½
10mEUGENE Floryan2422 FSenMPDLEchiquier Club Le Mans741238150½



Official site

Tournament details

Related news:
Harikrishnan A Ra dominates 2nd Noisiel Blitz Rating Open 2024, third in Classical

@ 07/05/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sushanth Kamabathula wins 1st Festival du Manoir Hotel Touquet Golf Resort Open 2024

@ 11/03/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Bharath Subramaniyam H clinches 37th Cannes Open 2024 with a 2661 performance

@ 04/03/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain convincingly clinches 3rd Tours Open 2024

@ 30/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain victorious at 16th Marseille International Festival 2023

@ 18/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sankalp Gupta sensational at 20th Bois Colombes Master 2023 with a 2712 performance

@ 14/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Pranesh M wins 32nd Caen Open 2023, Nubairshah third

@ 14/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Deep Sengupta clinches 21st Capechecs Open 2023, Sayantan Das second

@ 12/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Nikita Petrov wins 1st Annemasse International Festival 2023, Sayantan second and Sahaj third

@ 06/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain dominates 1st Saint-Macaire Autumn Open 2023

@ 04/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Karthikeyan Murali clinches 1st Imaweb Trophy GM Tournament 2023

@ 03/09/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Iniyan wins 27th Creon Open 2023, Bharath Subramaniyam second

@ 30/08/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain wins 14th Vaujany Open 2023

@ 31/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sebastian Bogner clinches 96th Paris IdF Masters 2023, Harshavardhan second and Karthik Venkataraman third

@ 26/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Harikrishna wins French Top 16 for Asnières le Grand Échiquier

@ 13/06/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
S Rohith Krishna clinches 19th Malakoff Open 2023

@ 15/05/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Christian Bauer wins 10th Martinique Open - Joel Gratien Memorial, Priyanka second and Karthik third

@ 11/04/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Harshavardhan wins Manoir hotel Touquet golf resort Open 2023, Iniyan second and Nitin third

@ 13/03/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sayantan Das convincingly clinches 6th Cannes Chess Open 2023, becomes India's 81st Grandmaster

@ 02/03/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sethuraman wins 39th Cappelle la Grande Open 2023 on his 30th birthday, Harsha Bharathakoti second

@ 25/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Diptayan Ghosh wins 21st Rochefort Chess Festival Masters 2023, Harsha Bharathakoti third

@ 20/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Pranesh conquers 33rd City of Cannes Summer Open 2022

@ 24/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Marc' Andria Maurizzi clinches 2nd Bastia Open 2022, M R Venkatesh second

@ 12/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
P Shyam Nikhil clinches 7th Noisiel Open, Vignesh second and Karthik third

@ 20/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Andrei Shchekachev triumphs at Paris IdF Masters 2022, Harsha Bharathakoti second

@ 18/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Maxime Lagarde triumphs at 20th Sautron Open 2022, Sidhant second and Bala Chandra third

@ 13/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vitaly Sivuk wins 2nd La Plagne Chess Festival 2022 Masters, Iniyan second and Sayantan third

@ 10/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Deep Sengupta triumphs 18th Vandoeuvre Open 2021

@ 25/12/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Antonio Viani wins double in France

@ 30/10/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)

Contact Us