chessbase india logo

Ilmars Starostits dominates 15th International Open GEMA63

by Shahid Ahmed - 28/01/2020

GM Ilmars Starostits scored an unbeaten 8.0/9 to win International Open GEMA63. IM Diego Espineira Gonzalez secured second position with a score of 7.0/9. GM Arian Gonzalez Perez scored 6.5/9 to be placed third. Starostits also scored an unbeaten 9.5/11 to win 3rd International Open Blitz GEMA63. Both IM Jose Luis Gonzalez Trigal and FM Luis Marcos Medarde Santiago finished with 9.0/11 each and they were placed second and third respectively. Total 33 players participated in the open event from four federations including Spain comprising of two GMs, three IMs and a FM. The tournament was held from 2nd to 7th January 2020 at Mondariz Balneario, Spain. Photo: Manuel Enrique Outerelo Ucha

Ilmars Starostits wins 1st International Open GEMA63

GM Starostits Ilmars (LAT, 2492) scored an unbeaten 8.0/9 to win International Open GEMA63 and finish a full point ahead of the competition. IM Diego Espineira Gonzalez (ESP, 2327) finished at second place with a score of 7.0/9. GM Arian Gonzalez Perez (FID, 2478) scored 6.5/9 to secure third position.

Champion Ilmars Starostits won a beautiful trophy and €1000 cash prize | Photo: Manuel Enrique Outerelo Ucha

Ilmars' unbeaten championship run gained him 9 Elo rating points

The podium finishers (L to R) - Runner-up Diego Gonzalez, Champion Ilmars Starostits and Second Runner-up Arian Gonzalez | Photo: Manuel Enrique Outerelo Ucha

Top boards in action | Photo: Manuel Enrique Outerelo Ucha

Ilmars wins Blitz too

GM Ilmars Starostits (LAT, 2439) scored an unbeaten 9.5/11, finished a half point ahead of the competition to GEMA63 International Blitz open. Both IM Jose Luis Gonzalez Trigal (ESP, 2315) and FM Luis Marcos Medarde Santiago (ESP, 2183) finished with 9.0/11 and they were placed second and third respectively according to their tie-break scores.

Champion Ilmars Starostits received €100 as cash prize for his efforts | Photo: Manuel Enrique Outerelo Ucha

Ilmars' unbeaten performance earned him 9 Elo rating points in Blitz too

Top boards in action during Blitz | Photo: Manuel Enrique Outerelo Ucha

Tournament Hall | Photo: Manuel Enrique Outerelo Ucha

The 15th International Chess Festival GEMA63 was held in the Galician town of Mondariz Balneario and consisted of two tournaments - Ist International Chess Open GEMA63 from 2nd to 7th January 2020 in which 33 players participated from four different federations including Spain comprising of two GMs, three IMs and a FM. IIIrd Blitz GEMA63 International Chess Tournament took place on 4th January 2020 with a time control of 3 minutes + 2 seconds.


The organization of the festival thanks all the players for their presence in the tournaments and invites them to the next edition of the festival.

Final Standings in Open

Rk.SNoNameTypFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
11GMStarostits IlmarsLAT2492NAV8,041,046,050,5
24IMEspineira Gonzalez DiegoESP2327C. Ajedrez Padron7,041,546,049,5
32GMGonzalez Perez ArianFID2478Liceo de Ourense6,541,546,551,0
47Villar Perez SamuelESP2166C. Xadrez Rianxo6,040,044,548,5
55FMMedarde Santiago Luis MarcosESP2287C. Ajedrez Padron5,543,548,050,5
63IMGonzalez Trigal Jose LuisESP2369C. Casino Beniajan5,541,546,050,0
6IMRodriguez Lopez RafaelS50ESP2212GAL5,541,546,050,0
810Del Prado Rodriguez XulioU12ESP2102C. Chantadino Xadrez5,539,042,545,0
912Rodriguez Ferreiros AndresU16ESP2047Xadrez Fontecarmoa5,532,034,536,5
109Fernandez Lopez RubenU14ESP2135EXP5,041,045,548,0

Complete standings

Final Standings in Blitz

Rk.SNoNameFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
12GMStarostits IlmarsLAT24399,573,568,563,0
24IMGonzalez Trigal Jose LuisESP2315Casino Beniajan9,074,068,563,0
35FMMedarde Santiago Luis MarcosESP2183C. Ajedrez Padron9,072,568,062,5
43IMEspineira Gonzalez DiegoESP2316C. Ajedrez Padron8,073,568,563,5
511Rodriguez Ferreiros AndresESP1615Xadrez Fontecarmoa7,071,569,564,0

Complete standings

Related news:
Aravindh Chithambaram victorious at 50th La Roda Open 2024

@ 01/04/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Dama Negra Chess Club invites you to VIII Semana Santa Open 2024

@ 27/02/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Indian chess players face robbery in Sunway Sitges Apartments

@ 24/12/2023 by ChessBase India (en)
Gran Hotel Bali 2023: Mitrabha Guha clinches Blitz Nocturno, third in Open A, Sham R wins Aficionados B

@ 16/12/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Subhayan Kundu wins 5th Sant Adrià Open 2023, Franco Valencia Angela second

@ 10/09/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Omar Almeida Quintana wins 47th Badalona City Open 2023, Kaustuv Kundu second

@ 01/09/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vignesh N R wins 11th Pontevedra Masters 2023, Sarayu Velpula scores IM, WGM and WIM-norm, finishes second

@ 24/08/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain clinches 9th Ciudad de Oviedo Open 2023

@ 13/08/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
ईरान की खिलाड़ी सारा खादेम को स्पेन ने दी नागरिकता

@ 28/07/2023 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Abhijeet Gupta wins Orillas de Mar Open 2023

@ 14/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Alexandr Fier wins 49th La Roda Open 2023, Aravindh Chithambaram second and Pranav Venkatesh third

@ 12/04/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Titas Stremavicius wins 43rd San Sebastian Open 2023, Swayams Mishra second

@ 09/04/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kushal dominates 19th Gran Hotel Bali Aficionados B, Aditya Varun Gampa second in Group A and Blitz

@ 14/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Saidakbar Saydaliev clinches Benidorm Open 2022, Ajay Karthikeyan third

@ 12/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Arvinder Preet Singh clinches XIX Calvia Amateur Open 2022

@ 18/10/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Gukesh and Harikrishna clinch Spanish Honor League for C A Solvay

@ 25/09/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
S L Narayanan wins 23rd Sants Open Barcelona 2022, Vaibhav Suri second

@ 14/09/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ernesto J Fernandez Guillen victorious at 4th Sant Adria Open 2022, Anustoop Biswas second

@ 29/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Aronyak Ghosh wins 46th Ciutat de Badalona Open 2022, Anuj Shrivatri second

@ 15/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vignesh N R dominates 47th Ciudad de Sevilla Open 2022

@ 13/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Platon Galperin wins 10th Pontevedra Masters, Leon Luke Mendonca third

@ 02/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Dylan Isidro triumphs at 22nd Sant Marti Open, Aronyak Ghosh third

@ 25/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Aravindh Chithambaram wins 41st Villa de Benasque Open 2022, Raunak Sadhwani third

@ 16/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vitaliy Bernadskiy wins XXXI Roquetas de Mar Open 2020

@ 19/01/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Pablo Glavina is the winner of IX Open Ciudad de Alfaro

@ 13/11/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sebastian superb at XVI Calvia Amateur Open

@ 22/10/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Harikrishnan and Anuj finish in top 10 at Sitges Open 2019

@ 09/08/2019 by Niklesh Jain (en)

Contact Us