chessbase india logo

Integral Coach Factory dominates 35th All India Railway Team Championship 2023

by Shahid Ahmed - 11/07/2023

Integral Coach Factory scored an unbeaten 10/12 to win 35th All India Inter Railway Team Chess Championship 2023. ICF defeated the eventual runner-up Eastern Railway convincingly 1-3 in the fourth round. ER scored 9/12 to finish sole second. Metro Railway Kolkata and the defending champion Southern Railway scored 8/12 each. However, Metro edged past SR on tie-breaks to finish third. GM Deepan Chakkravarthy was the top scorer for his team ICF. He scored an unbeaten 5/6. GM Visakh N R and IM P Shyam Nikhil also remained undefeated. They made 4.5/6 and 4/6 each. GM Laxman R R scored a valuable 3.5/5. This is ICF's second triumph in consecutive year. Their previous victory was in January 2022 in the 33rd edition. Photos: Various sources

An encore of 33rd edition

A commonly said phrase - The more things change, the more they stay the same. When one checks the team event standings of the 35th edition, they will find that the top three finishers are exactly the same as the 33rd edition. Integral Coach Factory is the champion, Eastern Railway runner-up and Metro Railway Kolkata second runner-up. Even the top two teams have the exact same score, win, draw and loss count as a team. Only thing different is, this time Metro score 1 match point less. Nevertheless, it did not matter much as Metro still managed to secure third place. Individual event's report will be published in a separate article. 

Champion - Integral Coach Factory 10/12

L to R - GM Karthikeyan P, IM P Shyam Nikhil, GM Laxman R R, GM Deepan Chakkravarthy and FA FT Sureshkumar Janardhanan (Manager) with the officials.

Runner-up - Eastern Railways 9/12

L to R - Official, GM Saptarshi Roy, IM Sidhant Mohapatra, IM Arghyadip Das, IM Aronyak Ghosh, IM Suvrajit Saha, Pradip Ghosh and Arindam Mukherjee (Manager).

Second Runner-up - Metro Railways 7.5/9

L to R - Official, IM Somak Palit, IM Sayantan Das and FM Joydeep Datta.

Round 5: Integral Coach Factory - Western Railway: 3.5-0.5

Integral Coach Factory's performance

GM Deepan Chakkravarthy spearheaded Integral Chess Factory by scoring an unbeaten 5/6

Chess tournament inspires more people to play chess

A total of 13 teams inlcuding 8 GMs and 17 IMs represented various railway divisions of Indian Railways across the country in this three-day nine-round Swiss League non-rating team tournament. The event was organized by WCR Sports Association at Railway Stadium Basketball Court in Jabalpur, Madhya Pradesh from 2nd to 4th Jul 2023. The time control of the event was 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1.

Final standings

Rk.SNo TeamGames  +   =   -  TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
Integral Coach Factory642010017231,843,5
Eastern Railway64119014,519836,5
Southern Railway63218014,5200,537
South Central Railway63127015174,837
Western Railway63127013,5166,834
South Eastern Railway63036013107,832
Northern Railway52035011,582,324
East Coast Railway5122501057,521
South Western Railway51134012109,823,5
North Western Railway51134083815
West Central Railway511340733,512
Rail Wheel Factory5005104,523,56,5


Related news:
ChessBase India Training Academy invites you to 1st Khelo Chess India Rating Open 2024

@ 04/05/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain wins Padma Shri Late Abhay Chhajlani Memorial 2nd UICC Rapid Rating Open 2024

@ 26/04/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ayush Sharma dominates UICC Indore Rapid Rating Open 2024

@ 22/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Boris Savchenko wins 2nd Indore GM Open 2024, Ratnakaran third

@ 20/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Naitik R Mehta clinches 2nd Indore GM Below 2000 Rating Tournament 2024

@ 16/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
2nd Indore GM Open 2024 R7: Goutham outplays Hesham in the endgame

@ 14/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
2nd Indore GM Open 2024 R5-6: Fedorov emerges sole leader, Deepan in pursuit

@ 13/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
2nd Indore GM Open 2024 R4: Deepan subdues Savchenko, gains early sole lead

@ 12/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
2nd Indore GM Open 2024 R2-3: Nandhidhaa makes a perfect start

@ 11/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
2nd Indore GM Open 2024 R1: Daaevik, Saurabh and Vivaan score upsets

@ 10/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
B K Chaurasia wins Madhya Pradesh Civil Service State Tournament 2023

@ 29/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ayush Sharma dominates 1st Scindia Cup Rapid Rating Open 2023

@ 17/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
आयुष शर्मा बने मध्य प्रदेश के तीसरे इंटरनेशनल मास्टर

@ 22/09/2023 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Kartavya Anadkat conquers 5th Kamlaram Welfare Society Rapid Rating Open 2023

@ 21/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Neelash Saha clinches 35th All India Railway Individual Championship 2023 on his debut

@ 12/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kishan Kumar victorious at Chess for Everyone Rating Open in Sagar, Madhya Pradesh

@ 12/05/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vigneshwaran S wins 1st Prime Chess Academy Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 10/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Laxman R R wins Dr. Ajitkumar Singh Kasliwal & Suneeta Singh Memorial Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 09/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kaustuv Kundu wins 1st Chandrashekhar Azad Memorial All India Rapid Rating Open

@ 08/03/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
P Shyam Nikhil triumphs Pandit Shiv Kumar Khamparia Memorial Blitz Rating Open 2022

@ 30/01/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Prakhar Bajaj and Cera Dagaria score 100% to win Madhya Pradesh State Sub-Junior 2021 Boys and Girls

@ 06/01/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sriram Jha wins 1st Chhindwara All India Rapid Rating Open

@ 26/12/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Laxman R R wins Dr. Ajit Kumar Singh Kasliwal and Suneeta Singh Memorial All India Rapid Rating Open

@ 08/12/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)

Contact Us