chessbase india logo

Vincent Blom decimates Arona Chess Festival Blitz Open 2024, Savitha Shri third

by Shahid Ahmed - 08/07/2024

FM Vincent Blom (NED) scored 8.5/9 to win Arona Chess Festival Blitz Rating Open 2024. He finished a half point ahead of the field. GM Bartosz Socko (POL) scored sole 8/9 to finish second. WGM Savitha Shri B and Miguoel Admiraal (NED) scored 6.5/9. They were placed second and third according to tie-breaks. Total prize fund of the tournament was €20000. The top three prizes were: 1st - ChessBase 17 Premium + Fritz 19, 2nd - Komodo Dragon 3.2 + Kasparov: How to play Najdorf and 3rd - Fritz 19 + Kasparov: How to play Najdorf. In the Classical Rating Open, GM Sankalp Gupta and GM Abhijeet Gupta scored 7/10 each. They secured fifth and seventh place respectively. FM Goutham Krishna H scored his fourth IM-norm. Photo: Official site

Classical: Goutham Krishna H scores his fourth IM-norm

FM Goutham Krishna H scored 6/9 to secure his fourth IM-norm. He performed at 2438 and gained 43.8 Elo rating points. Although he did not need to score another IM-norm, an extra is always good.

Champion in Blitz - FM Vincent Blom (NED) 8.5/9 | Photo: Official site

Second Runner-up in Blitz - WGM Savitha Shri B 6.5/9 | Photo: Official site

5th in Classical - GM Sankalp Gupta 7/10 | Photo: Official site

7th in Classical - GM Abhijeet Gupta 7/10 | Photo: Official site

Fourth IM-norm - FM Goutham Krishna H 6/10 | Photo: Official site

The tournament hall at Arona Gran Hotel and Spa in Tenerife, Spain | Photo: Official site

A total of 48 players including 2 GMs, 2 IMs and a WGM and 2 WIMs took part from 19 countries across the world in this one-day nine-round Swiss League Rating Open. The tournament was organized by Arona Chess Club - CDA Grademar at Arona Gran Hotel & Spa in Tenerife, Spain on 29th June. The time control of the event was 3 minutes + 2 seconds increment.

Final standings

Rk.SNoNamesexFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
17FMBlom, VincentNED22888,5260048,549,50
21GMSocko, BartoszPOL2552825554944,50
312WGMSavitha, Shri BwIND21716,523134933,50
42IMAdmiraal, MiguoelNED24196,5224344,534,00
59FMO`gorman, TomIRL2267623025032,00
63FMChinguun, SumiyaMGL23866229348,530,75
76GMSocko, MonikawPOL22886221847,528,50
815FMYezhel, ValiantsinFID2031622004729,75
917Rappazzo, JohannesSUI1986621374526,50
1011Podolskyi, MykhailoUKR22336212542,525,00



Official site

Tournament details: Blitz and Classical

Related news:
Aravindh Chithambaram victorious at 50th La Roda Open 2024

@ 01/04/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Dama Negra Chess Club invites you to VIII Semana Santa Open 2024

@ 27/02/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Indian chess players face robbery in Sunway Sitges Apartments

@ 24/12/2023 by ChessBase India (en)
Gran Hotel Bali 2023: Mitrabha Guha clinches Blitz Nocturno, third in Open A, Sham R wins Aficionados B

@ 16/12/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Subhayan Kundu wins 5th Sant Adrià Open 2023, Franco Valencia Angela second

@ 10/09/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Omar Almeida Quintana wins 47th Badalona City Open 2023, Kaustuv Kundu second

@ 01/09/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vignesh N R wins 11th Pontevedra Masters 2023, Sarayu Velpula scores IM, WGM and WIM-norm, finishes second

@ 24/08/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain clinches 9th Ciudad de Oviedo Open 2023

@ 13/08/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
ईरान की खिलाड़ी सारा खादेम को स्पेन ने दी नागरिकता

@ 28/07/2023 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Abhijeet Gupta wins Orillas de Mar Open 2023

@ 14/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Alexandr Fier wins 49th La Roda Open 2023, Aravindh Chithambaram second and Pranav Venkatesh third

@ 12/04/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Titas Stremavicius wins 43rd San Sebastian Open 2023, Swayams Mishra second

@ 09/04/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kushal dominates 19th Gran Hotel Bali Aficionados B, Aditya Varun Gampa second in Group A and Blitz

@ 14/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Saidakbar Saydaliev clinches Benidorm Open 2022, Ajay Karthikeyan third

@ 12/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Arvinder Preet Singh clinches XIX Calvia Amateur Open 2022

@ 18/10/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Gukesh and Harikrishna clinch Spanish Honor League for C A Solvay

@ 25/09/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
S L Narayanan wins 23rd Sants Open Barcelona 2022, Vaibhav Suri second

@ 14/09/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ernesto J Fernandez Guillen victorious at 4th Sant Adria Open 2022, Anustoop Biswas second

@ 29/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Aronyak Ghosh wins 46th Ciutat de Badalona Open 2022, Anuj Shrivatri second

@ 15/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vignesh N R dominates 47th Ciudad de Sevilla Open 2022

@ 13/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Platon Galperin wins 10th Pontevedra Masters, Leon Luke Mendonca third

@ 02/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Dylan Isidro triumphs at 22nd Sant Marti Open, Aronyak Ghosh third

@ 25/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Aravindh Chithambaram wins 41st Villa de Benasque Open 2022, Raunak Sadhwani third

@ 16/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ilmars Starostits dominates 15th International Open GEMA63

@ 28/01/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vitaliy Bernadskiy wins XXXI Roquetas de Mar Open 2020

@ 19/01/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Pablo Glavina is the winner of IX Open Ciudad de Alfaro

@ 13/11/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sebastian superb at XVI Calvia Amateur Open

@ 22/10/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Harikrishnan and Anuj finish in top 10 at Sitges Open 2019

@ 09/08/2019 by Niklesh Jain (en)

Contact Us