chessbase india logo

Kishore Kumar Jaganathan conquers 1st Karimganj Rating Open 2022 with a round to spare

by Shahid Ahmed - 22/12/2022

Kishore Kumar Jaganathan scored an unbeaten 9/10 to win 1st Karimganj Rating Open 2022. He finished a full point ahead of the field. including a win over the top seed of the tournament, Y Dhanabir Singh. The Tamil Nadu lad also gained 52.6 Elo rating points in the process. Kishan Kumar of Bihar and Rupam Mukherjee of West Bengal scored 8/10 each. They were placed second and third respectively according to tie-breaks. The total prize fund of the tournament was ₹265000 and 53 cash prizes were up for grabs. The top three prizes were ₹30000, ₹20000 and ₹15000 along with a trophy each. Photo: FA Ravi Kant Tiwari

First-ever Rating tournament triumph for Kishore

A little over two months ago, Kishore Kumar Jaganathan (TN) made his first podium finish, second place at 1st Bikaner GM Category B Below 2000 Rating tournament. He remained undefeated in that event too. Kishore defeated Bhoopnath (BIH) in the sixth round and gained a sole lead 6/6. He maintained his full point lead till the ninth round. He defeated Mohit Kumar Soni in the penultimate round to become a champion with one round to spare. The last round result was immaterial towards his championship chances. He drew with Soram Rahul Singh to finish first and a full point ahead of the competition. Kishan Kumar and Rupam Mukherjee won their respective final round games to secure second and third place.

Champion - Kishore Kumar Jaganathan 9/10 | Photo: FA Ravi Kant Tiwari

Runner-up - Kishan Kumar 8/10 | Photo: FA Ravi Kant Tiwari

Second Runner-up - Rupam Mukherjee 8/10 | Photo: FA Ravi Kant Tiwari

4th Shrayan Majumder 7.5/10 | Photo: FA Ravi Kant Tiwari

5th Soram Rahul Singh 7.5/10 | Photo: FA Ravi Kant Tiwari

Top 4 (L to R) - 1st Kishore Kumar Jaganathan 9/10, 2nd Kishan Kumar 8/10, 3rd Rupam Mukherjee 8/10 and 4th Shrayan Majumder 7.5/10

Kishan Kumar Jaganathan scored an unbeaten 9/10, finisnhed a full point ahead of the field and gained 52.6 Elo rating points

Various prize winners

Prize distribution ceremony in progress | Photo: FA Ravi Kant Tiwari

Thanks to the Deputy Chief Arbiter FA Ravi Kant Tiwari for the photos.


A total of 98 players took part from all over India, one from Bangladesh and Nepal each. The six-day ten-round Swiss league Rating tournament was organized by Karimganj District Chess Association at DSA Karimganj Indoor Stadium, Karimganj, Assam from 2nd to 7th December 2022. The time control of the tournament was 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1.

Final standings

Rk.SNoNameFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
18Kishore Kumar JaganathanIND1795TN95963,551,00
210Kishan KumarIND1767Bihar85963,546,50
36Rupam MukherjeeIND1838West Bengal85559,547,50
47Majumder ShrayanIND1821Mumbai7,562,56750,00
55Singh Soram RahulIND1861NE7,5596346,25
61Singh Y. DhanabirIND2097NE7,557,56239,25
734Tanmay RajbongshiIND1408NE7,55761,539,25
94Sakhawat HussainIND1877Karnat75256,540,50
109Mohit Kumar SoniIND1773Bihar6,561,56741,50
1123Das MonajIND1490NE6,55862,538,25
1217Saurabh KumarIND1572Bihar6,55761,532,00
132Singh Bhogen R KIND1978NE6,556,56238,75
1420Aniket Narayan BiswasIND1538West Bengal6,556,56038,00
1515Marium FatimaIND1646Bihar6,5555935,50
1611Silkam SangmaIND1755NE6,554,55929,50
173Gurung RohitIND1948NE6,55357,536,25
1813Iftikar Alom MazumdarIND1714NE6,55256,534,75
1918Arghya SenIND1552West Bengal6566032,50
2029Srijak SenguptaIND1457NE655,56029,75