chessbase india logo

Omar Almeida Quintana wins 47th Badalona City Open 2023, Kaustuv Kundu second

by Shahid Ahmed - 01/09/2023

GM Omar Almeida Quintana (CUB), IM Kaustuv Kundu, GM Dylan Isidro Berdayes Ason (CUB) and IM Gerard Ayats Llobera (ESP) scored an unbeaten 7/9 each. Omar won 47th Badalona City Open 2023 due to better tie-breaks. Kaustuv, Dylan and Gerard were placed second to fourth respectively. The runner-up, Kaustuv also scored his fourth IM-norm in the process, although he did not need it. The top three prizes were €1000, €700 and €400 along with a trophy each respectively. Subhayan Kundu and Prakhar Bajaj are the remaining two Indians to make a top ten finish. They scored 6.5/9 each to finish be placed fifth and sixth respectively. Prakhar gained 86.58 Elo rating points at this event. He gained a total of 198.64 rating points according to FIDE Rating list September 2023.

Kaustuv earns his fourth IM-norm

Kaustuv Kundu secured his final IM-norm at 47th Open Internacional de Escacs Vila de Sitges 2023. His rating is now 2432 as on FIDE Rating list September 2023. Thus, he has become India's latest International Master. Thus, the fourth IM-norm was not required but he earned it anyway due to his amazing performance. We will have a separate article about Kaustuv's journey towards the IM title soon.

Runner-up - IM Kaustuv Kundu 7/9

5th Subhayan Kundu 6.5/9

6th Prakhar Bajaj | Photo: FI Niklesh Jain

Round 5: Kaustuv Kundu - GM Omar Almeida Quintana (CUB): 0.5-0.5

Kaustuv Kundu's fourth IM-norm certificate

A total of 70 players including 6 GMs, 4 IMs, a WGM and a WIM took part from eleven countries across the world in the Group A >1950 category. The tournament was organized by Club d'Escacs Cor de Marina from 2nd to 10th August 2023 at Centre Cultural El Carme in Badalona, Spain. The nine-round Swiss league tournament had a time control of 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment.

Final standings

Rk.SNoNameTypsexFEDRtgRtgNClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
11GMAlmeida Quintana, OmarCUB25122581CUBA - Lira Vendrellenca7239825232584
26Kaustuv, KunduIND23540INDIA7232524512519
33GMBerdayes Ason, Dylan IsidroCUB24800CUBA7229524552531
44IMAyats Llobera, GerardESP24712553Barcelona, Club Escacs7227624182474
57Subhayan, KunduIND23410INDIA6,5231223972429
646Bajaj, PrakharIND19140INDIA6,5215122132219
72GMMiranda Mesa, ElierCUB25002499CUBA - Cor de Marina6238224242498
822FMTorres Cueto, Jesus MarcialCOL21160COLOMBIA6230823312359
935Herman Gamazo, IsaacU12ESP19712265Barbera C.E.6222122362263
108GMMunoz, MiguelPER23302396PERU6221722612277



Official site

Tournament info

Related news:
Aravindh Chithambaram victorious at 50th La Roda Open 2024

@ 01/04/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Dama Negra Chess Club invites you to VIII Semana Santa Open 2024

@ 27/02/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Indian chess players face robbery in Sunway Sitges Apartments

@ 24/12/2023 by ChessBase India (en)
Gran Hotel Bali 2023: Mitrabha Guha clinches Blitz Nocturno, third in Open A, Sham R wins Aficionados B

@ 16/12/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Subhayan Kundu wins 5th Sant Adrià Open 2023, Franco Valencia Angela second

@ 10/09/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vignesh N R wins 11th Pontevedra Masters 2023, Sarayu Velpula scores IM, WGM and WIM-norm, finishes second

@ 24/08/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain clinches 9th Ciudad de Oviedo Open 2023

@ 13/08/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
ईरान की खिलाड़ी सारा खादेम को स्पेन ने दी नागरिकता

@ 28/07/2023 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Abhijeet Gupta wins Orillas de Mar Open 2023

@ 14/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Alexandr Fier wins 49th La Roda Open 2023, Aravindh Chithambaram second and Pranav Venkatesh third

@ 12/04/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Titas Stremavicius wins 43rd San Sebastian Open 2023, Swayams Mishra second

@ 09/04/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kushal dominates 19th Gran Hotel Bali Aficionados B, Aditya Varun Gampa second in Group A and Blitz

@ 14/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Saidakbar Saydaliev clinches Benidorm Open 2022, Ajay Karthikeyan third

@ 12/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Arvinder Preet Singh clinches XIX Calvia Amateur Open 2022

@ 18/10/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Gukesh and Harikrishna clinch Spanish Honor League for C A Solvay

@ 25/09/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
S L Narayanan wins 23rd Sants Open Barcelona 2022, Vaibhav Suri second

@ 14/09/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ernesto J Fernandez Guillen victorious at 4th Sant Adria Open 2022, Anustoop Biswas second

@ 29/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Aronyak Ghosh wins 46th Ciutat de Badalona Open 2022, Anuj Shrivatri second

@ 15/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vignesh N R dominates 47th Ciudad de Sevilla Open 2022

@ 13/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Platon Galperin wins 10th Pontevedra Masters, Leon Luke Mendonca third

@ 02/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Dylan Isidro triumphs at 22nd Sant Marti Open, Aronyak Ghosh third

@ 25/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Aravindh Chithambaram wins 41st Villa de Benasque Open 2022, Raunak Sadhwani third

@ 16/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ilmars Starostits dominates 15th International Open GEMA63

@ 28/01/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vitaliy Bernadskiy wins XXXI Roquetas de Mar Open 2020

@ 19/01/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Pablo Glavina is the winner of IX Open Ciudad de Alfaro

@ 13/11/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sebastian superb at XVI Calvia Amateur Open

@ 22/10/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Harikrishnan and Anuj finish in top 10 at Sitges Open 2019

@ 09/08/2019 by Niklesh Jain (en)

Contact Us