chessbase india logo

Laxman R R wins Dr. Ajitkumar Singh Kasliwal & Suneeta Singh Memorial Rapid Rating Open 2022

by Shahid Ahmed - 09/12/2022

Both GM Laxman R R and Daksh Goyal scored 8/9. However, Laxman won Dr. Ajitkumar Singh Kasliwal and Suneeta Singh Memorial Rapid Rating Open 2022 due to better tie-breaks. Daksh had to settle for the second place. Laxman had already defeated Daksh in the fifth round. Indrajeet Mahindrakar and Madhya Pradesh's very own Prakhar Bajaj scored 7.5/9. They were adjudged third and fourth respectively. The total prize fund of the tournament was ₹200000. The top three prizes were ₹40000, ₹25000 and ₹15000 along with a trophy each. Laxman won this event last year in December. He managed to successfully retain his championship. Photo: FA Yash Tulapurkar

Laxman wins for a second year in-a-row

GM Laxman R R of ICF, increased his tournament triumph in this year to six. This is his fourth Rapid Rating triumph of the year. Earlier he had won, 1st DKCA Rapid Rating Open in May, GRT Shasun Jain College Rapid Rating Open in July and 17th BRDCA Rapid Rating Open 2022 in October this year. 14-year-old Daksh Goyal of Delhi scored an impressive 8/9 to finish second. His sole loss of the event was against the eventual champion, GM Laxman R R. The teenager is gaining 65.4 Elo rating points. In the finala round, he defeated Madhya Pradesh's 9-year-old budding talent, Madhvendra Pratap Sharm. He scored 7/9 and secured 14th place.

Champion - GM Laxman R R 8/9 | Photo: FA Yash Tulapurkar

Runner-up - Daksh Goyal 8/9 | Photo: FA Yash Tulapurkar

Second Runner-up - Indrajeet Mahindrakar 7.5/9 | Photo: FA Yash Tulapurkar

Top 3 (L to R) - 2nd Daksh Goyal 8/9, 1st GM Laxman R R and 3rd Indrajeet Mahindrakar 7.5/9 | Photo: FA Yash Tulapurkar

GM Laxman R R scored an unbeaten 8/9 including a win over the eventual runner-up Daksh Goyal

4th Prakhar Bajaj 7.5/9 | Photo: FA Yash Tulapurkar

5th Aakash Sharadchandra Dalvi 7/9 | Photo: FA Yash Tulapurkar

6th Aishwin Daniel 7/9 | Photo: FA Yash Tulapurkar

7th IM Satyapragyan Swayangsu 7/9 | Photo: FA Yash Tulapurkar

10th Kartavya Anadkat 7/9 | Photo: Yash Tulapurkar

Inauguration Ceremony | Photo: FA Yash Tulapurkar

Ceremonial first move is being made | Photo: FA Yash Tulapurkar

The tournament hall at The Emerald Heights International School in Indore, Madhya Pradesh | Photo: FA Yash Tulapurkar

Closing Ceremony | Photo: FA Yash Tulapurkar

All prize winners | Photo: FA Yash Tulapurkar

Thanks to FA Yash Tulapurkar for sharing the photos.


A total of 251 players including a GM and two IMs took part from various parts of India and one from Sri Lanka. The two-day nine-round Swiss league Rapid Rating tournament was organized by All Indore Chess Association and Sanjay Kasliwal Memorial Chess Academy, Indore. It took place at The Emerald Heights International School in Indore, Madhya Pradesh on 19th and 20th November 2022. The time control of the tournament was 15 minutes + 10 seconds increment from move no.1.

Final standings

Rk.SNoNameTypsexFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
13GMLaxman R.R.IND2266ICF854,557,550,75
228Daksh GoyalIND1606DEL850,55446,00
39Mahindrakar IndrajeetIND1950MAH7,549,553,543,00
415Bajaj PrakharIND1757MP7,548,54934,00
55Aakash Sharadchandra DalviIND2164MAH7535741,00
66Aishwin DanielIND2000MP752,556,539,00
71IMSatyapragyan SwayangsuIND2360Odisa752,555,540,50
82IMGusain HimalIND2279Railway7495338,50
914Ajay VirwaniIND1823MP- Indore748,552,539,50
1011Anadkat KartavyaIND1895GUJ748,552,539,00
1131Dadwani SahilIND1580MP- Indore7485239,25
1222Devansh SinghIND1665MP7485136,50
1332ACMIyer ArvindIND1558MAH747,55238,25
1438Madhvendra Pratap SharmaU09IND1519MP746,54936,50
1521Dishant JainIND1675MP- Indore746,54936,50
1630Ankur KhatriIND1580MP742,544,533,00
1720Vikramaditya MukhijaIND1676RAJ6,5535840,00
187Morvekar KedarIND1979MAH6,549,553,536,75
1943Chandwani PrateekIND1465MP- Indore6,548,553,536,75
2010CMMishra ManojIND1926MP6,5485235,75
218FMRathore S.K.S55IND1950MP6,5485133,50
2233Mishra KamadIND1553MP6,54850,534,75
2324Nema AnupamIND1660MP- Indore6,5485030,75
2439Cera DagariyawIND1488MP- Indore6,547,55132,25
2512Singh SukhpalIND1890MP- Indore6,5475134,25