chessbase india logo

Neelash Saha clinches 35th All India Railway Individual Championship 2023 on his debut

by Shahid Ahmed - 12/07/2023

IM Neelash Saha of South Eastern Railway scored an unbeaten 6/7 to win 35th All India Railway Individual Chess Championship 2023. He finished a half point ahead of the field. IM Aronyak Ghosh (Eastern Railway), IM C R G Krishna (South Western Railway) and GM Saptarshi Roy (Eastern Railway) scored 5.5/7 each. They were placed second, third and fourth respectively. This was a debut event for both Neelash and Aronyak. Although, Aronyak had represented RSPB A at the 42nd National Team 2023 earlier this year and secured a second runner-up position. This is Neelash's fourth and only non-rated tournament triumph of the year. He earned his maiden GM-norm at Vezerkepzo Winter Carnival GM 2023 which was his first tournament victory of 2023.

Top three remain undefeated

IM Neelash Saha (SER) made a blazing start of 4/4 including victories over GM Karthikeyan P (ICF) and GM Swapnil Dhopade (CR). Then he drew against the eventual runner-up, IM Aronyak Ghosh (ER). In the penultimate round, Neelash defeated India's 81st GM Sayantan Das (Metro). He concluded the tournament with a draw against the eventual second runner-up, IM C R G Krishna (SWR).

Champion - IM Neelash Saha (SER) 6/7

Runner-up - IM Aronyak Ghosh (ER) 5.5/7 | Photo: FI Arindam Mukherjee

Second Runner-up - IM C R G Krishna 5.5/7 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

IM Neelash Saha scored an unbeaten 6/7

A total of 75 players inlcuding 9 GMs and 16 IMs represented various railway divisions of Indian Railways across the country in this four-day seven-round Swiss League non-rating individual tournament. The event was organized by WCR Sports Association at Railway Stadium Basketball Court in Jabalpur, Madhya Pradesh from 5th to 8th Jul 2023. The time control of the event was 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1.

Final standings

Rk.SNo NameFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
IMNeelash, SahaIND2429SER628,53226,5005
IMAronyak, GhoshIND2538ER5,527,53123,5004
IMKrishna, C R GIND2409SWR5,527,53123,2504
GMSaptarshi, RoyIND2322ER5,523,526,520,7505
GMDas, SayantanIND2484Metro5303321,5004
GMSwapnil, S. DhopadeIND2479CR527,53120,5004
FMSingh, Gurpreet PalIND2273NR4,52729,517,2503
GMVisakh, N RIND2536ICF4,526,53018,0003
IMNitin, S.IND2389SR4,526,53017,7503
IMMehar, Chinna Reddy C.H.IND2384SCR4,526,53017,7503


Related news:
ChessBase India Training Academy invites you to 1st Khelo Chess India Rating Open 2024

@ 04/05/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain wins Padma Shri Late Abhay Chhajlani Memorial 2nd UICC Rapid Rating Open 2024

@ 26/04/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ayush Sharma dominates UICC Indore Rapid Rating Open 2024

@ 22/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Boris Savchenko wins 2nd Indore GM Open 2024, Ratnakaran third

@ 20/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Naitik R Mehta clinches 2nd Indore GM Below 2000 Rating Tournament 2024

@ 16/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
2nd Indore GM Open 2024 R7: Goutham outplays Hesham in the endgame

@ 14/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
2nd Indore GM Open 2024 R5-6: Fedorov emerges sole leader, Deepan in pursuit

@ 13/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
2nd Indore GM Open 2024 R4: Deepan subdues Savchenko, gains early sole lead

@ 12/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
2nd Indore GM Open 2024 R2-3: Nandhidhaa makes a perfect start

@ 11/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
2nd Indore GM Open 2024 R1: Daaevik, Saurabh and Vivaan score upsets

@ 10/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
B K Chaurasia wins Madhya Pradesh Civil Service State Tournament 2023

@ 29/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ayush Sharma dominates 1st Scindia Cup Rapid Rating Open 2023

@ 17/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
आयुष शर्मा बने मध्य प्रदेश के तीसरे इंटरनेशनल मास्टर

@ 22/09/2023 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Kartavya Anadkat conquers 5th Kamlaram Welfare Society Rapid Rating Open 2023

@ 21/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Integral Coach Factory dominates 35th All India Railway Team Championship 2023

@ 11/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kishan Kumar victorious at Chess for Everyone Rating Open in Sagar, Madhya Pradesh

@ 12/05/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vigneshwaran S wins 1st Prime Chess Academy Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 10/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Laxman R R wins Dr. Ajitkumar Singh Kasliwal & Suneeta Singh Memorial Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 09/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kaustuv Kundu wins 1st Chandrashekhar Azad Memorial All India Rapid Rating Open

@ 08/03/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
P Shyam Nikhil triumphs Pandit Shiv Kumar Khamparia Memorial Blitz Rating Open 2022

@ 30/01/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Prakhar Bajaj and Cera Dagaria score 100% to win Madhya Pradesh State Sub-Junior 2021 Boys and Girls

@ 06/01/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sriram Jha wins 1st Chhindwara All India Rapid Rating Open

@ 26/12/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Laxman R R wins Dr. Ajit Kumar Singh Kasliwal and Suneeta Singh Memorial All India Rapid Rating Open

@ 08/12/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)

Contact Us