chessbase india logo

Rohit Gurung wins 1st Abja Suresh Memorial Rating Open 2022

by Shahid Ahmed - 06/01/2023

Rohit Gurung, Mohit Kumar Soni, Divyanshu Kumar Singh and Rupam Mukherjee scored 6/7 each at 1st Abja Suresh Memorial Rating Open 2022. The second seed of the tournament, Rohit from Sikkim, won the tournament on tie-breaks. The remaining three - Mohit, Divyanshu and Rupam were adjudged second to fourth according to tie-breaks. This is Rohit's first-ever Rating Open tournament victory. The total prize fund of the tournament was ₹80000 and 53 cash prizes were up for grabs. The top three prizes were ₹11000, ₹8000 and ₹5000 along with a trophy each. Photo: FA Ravi Kant Tiwari

Top four score 6/7

Only Rohit Gurung and Divyanshu Kumar Singh remained undefeated among the top four finishers. Divyanshu gained a massive 123.6 Elo rating points.

Champion - Rohit Gurung 6/7 | Photo: FA Ravi Kant Tiwari

Runner-up - Mohit Kumar Soni 6/7 | Photo: FA Ravi Kant Tiwari

Second Runner-up - Divyanshu Kumar Soni 6/7 | Photo: FA Ravi Kant Tiwari

Closing Ceremony | Photo: FA Ravi Kant Tiwari

Various prize winners | Photo: FA Ravi Kant Tiwari

The trophies distributed among the prize winners | Photo: FA Ravi Kant Tiwari

Thanks to the Chief Arbiter FA Ravi Kant Tiwari for the photos.


A total of 74 players took part from all over India, one from Bangladesh and Nepal each. The four-day seven-round Swiss league Rating tournament was organized by Cachar District Chess Association at Silchar, Assam from 9th to 12th December 2022. The time control of the tournament was 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1.

Final standings

Rk.SNoNameFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
12Gurung RohitIND1948SIKKIM629,530,526,75
26Mohit Kumar SoniIND1773BIHAR628,53125,50
320Divyanshu Kumar SinghIND1371BIHAR6283025,50
44Rupam MukherjeeIND1838WEST BENGAL6262823,50
514Piyal Roy ChowdhuryIND1490ASSAM5,5242717,50
67Kishan KumarIND1767BIHAR5303321,75
71Singh Bhogen R KIND1978MANIPUR529,533,522,00
811Arghya SenIND1552WEST BENGAL5293220,00
921Moirangthem ModhusudonIND1363MANIPUR52931,518,50
1017Ishan DasIND1412WEST BENGAL524,527,515,25
1110Elangbam Shashikanta SinghIND1610MANIPUR523,52617,75
1222Snehasish DasIND1341ASSAM523,525,514,50
1318Arman SiddiqueIND1408WEST BENGAL521,52416,00
143Singh Soram RahulIND1861ASSAM4,529,53218,50
1533Dhami DipakNEP1151NEPAL4,527,530,518,00