chessbase india logo

Sebastian Bogner clinches 96th Paris IdF Masters 2023, Harshavardhan second and Karthik Venkataraman third

by Shahid Ahmed - 26/07/2023

GM Sebastian Bogner (SUI) scored an unbeaten 7/9 to win 96th Paris IdF Masters 2023. He finished a full point ahead of the competition. IM Harshavardhan G B, GM Karthik Venkataraman, GM Andrei Shchekachev (FRA) and FM Aarav Dengla scored 6/9 each. They were placed second to fifth respectively as per tie-breaks. IM Sai Agni Jeevitesh J and FM Senthil Maran scored 5.5/9 each. They were placed sixth and tenth respectively. Aarav and Senthil scored an IM-norm each. This is Senthil's second IM-norm. The first prize was €2500 and trophy in the Masters section. The 96th edition witnessed the participation of 504 players in four categories - Masters, A, B and C. Photos: idF-Echecs

Harshavardhan and Aarav Dengla score IM-norms

The 50% of the top ten finishers in the Masters section were Indians. GM Sebastian Bogner (SUI) defeated Ulysse Bottazzi (FRA) to win the tournament 7/9. Despite suffering a loss in the final round against FM Aarav Dengla, IM Harsharvardhan G B still managed to finish second on tie-breaks 6/9. GM Karthik Venkataraman drew against the defending champion, GM Andrei Shchekachev (FRA) to finish third 6/9. FM Senthil Maran K drew against FM Kim Yew Chan (MAS) to secure his second IM-norm scoring 5.5/9.

Masters Top 3 (L to R): 1st GM Sebastian Bogner (SUI) 7/9, 2nd IM Harshavardhan G B 6.5/9 and 3rd GM Karthik Venkataraman 6.5/9

8th FM Senthil Maran K 5.5/9 (third from left), 5th FM Aarav Dengla 6/9 with the podium finishers

FM Senthil Maran K secured his second IM-norm scoring 5.5/9 with a performance of 2450

FM Aarav Dengla earned an IM-norm scoring 6/9, having a performance of 2496

A last round loss against FM Aarav Dengla dashed IM Harshavardhan G B's championship chances

GM Karthik Venkataraman drew against the defending champion GM Andrei Shchekachev (FRA)

Round 7: GM Karthik Venkataraman - IM C RG Krishna: 1-0

Top boards

Arbiters' team

Masters section

The tournament hall at Halle Georges Carpentier in Paris, France

A total of 38 players including 5 GMs, 8 IMs and 2 WIMs took part in the Masters category from 13 countries across the world. The event was organized by IdF Chess League from 11th to 16th July 2022 at Halle Georges Carpentier in Paris, France. The time control was 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1.

Final standings in Masters

Pl NomEloCat.FedeLigueR 1R 2R 3R 4R 5R 6R 7R 8R 9PtsTr.Perf
BOGNER Sebastian
2533 FSenMEST= 28B+ 35N+ 13B+  5N=  2B=  3B=  4N+  6N+ 12B739½2560
2405 FJunM+ 32B+ 17N+  7B=  4N=  1N+  8B= 10N=  3B-  5B641½2527
2565 FSenM+ 22N= 16B=  5B=  6N+ 13B=  1N+ 11B=  2N=  4B6412494
2505 FSepMIDF+ 30N= 23B+ 14N=  2B=  7N+ 12B=  1B=  9N=  3N6402500
2343 FBenM+ 15N+ 34B=  3N-  1B- 12N+ 16B=  8N+ 14B+  2N639½2496
2289 FSenM- 18N+ 19B+ 34N=  3B+ 23N= 11B+  7N-  1B= 10N382505
2374 FSenMPDL+ 19N+ 18B-  2N+ 15B=  4B= 29N-  6B= 11N+ 17N372446
2287 FSenM= 29B= 25N+ 24B+ 21B= 11N-  2N=  5B+ 28N=  9B362450
CHAN Kim Yew
2326 FSenM- 12N+ 26B= 10N= 18B= 20N+ 30B+ 13N=  4B=  8N362421
2474 FSepMPAC===  9B= 28N+ 25B+ 24N=  2B= 12N=  6B35½2424



Official site

Ligue Île-de-France des Échecs twitter

Related news:
Abhimanyu Puranik clinches 40th Cappelle la Grande Open 2024 with a 2686 performance

@ 13/03/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sushanth Kamabathula wins 1st Festival du Manoir Hotel Touquet Golf Resort Open 2024

@ 11/03/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Bharath Subramaniyam H clinches 37th Cannes Open 2024 with a 2661 performance

@ 04/03/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain convincingly clinches 3rd Tours Open 2024

@ 30/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain victorious at 16th Marseille International Festival 2023

@ 18/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sankalp Gupta sensational at 20th Bois Colombes Master 2023 with a 2712 performance

@ 14/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Pranesh M wins 32nd Caen Open 2023, Nubairshah third

@ 14/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Deep Sengupta clinches 21st Capechecs Open 2023, Sayantan Das second

@ 12/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Nikita Petrov wins 1st Annemasse International Festival 2023, Sayantan second and Sahaj third

@ 06/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain dominates 1st Saint-Macaire Autumn Open 2023

@ 04/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Karthikeyan Murali clinches 1st Imaweb Trophy GM Tournament 2023

@ 03/09/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Iniyan wins 27th Creon Open 2023, Bharath Subramaniyam second

@ 30/08/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain wins 14th Vaujany Open 2023

@ 31/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Harikrishna wins French Top 16 for Asnières le Grand Échiquier

@ 13/06/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
S Rohith Krishna clinches 19th Malakoff Open 2023

@ 15/05/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Christian Bauer wins 10th Martinique Open - Joel Gratien Memorial, Priyanka second and Karthik third

@ 11/04/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Harshavardhan wins Manoir hotel Touquet golf resort Open 2023, Iniyan second and Nitin third

@ 13/03/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sayantan Das convincingly clinches 6th Cannes Chess Open 2023, becomes India's 81st Grandmaster

@ 02/03/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sethuraman wins 39th Cappelle la Grande Open 2023 on his 30th birthday, Harsha Bharathakoti second

@ 25/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Diptayan Ghosh wins 21st Rochefort Chess Festival Masters 2023, Harsha Bharathakoti third

@ 20/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Pranesh conquers 33rd City of Cannes Summer Open 2022

@ 24/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Marc' Andria Maurizzi clinches 2nd Bastia Open 2022, M R Venkatesh second

@ 12/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
P Shyam Nikhil clinches 7th Noisiel Open, Vignesh second and Karthik third

@ 20/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Andrei Shchekachev triumphs at Paris IdF Masters 2022, Harsha Bharathakoti second

@ 18/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Maxime Lagarde triumphs at 20th Sautron Open 2022, Sidhant second and Bala Chandra third

@ 13/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vitaly Sivuk wins 2nd La Plagne Chess Festival 2022 Masters, Iniyan second and Sayantan third

@ 10/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Deep Sengupta triumphs 18th Vandoeuvre Open 2021

@ 25/12/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Antonio Viani wins double in France

@ 30/10/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)

Contact Us