chessbase india logo

Laxman R R wins Dr. Ajit Kumar Singh Kasliwal and Suneeta Singh Memorial All India Rapid Rating Open

by Shahid Ahmed - 08/12/2021

Starting out as the third seed of the tournament, GM Laxman R R of Integral Coach Factory, scored an unbeaten 8.0/9, to finish a half point ahead of the competition and win Dr. Ajitkumar Singh Kasliwal and Suneeta Singh Memorial All India Rapid Rating Open. Kartavya Anadkat, IM Dinesh Kumar Sharma, Harish Sharma, IM Himal Gusain, Priyanshu Patil and Chandrajeet Singh Rajawat scored 7.5/9 each. They were placed second to seventh according to the tie-breaks. The tournament had the total prize fund of ₹125000 with the first prize being ₹21000 and a trophy. It took place on 19th and 20th November at The Emerald Heights International School at Indore, Madhya Pradesh. Photo: Nubairshah's youtube channel

Six players finish at 7.5/9

8-year-old Madhvendra Pratap Sharma scored an impressive 7.0/9, including a draw with the top seed and former National Blitz champion, IM D K Sharma. The little boy from Madhya Pradesh secured 9th position after starting out as the 94th seed. He is also the youngest player to finish in top 10 at the event.

Champion - GM Laxman R R 8.0/9

Top 3 finishers (L to R) - 2nd Kartavya Anadkat, 3rd IM Dinesh Kumar Sharma and 1st GM Laxman R R

Laxman scored an unbeaten 8.0/9 to win the tournament and finish a half point ahead of the competition

Check out Laxman's thoughts about his triumph, final moments of his final round game against Arun Kataria, in a short interview conducted by IM Nubairshah Shaikh.

Winner of the tournament - GM Laxman R R | Video: IM Nubairshah Shaikh

First move is being made in presence of Madhya Pradesh's first IM Akshat Khamparia

A giant chess board was present at the venue

Age group prize winners

Dignitaries and guests present at the prize distribution ceremony

Mr. Achal Choudhary, the founder of IPS Academy, Siddharth Singh, Principal of Emerald Heights International School, Vimala Kasliwal, Dr. Sunil Somani, Apoorva Jain, Arpan Jain, Shailendra Pabale, Rajendra Chimnani, Arun Upadhyay, IA Yashpal Arora, IA Sunil Soni, FA Yash Tulapurkar and R D Sharma were present at the closing ceremony.


The tournament was organized by All Indore Chess Association & Sanjay Kasliwal Memorial Chess Academy on 19th and 20th November 2021 at The Emerald Heights International School at Indore, Madhya Pradesh. A total of 221 players including a GM and two IMs took part in the nine-round Swiss league event which had a time control of 15 minutes + 10 seconds increment from move no.1.

Final Standings

Rk.SNoNameTypsexGrFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
13GMLaxman R.R.IND2363Icf8,049,052,545,25
210Anadkat KartavyaIND1871Gujarat7,553,056,044,25
31IMSharma Dinesh K.IND2422Lic7,552,056,545,50
46Sharma HarishIND2060Delhi7,551,554,544,25
52IMGusain HimalIND2394Wr7,551,553,042,25
639Patil PriyanshuIND1485mah7,548,051,040,25
717AGMChandrajeet Singh RajawatIND1743Rajasthan7,545,547,537,75
813AGMSparsh KhandelwalIND1815Chhattisgarh7,056,060,545,25
994Madhvendra Pratap SharmaU09IND1109Madhya Pradesh7,053,558,044,50
1024CMSingh OjasvaIND1647Madhya Pradesh7,045,547,534,50
1128Arun KatariaIND1616Rajasthan7,045,048,534,50
1246Gourav NigamIND1426Madhya Pradesh7,044,045,031,50
1334Vrashank ChouhanIND1536Rajasthan7,043,546,531,50
1435Gupta DineshIND1523Madhya Pradesh7,040,543,533,00
158Pimpalkhare VedantIND1887Maharashtra6,549,050,534,25

Complete standings

Related news:
Ayush Sharma dominates UICC Indore Rapid Rating Open 2024

@ 22/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Boris Savchenko wins 2nd Indore GM Open 2024, Ratnakaran third

@ 20/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Naitik R Mehta clinches 2nd Indore GM Below 2000 Rating Tournament 2024

@ 16/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
2nd Indore GM Open 2024 R7: Goutham outplays Hesham in the endgame

@ 14/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
2nd Indore GM Open 2024 R5-6: Fedorov emerges sole leader, Deepan in pursuit

@ 13/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
2nd Indore GM Open 2024 R4: Deepan subdues Savchenko, gains early sole lead

@ 12/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
2nd Indore GM Open 2024 R2-3: Nandhidhaa makes a perfect start

@ 11/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
2nd Indore GM Open 2024 R1: Daaevik, Saurabh and Vivaan score upsets

@ 10/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
B K Chaurasia wins Madhya Pradesh Civil Service State Tournament 2023

@ 29/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ayush Sharma dominates 1st Scindia Cup Rapid Rating Open 2023

@ 17/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
आयुष शर्मा बने मध्य प्रदेश के तीसरे इंटरनेशनल मास्टर

@ 22/09/2023 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Kartavya Anadkat conquers 5th Kamlaram Welfare Society Rapid Rating Open 2023

@ 21/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Neelash Saha clinches 35th All India Railway Individual Championship 2023 on his debut

@ 12/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Integral Coach Factory dominates 35th All India Railway Team Championship 2023

@ 11/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kishan Kumar victorious at Chess for Everyone Rating Open in Sagar, Madhya Pradesh

@ 12/05/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Laxman triumphs at CMI Tessellate Rapid Rating Open 2023

@ 02/03/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vigneshwaran S wins 1st Prime Chess Academy Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 10/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Laxman R R wins Dr. Ajitkumar Singh Kasliwal & Suneeta Singh Memorial Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 09/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Laxman R R dominates 17th BRDCA Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 11/10/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Laxman and Nitin win GRT Shasun Jain College Rapid and Blitz Rating Open 2022

@ 29/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kaustuv Kundu wins 1st Chandrashekhar Azad Memorial All India Rapid Rating Open

@ 08/03/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
P Shyam Nikhil triumphs Pandit Shiv Kumar Khamparia Memorial Blitz Rating Open 2022

@ 30/01/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Laxman R R wins 1st Vellore Rapid Rating Open 2021

@ 11/01/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Prakhar Bajaj and Cera Dagaria score 100% to win Madhya Pradesh State Sub-Junior 2021 Boys and Girls

@ 06/01/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sriram Jha wins 1st Chhindwara All India Rapid Rating Open

@ 26/12/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Laxman R R wins 1st YSR All India Open 2021

@ 21/12/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Laxman wins All India Rapid Rating at Nagpur

@ 05/11/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Laxman wins Pearl City All India Open and a brand new Maruti Alto 800

@ 13/09/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Laxman wins 4th Triple C All India Open 2019

@ 26/04/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)

Contact Us