chessbase india logo

Subhayan Kundu wins 5th Sant Adrià Open 2023, Franco Valencia Angela second

by Shahid Ahmed - 10/09/2023

Subhayan Kundu scored 7.5/9 to win 5th Sant Adria Open 2023. He finished a half point ahead of the competition. Our very own ChessBase India Head, FI Niklesh Jain's better half, WIM Franco Valencia Angela (COL) scored 7/9 to secure second place. David Jose Caballero Marrugo (COL) and Luca G Tessiore (USA) scored 6.5/9 each. They secured third and fourth place according to tie-breaks. The total prize fund of the tournament was €3000. Top three prizes were €700, €400 and €300 along with a trophy each respectively. This was Subhayan's third rating tournament triumph of the year. Earlier in this year, he won a Rapid and Blitz rating tournament in Bangladesh. Photos: Miguel Fernandez-Diaz Mascort

Top seed wins the crown

Top 3 (L to R): 2nd WIM Franco Angela Valencia (COL) 7/9, 1st Subhayan Kundu 7.5/9 and 3rd David Jose Caballero Marrugo (COL) 6.5/9

Players in action

A total of 32 players including a WIM took part from six countries across the world in this eight-day nine round Swiss-league Rating tournament. It was organized by Club Escacs Sant Adria at CFA Sant Adrià de Besòs in Barcelona, Spain from 11th to 18th August 2023. The time control of the event was 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1.

Replay all available games

Final standings

Rk.SNoNameTypGrFEDRtgIRtgNClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 nwwew-weKrtg+/-
11Subhayan, KunduAIND23410India7,54224,545,597,57,87-0,3720-7,4
211WIMFranco Valencia, AngelaCCOL20470Colombia745,527,548,5974,662,342046,8
319Caballero Marrugo, David JoseU18COL19450Colombia6,54526,547,585,53,322,184087,2
426Tessiore, Luca GU14USA18740Estats Units6,5432646,585,52,732,7740110,8
55MKNieto Farreny, FrancescBESP21822301Cerdanyola Valles64223,546966,83-0,8320-16,6
68Aishwin, DanielCIND21000India6412543,5764,451,552031
76MKTravesset Sagre, JanU18BESP21762350Sant Andreu6382239967,14-1,1440-45,6
825Fabregas Fontanet, AntonioS65ESP18822052Sant Marti5,535,520,53895,54,580,922018,4
93FMThakur, AkashBIND22110India5422545,5957,21-2,2120-44,2
1023Bajaj, PrakharU18IND19140India54123,542842,861,144045,6


Related news:
Aravindh Chithambaram victorious at 50th La Roda Open 2024

@ 01/04/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Dama Negra Chess Club invites you to VIII Semana Santa Open 2024

@ 27/02/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Indian chess players face robbery in Sunway Sitges Apartments

@ 24/12/2023 by ChessBase India (en)
Gran Hotel Bali 2023: Mitrabha Guha clinches Blitz Nocturno, third in Open A, Sham R wins Aficionados B

@ 16/12/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Omar Almeida Quintana wins 47th Badalona City Open 2023, Kaustuv Kundu second

@ 01/09/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vignesh N R wins 11th Pontevedra Masters 2023, Sarayu Velpula scores IM, WGM and WIM-norm, finishes second

@ 24/08/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain clinches 9th Ciudad de Oviedo Open 2023

@ 13/08/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
ईरान की खिलाड़ी सारा खादेम को स्पेन ने दी नागरिकता

@ 28/07/2023 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Abhijeet Gupta wins Orillas de Mar Open 2023

@ 14/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Alexandr Fier wins 49th La Roda Open 2023, Aravindh Chithambaram second and Pranav Venkatesh third

@ 12/04/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Titas Stremavicius wins 43rd San Sebastian Open 2023, Swayams Mishra second

@ 09/04/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kushal dominates 19th Gran Hotel Bali Aficionados B, Aditya Varun Gampa second in Group A and Blitz

@ 14/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Saidakbar Saydaliev clinches Benidorm Open 2022, Ajay Karthikeyan third

@ 12/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Arvinder Preet Singh clinches XIX Calvia Amateur Open 2022

@ 18/10/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Gukesh and Harikrishna clinch Spanish Honor League for C A Solvay

@ 25/09/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
S L Narayanan wins 23rd Sants Open Barcelona 2022, Vaibhav Suri second

@ 14/09/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ernesto J Fernandez Guillen victorious at 4th Sant Adria Open 2022, Anustoop Biswas second

@ 29/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Aronyak Ghosh wins 46th Ciutat de Badalona Open 2022, Anuj Shrivatri second

@ 15/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vignesh N R dominates 47th Ciudad de Sevilla Open 2022

@ 13/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Platon Galperin wins 10th Pontevedra Masters, Leon Luke Mendonca third

@ 02/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Dylan Isidro triumphs at 22nd Sant Marti Open, Aronyak Ghosh third

@ 25/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Aravindh Chithambaram wins 41st Villa de Benasque Open 2022, Raunak Sadhwani third

@ 16/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ilmars Starostits dominates 15th International Open GEMA63

@ 28/01/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vitaliy Bernadskiy wins XXXI Roquetas de Mar Open 2020

@ 19/01/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Pablo Glavina is the winner of IX Open Ciudad de Alfaro

@ 13/11/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sebastian superb at XVI Calvia Amateur Open

@ 22/10/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Harikrishnan and Anuj finish in top 10 at Sitges Open 2019

@ 09/08/2019 by Niklesh Jain (en)

Contact Us