chessbase india logo

Abhijeet Gupta wins Orillas de Mar Open 2023

by Shahid Ahmed - 14/07/2023

GM Abhijeet Gupta, GM Yan Liu (CHN), GM Xiangzhi Bu (CHN), IM Dragos Ceres (ROU) and Tong Xiao (CHN) scored 7/9 each at Orillas de Mar International Open 2023. Abhijeet won the tournament due to better tie-breaks. The remaining four were placed second to fourth according to tie-breaks. Despite losing the second round against an untitled Chinese teenager, Renjie Huang, Abhijeet scored 6/7 in the next seven games to finish first. The total prize fund of the tournament was €11500. The top three prizes were €3500, €2500 and €1500 along with a trophy each respectively. GM Lalit Rohit is the only other Indian to make a top ten finish. He scored an unbeaten 6.5/9 to finish ninth. Photos: Arona Chess Club

Top five score 7/9

GM Yan Liu (CHN) and GM Xiangzhi Bu (CHN) were the only two players in the lead 6.5/8, heading into the final round. Nine players were in pursuit at 6/8 each including GM Abhijeet Gupta and GM Lalit Rohit. Abhijeet defeated Xiongjian Peng (CHN) in the final round and Lalit drew against GM Sarunas Sulskis (LTU). Abhijeet 7/9 won the tournament due to better tie-break score, Lalit 6.5/9 was placed ninth.

Champion - GM Abhijeet Gupta 7/9

Runner-up GM Yan Liu (CHN) 7/9

Second Runner-up GM Xiangzhi Bu (CHN) 7/9

9th GM Lalit Rohit 6.5/9

The tournament hall at Tenerife, Adeje in Spain

A total of 131 players including 22 GMs, 16 IMs, 3 WGMs and 4 WIMs took part from 26 countries across the world in this eight-day nine-round Swiss League Rating tournament. The tournament was organized by Aroma Chess Club and Casa Fuerte of Adeje at Casa Fuerte of Adeje in Tenerife, Spain from 25th June to 2nd July 2023. The time control of the event was 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1.

Final standings

Rk.SNo NameFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 nwwew-weKrtg+/-
GMGupta, AbhijeetIND26287025946977,35-0,3510-3,5
GMLiu, YanCHN25457025845975,481,521015,2
GMBu, XiangzhiCHN26947025815977,28-0,2810-2,8
IMCeres, DragosMDA2409702543586,53,822,681026,8
Xiao, Tong(Qd)CHN23167025005973,523,482069,6
Huang, RenjieCHN24066,502578496,53,363,141031,4
GMDardha, DanielBEL26196,502465496,57,11-0,6110-6,1
GMGorshtein, IdoISR25036,502440596,55,990,51105,1
GMLalit, Babu M RIND25296,502440496,56,150,35103,5
GMStremavicius, TitasLTU25406,502433596,56,460,04100,4



Official site

Tournament Regulations

Related news:
Vincent Blom decimates Arona Chess Festival Blitz Open 2024, Savitha Shri third

@ 08/07/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Aravindh Chithambaram victorious at 50th La Roda Open 2024

@ 01/04/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Dama Negra Chess Club invites you to VIII Semana Santa Open 2024

@ 27/02/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Abhijeet Gupta clinches Caplin Hastings Masters 2023-24

@ 18/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Indian chess players face robbery in Sunway Sitges Apartments

@ 24/12/2023 by ChessBase India (en)
Gran Hotel Bali 2023: Mitrabha Guha clinches Blitz Nocturno, third in Open A, Sham R wins Aficionados B

@ 16/12/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Subhayan Kundu wins 5th Sant Adrià Open 2023, Franco Valencia Angela second

@ 10/09/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Omar Almeida Quintana wins 47th Badalona City Open 2023, Kaustuv Kundu second

@ 01/09/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vignesh N R wins 11th Pontevedra Masters 2023, Sarayu Velpula scores IM, WGM and WIM-norm, finishes second

@ 24/08/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain clinches 9th Ciudad de Oviedo Open 2023

@ 13/08/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
ईरान की खिलाड़ी सारा खादेम को स्पेन ने दी नागरिकता

@ 28/07/2023 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Alexandr Fier wins 49th La Roda Open 2023, Aravindh Chithambaram second and Pranav Venkatesh third

@ 12/04/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Titas Stremavicius wins 43rd San Sebastian Open 2023, Swayams Mishra second

@ 09/04/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Abhijeet Gupta conquers Graz Open 2023

@ 27/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kushal dominates 19th Gran Hotel Bali Aficionados B, Aditya Varun Gampa second in Group A and Blitz

@ 14/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Saidakbar Saydaliev clinches Benidorm Open 2022, Ajay Karthikeyan third

@ 12/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Arvinder Preet Singh clinches XIX Calvia Amateur Open 2022

@ 18/10/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Gukesh and Harikrishna clinch Spanish Honor League for C A Solvay

@ 25/09/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
S L Narayanan wins 23rd Sants Open Barcelona 2022, Vaibhav Suri second

@ 14/09/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ernesto J Fernandez Guillen victorious at 4th Sant Adria Open 2022, Anustoop Biswas second

@ 29/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Aronyak Ghosh wins 46th Ciutat de Badalona Open 2022, Anuj Shrivatri second

@ 15/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vignesh N R dominates 47th Ciudad de Sevilla Open 2022

@ 13/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Platon Galperin wins 10th Pontevedra Masters, Leon Luke Mendonca third

@ 02/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Dylan Isidro triumphs at 22nd Sant Marti Open, Aronyak Ghosh third

@ 25/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Aravindh Chithambaram wins 41st Villa de Benasque Open 2022, Raunak Sadhwani third

@ 16/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ilmars Starostits dominates 15th International Open GEMA63

@ 28/01/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vitaliy Bernadskiy wins XXXI Roquetas de Mar Open 2020

@ 19/01/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Pablo Glavina is the winner of IX Open Ciudad de Alfaro

@ 13/11/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sebastian superb at XVI Calvia Amateur Open

@ 22/10/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Harikrishnan and Anuj finish in top 10 at Sitges Open 2019

@ 09/08/2019 by Niklesh Jain (en)

Contact Us