chessbase india logo

Cemil Can Ali clinches 15th Teplice Open 2022, S L Narayanan second

by Shahid Ahmed - 28/06/2022

GM Cemil Can Ali Marandi scored an unbeaten 7.5/9 to win 15th Teplice Open 2022. He finished a half point ahead of the field. Thus, he earned an extra 5000 CZK. In total the Turk won 55000 CZK. Seven players scored 7/9. GM S L Narayanan and GM Iniyan P were placed second and eighth according to tie-breaks. They won 35000 and 6000 CZK each respectively. Both of them gained 1.6 and 8.7 Elo rating points each. GM Sankalp Gupta was the only other Indian to finish in top 15. He scored 6.5/9. The total prize fund of the tournament was 190000 CZK. The top three won a trophy each. Photo: FI Atul Dahale

Seven players score 7/9

With a just a little over a month left for 44th Chess Olympiad to start, GM S L Narayanan, member of the India A team, has certainly hit all the right notes at the 15th Teplice Open 2022.

The prize winners - GM S L Narayanan (fourth from left) and GM Iniyan P (fifth from right) | Photo: levap29/Teplice Open 2022

Champion (left) - GM Cemil Can Ali Marandi (TUR) 7.5/9 | Photo: levap29/Teplice Open 2022

Runner-up - GM S L Narayanan 7/9 | Photo: FI Atul Dahale

Second seeded GM S L Narayanan secured second place and remained undefeated

Narayanan - Sankalp, Round 6

Position after 16...e5

16...cxd4 was the correct continuation for Black 17.0-0 Qxc4 18.Qxc4 dxc4 19.Nxd4 Kf7 would have kept things balanced. 16...e5 turned things in White's favor 17.cxd5 exd4 18.0-0 Ne5 19.Nxe5 fxe5 20.c4 0-0-0 21.Rae1 and he won the game in another eight moves.

Interview with GM S L Narayanan | Video: Chess Olympiad 2022 Chennai

GM S L Narayanan in action | Photo: levap29/Teplice Open 2022

Bird's eye view of the tournament hall | Photo: levap29/Teplice Open 2022

A total of 226 players took part in this nine-day Classical Rating GM tournament. The event was organized by Teplice Chess Club at House of Culture, Teplice, Czech Republic from 18th to 26th June 2022. The time control of the event was 90 minutes/40 moves + 30 minutes including 30 seconds increment.

Replay all games

Final standings

Rk.SNo NameTypsexGrFEDRtgIClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
GMAli Marandi Cemil CanTUR2532Turkey7,540,551,502433
GMKollars DmitrijGER2643Germany7,042,554,502438
GMSantos Latasa JaimeESP2674Spain7,041,554,002433
GMPultinevicius PauliusLTU2524Lithuania7,041,052,502421
IMYankelevich LevGER2482Germany7,038,550,002375
GMStocek JiriCZE2541Czech Republic7,038,549,502376
GMIniyan PIND2518India7,037,047,502354
GMDemchenko AntonFID2654FIDE6,545,057,002449
IMYilmazyerli MertTUR2504Turkey6,543,554,502448
GMBerkes FerencHUN2654Hungary6,540,552,502411
GMLaurusas TomasLTU2561Lithuania6,539,051,002370
GMBlomqvist ErikSWE2521Sweden6,538,550,002330
IMSeo Jung MinSWE2479Sweden6,537,048,002364
GMSankalp GuptaIND25056,536,548,002321



Official site

Tournament Details