chessbase india logo

Ernesto J Fernandez Guillen victorious at 4th Sant Adria Open 2022, Anustoop Biswas second

by Shahid Ahmed - 29/08/2022

IM Ernesto J Fernandez Guillen (CUB) scored 7.5/9 to win 4th Sant Adria International Open 2022. He finished a half point ahead of the field. Anustoop Biswas scored 7/9 to finish second. He finished a full point ahead of the rest. FM Mike Ivanov (CAN) not going for a threefold repetition against the eventual runner-up, Anustoop, in the final round proved costly. Had he drawn it, he would have finished second. The loss put him in the third place. The total prize fund of the tournament was €3030. Top three prizes were €700, €400 and €300 along with a trophy each. Photo: IO NA Ricard Llerins

Ritvik Krishnan is on the rise

Ritvik Krishnan lost a total of 116.82 Elo rating points in the August 2022 FIDE Rating list. The 14-year-old travelled to Spain and he not only recovered that in a single event but also gained a lot more. He gained 125.6 Elo rating points at 46th Sitges Open, 116.4 Elo ratings points at 46th Badalona Open and 118.8 Elo rating points at this event. He gained 42.4 rating points at 23rd Barcelona Open. It will be interesting to see his rating on 1st September 2022, days before World Youth 2022 starts.

Runner-up - Anustoop Biswas 7/9 | Photo: IO NA Ricard Llerins

Top 3 (L to R) - 2nd Anustoop Biswas 7/9, 1st IM Ernesto J Fernandez Guillen (CUB) 7.5/9 and 3rd FM Mike Ivanov (CAN) 7/9 | Photo: IO NA Ricard Llerins

Lluis Maria - Anustoop, Round 6

Position after 32.Nc1

Generally passive defence is not a good idea. 32.Nc1 Rb8 33.Rf1 Kf8 34.Rd1 e3 35.Kd3 Bf3 36.Re1 Bxg4 now Black is completely winning. Instead, 32.Nd2 Bxa2 33.c4 a3 34.Ra1 e3 35.Rxa2 exd2 36.Kxd3 is an alternative better continuation to keep things balanced. Anustoop went on to defeat IM Lluis Maria Perpinya Rofes (ESP, 2301).

Anustoop Biswas scored 7/9, performed at 2419 and gained 55.6 Elo rating points

Ritvik Krishnan scored 5.5/9, gained a whopping 118.8 Elo rating points, receiving his Best Under-18 trophy | Photo: IO NA Ricard Llerins

Rutuja Bakshi was the top female performer 4.5/9, gained 20.4 Elo rating points | Photo: IO NA Ricard Llerins

The tournament hall at Pavello Esportiu Marina de Sant Adria, Passeig Dolores Ibarruri | Photo: IO NA Ricard Llerins

A total of 36 players including a GM and 4 IMs took part in the Open A (>=1950) and 48 in Open B tournament from 7 countries across the world. The tournaments were organized by Miquel Tarrago Domingo from 11th to 18th August 2022 at Pavello Esportiu Marina de Sant Adria, Passeig Dolores Ibarruri in Spain. The time control was 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment.

Replay all games

Final standings

Rk.SNo NameTypFEDRtgIClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 nwwew-weKrtg+/-
IMFernandez Guillen Ernesto J.ACUB2390Cuba7,528,546,5510243997,56,381,121011,2
Anustoop BiswasBIND2145India726,5454902368863,222,782055,6
FMIvanov MikeACAN2359Canada627,5465002350866,01-0,0120-0,2
GMMoskalenko ViktorS50ESP2452SC Colon Sabadell Chessy627,5465002316967,54-1,5410-15,4
Paredes Lagos Anthony JavieBPER2160Peru624,5424502109964,931,072021,4
FMVergara Jofre FelipeBCHI2196Chile5,5284648,50215595,54,501,002020
Krishnan RitvikC-16IND1968India5,52744480219684,51,532,9740118,8
Sudarshan BhatCIND2025India5,526,543470213795,53,172,332046,6
FMJimenez Ruano AdrianAESP2278Barcelona5,52541,545,50217495,55,91-0,4120-8,2
MKTarrago Antoni MauriciBESP2187Catalonia Joviat5,5244143,50210595,55,98-0,4820-9,6



Official site

Tournament Regulations

Related news:
Vincent Blom decimates Arona Chess Festival Blitz Open 2024, Savitha Shri third

@ 08/07/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Aravindh Chithambaram victorious at 50th La Roda Open 2024

@ 01/04/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Dama Negra Chess Club invites you to VIII Semana Santa Open 2024

@ 27/02/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Indian chess players face robbery in Sunway Sitges Apartments

@ 24/12/2023 by ChessBase India (en)
Gran Hotel Bali 2023: Mitrabha Guha clinches Blitz Nocturno, third in Open A, Sham R wins Aficionados B

@ 16/12/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Subhayan Kundu wins 5th Sant Adrià Open 2023, Franco Valencia Angela second

@ 10/09/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Omar Almeida Quintana wins 47th Badalona City Open 2023, Kaustuv Kundu second

@ 01/09/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vignesh N R wins 11th Pontevedra Masters 2023, Sarayu Velpula scores IM, WGM and WIM-norm, finishes second

@ 24/08/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain clinches 9th Ciudad de Oviedo Open 2023

@ 13/08/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
ईरान की खिलाड़ी सारा खादेम को स्पेन ने दी नागरिकता

@ 28/07/2023 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Abhijeet Gupta wins Orillas de Mar Open 2023

@ 14/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Alexandr Fier wins 49th La Roda Open 2023, Aravindh Chithambaram second and Pranav Venkatesh third

@ 12/04/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Titas Stremavicius wins 43rd San Sebastian Open 2023, Swayams Mishra second

@ 09/04/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kushal dominates 19th Gran Hotel Bali Aficionados B, Aditya Varun Gampa second in Group A and Blitz

@ 14/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Saidakbar Saydaliev clinches Benidorm Open 2022, Ajay Karthikeyan third

@ 12/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Arvinder Preet Singh clinches XIX Calvia Amateur Open 2022

@ 18/10/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Gukesh and Harikrishna clinch Spanish Honor League for C A Solvay

@ 25/09/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
S L Narayanan wins 23rd Sants Open Barcelona 2022, Vaibhav Suri second

@ 14/09/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Aronyak Ghosh wins 46th Ciutat de Badalona Open 2022, Anuj Shrivatri second

@ 15/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vignesh N R dominates 47th Ciudad de Sevilla Open 2022

@ 13/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Platon Galperin wins 10th Pontevedra Masters, Leon Luke Mendonca third

@ 02/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Dylan Isidro triumphs at 22nd Sant Marti Open, Aronyak Ghosh third

@ 25/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Aravindh Chithambaram wins 41st Villa de Benasque Open 2022, Raunak Sadhwani third

@ 16/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ilmars Starostits dominates 15th International Open GEMA63

@ 28/01/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vitaliy Bernadskiy wins XXXI Roquetas de Mar Open 2020

@ 19/01/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Pablo Glavina is the winner of IX Open Ciudad de Alfaro

@ 13/11/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sebastian superb at XVI Calvia Amateur Open

@ 22/10/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Harikrishnan and Anuj finish in top 10 at Sitges Open 2019

@ 09/08/2019 by Niklesh Jain (en)

Contact Us