chessbase india logo

Kumar Gaurav triumphs at South Point School Guwahati Rating Open 2023

by Shahid Ahmed - 07/01/2024

Kumar Gaurav scored an unbeaten 8/9 to win South Point School Guwahati Rating Open 2023. He finished a half point ahead of the competition. Four players - Arpan Das, Y Dhanabir Singh, Soram Rahul Singh and Oinam Ningthem scored 7.5/9 each. They were placed second to fifth respectively. Only Kumar and Dhanabir remained undefeated among top ten. The total prize fund of the tournament was ₹500000. The top three prizes were ₹50000, ₹30000 and ₹25000 along with a trophy each. Kumar drew against both runner-up - Arpan and Dhanabir. This was Kumar's fourth overall, third individual tournament triumph in 2023. All photos are by Assam Chess Club unless stated otherwise.

Kumar's fourth triumph in 2023

Kumar Gaurav, Y Dhanabir Singh and Soram Rahul Singh were the three leaders 7/8 heading into the last round. Dhanabir drew against Soram and Kishan Kumar lost to Kumar Gaurav. Thus, Kumar Gaurav became a clear champion. Arpan Das secured second place by winning against Amlan Mahanta, Dhanabir third.

Champion - Kumar Gaurav 8/9

Runner-up - Arpan Das 7.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Second Runner-up - Y Dhanabir Singh (left) 7.5/9

Kumar Gaurav scored an unbeaten 8/9, finished a half point ahead of the field and drew against both podium finishers

Lighting of the lamp

Keshab Mahanta making the inaugural first move

The tournament was inaugurated by Mr. Keshab Mahanta, Minister of Health and Family Welfare, Medical Education and Research, Science and Technology, and Information Technology, Government of Assam, in presence of Mr. Siddhartha Bhattacharya, MLA, East Guwahati Constituency. Also present on the occasion were, Mr. Krishnanjan Chanda, Principal, South Point School, Mr. Anjan Deka, Vice President, Assam Chess Club and a host of players and guests.

Souvenir unveiling and release

Former Commonwealth champion and International Master Atanu Lahiri of West Bengal was the Chief Guest of the closing ceremony in the presence of Dr. S Lakshmanan, IAS, Secretary to the Govt. of Assam, Industries, Commerce and PE Dept. of Assam, Krishnanjan Chanda, Principal, South Point School, Mandira Chanda, Past District Governor of Lions Club International, Bidhan Das, Deputy Liaison Officer, DSW, Mridul Kumar Mahanta, IAS, President, Assam Chess Club and host of players, officials and guests.

Players in action

Thanks to the Chief Arbiter - IA Biswajit Bharadwaj of Assam Chess Club for sharing photos and info about the tournament.


A total of 261 players took part from various states across the country and one from Bangladesh in the Rating Open tournament. The five-day nine round Rating tournament was organized by Assam Chess Club at South Point School Guwahati in Guwahati, Assam from 21st to 25th December 2023. The time control of the event was 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment per move.

Final standings

Rk.SNoNameTypsexFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
14Kumar, GauravIND1934853,556,549,00
25Arpan, DasIND19157,554,558,547,00
32Singh, Y. DhanabirIND1982MANI7,5525443,00
49Singh, Soram RahulIND1834ASM7,551,554,542,75
521Ningthem, OinamIND1708MANI7,550,555,545,00
617Heikrujam, Jacky SinghIND1756MANI751,555,541,50
73Rishabh, NishadIND1936751,55540,50
819Ashutosh, KumarIND1724750,553,539,00
913Mohit, Kumar SoniIND178075052,538,25
1018Iftikar, Alom MazumdarIND1736ASM7485339,50
1112Tanmay, RajbongshiU13IND1819ASM74851,537,75
1214Kishan, KumarIND17776,55354,536,25
138Mrinmoy, RajkhowaU13IND1840ASM6,552,555,537,75
146Dangmei, BoscoIND1883MANI6,5485235,25
1515Rajdip, DasIND1769ASM6,547,54931,75
1644Karnav, P DekaU19IND1421ASM6,546,550,532,75
1720Amlan, MahantaIND1714ASM6,546,55033,25
1822Shahinur, HaqueBAN16936,5464934,00
1911Singh, Bhogen R KIND1823MANI6,5464833,00
2029Pulakesh, SahuU19IND1556ASM6,545,549,534,50
2150Ananga, Harsha BorthakurU19IND1389ASM6,5454931,75
2295Aaradhya, DasU09wIND1202TRI6,54547,531,00
2323Dhruv, PhukanU19IND1676ASM6,544,548,533,50
2454Anurag, Pritam MedhiIND1379ASM6,543,547,532,00
2534Dhrubajyoti, BorpatraIND1471ASM6,54245,531,75



Official site

Related news:
Srijit Paul dominates 1st Guwahati Smart City Rating Open 2024

@ 20/07/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Soram Rahul Singh triumphs at 2nd Karimganj Rating Open 2024

@ 12/07/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Iftikar Alom Mazumdar convincingly clinches 2nd Lt. Diloo Dhar Memorial Rating Open 2024

@ 14/04/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kumar Gaurav superb at 1st Sakatam Rating Open 2024

@ 09/04/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vikramaditya Kulkarni dominates 8th Kurukshetra Rating Open 2023

@ 12/12/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Samyak Dharewa sensational at All India School Rating Open 2023 with a perfect 9/9

@ 26/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kartavya Anadkat dominates 5th Ayodhana Rating Open 2023 with a perfect 9/9

@ 25/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Khumukcham Sanjoy Singh dominates 7th Kurukshetra Rating Open 2022

@ 11/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mayank Chakraborty wins 20th North East India Chess Championship 2022

@ 09/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Rohit Gurung wins 1st Abja Suresh Memorial Rating Open 2022

@ 06/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kishore Kumar Jaganathan conquers 1st Karimganj Rating Open 2022 with a round to spare

@ 22/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mohit Kumar Soni clinches 4th CPPA Rating Open 2022

@ 29/11/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mayank Chakraborty dominates 1st All Assam Rapid and Blitz Rating 2022

@ 15/09/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kumar Gaurav triumphs at 1st Juii Bora Rating Open 2022

@ 12/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Arpan Das wins 4th Ayodhana International Rating Open 2022

@ 04/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
The star from Assam, Shahil Dey scores his first GM norm

@ 16/06/2022 by Himank Ghosh (en)
Saptarshi Roy Chowdhury wins 1st ONGC Jorhat Open 2020

@ 15/02/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Silchar Open 2018: Barua held and Sayantan stunned in round 4

@ 29/09/2018 by Nongsha Angom (en)
1st ever FIDE rated tournament in Silchar begins!

@ 27/09/2018 by Nongsha Angom (en)

Contact Us