chessbase india logo

Mohit Kumar Soni clinches 4th CPPA Rating Open 2022

by Shahid Ahmed - 29/11/2022

Mohit Kumar Soni of Bihar scored 8.5/10 to win 4th CPPA Rating Open 2022. He finished a half point ahead of the field. Both Iftikar Alom Mazumdar of Assam and Kishan Kumar of Bihar scored 8/10 each. They were placed second and third according to tie-breaks. WCM Bristy Mukherjee was the only player to beat the eventual champion, Mohit, scored 7.5/10 and edged past three more players on tie-breaks to finish fourth. The total prize fund of the tournament was ₹250000. The top three prizes were ₹33000, ₹22000 and ₹16000 along with a trophy each. This is Mohit's first-ever Rating tournament triumph of his career. Photo: FA FI Pranab Kumar Nath

Mohit's first Rating tournament triumph

WCM Bristy Mukherjee had defeated Mohit Kumar Soni in the fourth round. She gained sole lead 6.5/7. Mohit won the next four game after his loss and had a half point lead heading into the final round 8/9. Bristy suffered her only loss in the final round against Kishan Kumar, while Mohit drew against Cheniram Pegu. Mohit became a clear champion and tie-breaks were not required. Fourth place is certainly a good finish for Bristy.

Champion - Mohit Kumar Soni 8.5/10 | Photo: FA FI Pranab Kumar Nath

Mohit Kumar Soni scored an unbeaten 8.5/10 and gained 34.8 Elo rating points in the process

Runner-up - Iftikar Alom Mazumdar 8/10 | Photo: FA FI Pranab Kumar Nath

Second Runner-up - Kishan Kumar 8/10 | Photo: FA FI Pranab Kumar Nath

Top 3 (L to R) - 2nd Iftikar Alom Mazumdar, 1st Mohit Kumar Soni and 3rd Kishan Kumar | Photo: FA FI Pranab Kumar Nath

4th WCM Bristy Mukherjee (left) 7.5/10 and 5th Kumar Gaurav 7.5/10 | Photo: FA FI Pranab Kumar Nath

Inaugural moves are being made | Photo: FA FI Pranab Kumar Nath

The tournament was inaugurated by Sasanka Pratim Deka, Executive Director, Oil India Limited in the presence of Probin Gogoi, President, Dibrugarh District Chess Association and FA FI Pranab Kumar Nath, Joint Secretary, All Assam Chess Association and also Chief Arbiter of the tournament.

Players in action | Photo: FA FI Pranab Kumar Nath

Thanks to the Chief Arbiter FA FI Pranab Kumar Nath for sharing the photos and information about the tournament.


A total of 117 players took part from various parts of the country and one from Canada. The six-day ten-round Swiss league Rating tournament was organized by Chess Players' Parents' Association (CPPA) Duliajan. It took place at Indian Oil Workers' Union (IOWU) Auditorium in Duliajan, Assam from 5th and 10th November 2022. The time control of the tournament was 90 minutes + 30seconds increment from move no.1.

Final standings

Rk.SNoNameGrFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
16Mohit Kumar SoniIND1738Bihar8,562,567,556,25
27Iftikar Alom MazumdarIND1700Cachar859,562,547,50
34Kishan KumarIND1778Bihar8596247,50
43WCMBristy MukherjeeIND1797West Bengal7,563,567,548,50
51Kumar GauravIND2041Bihar7,562,564,544,50
65Neelabh Jyoti BorthakurIND1755Jorhat7,561,565,545,75
78Cheniram PeguIND1681Dibrugarh7,5616547,25
89Mrinmoy RajkhowaIND1643Guwahati76165,543,00
910Elangbam Shashikanta SinghIND1632Manipur756,560,536,00
1028Jadav GogoiIND1335Jorhat7545836,00
1112Yuwan DasIND1594Tinsukia752,556,538,50
1213Moses NeilCAN1560751,55639,25
1315Abinash P GogoiDuliIND1500Dibrugarh6,56165,540,25
1425Nalinakhya KashyapIND1336Guwahati6,5606236,50
152Singh Soram RahulIND1904Cachar6,5596338,75
1614Chiraranjan BhuyanIND1523Guwahati6,5576237,25
1723Abhishek BorthakurIND1361Jorhat6,55659,533,75
1824Moirangthem ModhusudonIND1358Manipur6,554,55934,75
1930Tapovrata HandiqueDuliIND1326Dibrugarh6,554,557,533,25
2017Anuraag SaikiaIND1472Dibrugarh6,5545836,00
2127Ananga Harsha BorthakurIND1335Jorhat6,5545633,25
2229Winee ThengalIND1327Golaghat6,551,554,533,00
2318Anik Kumar LahonDuliIND1429Dibrugarh6,5515532,25
2411Tanisha A R SomIND1621Jorhat6,55054,534,75
2520Purnananda BuragohainIND1397Jorhat6,549,55430,75


Related news:
Srijit Paul dominates 1st Guwahati Smart City Rating Open 2024

@ 20/07/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Soram Rahul Singh triumphs at 2nd Karimganj Rating Open 2024

@ 12/07/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Iftikar Alom Mazumdar convincingly clinches 2nd Lt. Diloo Dhar Memorial Rating Open 2024

@ 14/04/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kumar Gaurav superb at 1st Sakatam Rating Open 2024

@ 09/04/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kumar Gaurav triumphs at South Point School Guwahati Rating Open 2023

@ 07/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vikramaditya Kulkarni dominates 8th Kurukshetra Rating Open 2023

@ 12/12/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Samyak Dharewa sensational at All India School Rating Open 2023 with a perfect 9/9

@ 26/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kartavya Anadkat dominates 5th Ayodhana Rating Open 2023 with a perfect 9/9

@ 25/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Khumukcham Sanjoy Singh dominates 7th Kurukshetra Rating Open 2022

@ 11/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mayank Chakraborty wins 20th North East India Chess Championship 2022

@ 09/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Rohit Gurung wins 1st Abja Suresh Memorial Rating Open 2022

@ 06/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kishore Kumar Jaganathan conquers 1st Karimganj Rating Open 2022 with a round to spare

@ 22/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mayank Chakraborty dominates 1st All Assam Rapid and Blitz Rating 2022

@ 15/09/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kumar Gaurav triumphs at 1st Juii Bora Rating Open 2022

@ 12/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Arpan Das wins 4th Ayodhana International Rating Open 2022

@ 04/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
The star from Assam, Shahil Dey scores his first GM norm

@ 16/06/2022 by Himank Ghosh (en)
Saptarshi Roy Chowdhury wins 1st ONGC Jorhat Open 2020

@ 15/02/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Silchar Open 2018: Barua held and Sayantan stunned in round 4

@ 29/09/2018 by Nongsha Angom (en)
1st ever FIDE rated tournament in Silchar begins!

@ 27/09/2018 by Nongsha Angom (en)

Contact Us