chessbase india logo

Sriram Jha wins 1st Chhindwara All India Rapid Rating Open

by Shahid Ahmed - 26/12/2021

Top seed of the tournament, GM Sriram Jha of LIC, scored an unbeaten 8.0/9 along with IM Himal Gusain at 1st Chhindwara All India Open Rapid Rating. Sriram won the tournament due to better tie-break score, Himal was placed second. Madhya Pradesh's very own, IM Anuj Shrivatri secured third place 7.5/9, edging past Harish Sharma on tie-breaks. The tournament had the total prize fund of ₹100000 with the first prize being ₹21000 cash and a trophy. It took place on 11th and 12th December at Parasia, Chhindwara, Madhya Pradesh. This is Sriram Jha's first triumph since he won Nagoya Open in Japan in November 2019. Check out a pictorial report of this tournament. Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Top four finish in the same order

Chhindwara district hosted their first Rapid Rating tournament earlier this month. Top three seeds, GM Sriram Jha of LIC, IM Himal Gusain of Chandigarh and IM Anuj Shrivatri of Madhya Pradesh claimed top three places in the same order. Even fourth seeded Harish Sharma of Delhi also secured fourth place.

L to R - 2nd IM Himal Gusain and 1st GM Sriram Jha

Sriram Jha scored an unbeaten 8.0/9

GM Sriram Jha, IM Anuj Shrivatri and WFM Srishti Pandey along with the guests at the inauguration ceremony

Chief Guest, Vivek Bunty Sahu, BJP President, GM Sriram Jha, Special Guest, Mr. Gurmeet Singh, President MPCAC, Mr. Ritesh Chourasia, Chhindwara District Chess Association, were present during the inauguration ceremony.

GM Sriram Jha in action

A glimpse of the playing arena

Players in action

Chief guest, Mr. Prakash Uikey, Damoh, and special guest Ms. Rajni Prakash, District Judge, distributed the prizes with Mr. Gurmeet Singh, President, MPCAC and Mr. Rinku Ritesh Chourasia, President of CDCA distributed the prizes at the closing ceremony.


The tournament was organized by Chhindwara District Chess Association on 11th and 12th December 2021 at Parasia, Chhindwara at Madhya Pradesh. A total of 132 players including a GM and two IMs took part in the nine-round Swiss league Rapid tournament which had a time control of 15 minutes + 10 seconds increment from move no.1.

Final Standings

Rk.SNoNameTypsexGrFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
11GMSriram JhaIND2389Lic8,054,558,550,75
22IMGusain HimalIND2329Chandigarh8,053,057,049,75
33IMAnuj ShrivatriIND2095Mp7,552,557,045,25
44Sharma HarishIND2036Delhi7,550,055,043,25
58AFMChoubey SaurabhIND1762Mp7,049,050,535,00
610Shukla ShishirIND1725Mp7,046,548,536,50
720Mishra KamadIND1541Mp7,045,049,035,50
825Nakul ChaudharyIND1462Up7,044,045,533,50
924Tiwari ShivanshIND1474Mp7,042,046,032,50
1011AIMAbhay BandewarIND1722Chhindwara,Mp6,549,053,034,50
117Amit SoniIND1782Mp6,542,045,032,00
1223Satish BeleS60IND1475Chhindwara,Mp6,541,044,029,25
139Bajaj PrakharIND1757Mp6,053,556,534,50
1428Shrivastava KushagraIND1428Mp6,048,551,532,25
1521Paritosh MalviIND1502Chhindwara,Mp6,047,551,029,00
1614Gurmeet Singh BaggaIND1594Maharashtra6,047,050,031,50
176Hitesh S. JariyaIND1836Mp6,046,550,532,75
1834Chepte DilipS60IND1350Maharashtra6,046,049,532,00
1937Brijbhooshan DubeyS60IND1337Mp6,046,047,029,50
2061Harshit DawarIND1153Mp6,045,048,029,00

Complete standings