chessbase india logo

Ayush Sharma dominates 1st Scindia Cup Rapid Rating Open 2023

by Shahid Ahmed - 17/11/2023

Madhya Pradesh's very own, IM Ayush Sharma scored an unbeaten 8.5/9 to win 1st Scindia Cup Rapid Rating Open 2023. He finished a half point ahead of the competition. Harish Sharma, CM Vaibhav Jayant Raut and Kamad Mishra scored 8/9 each. They were placed second to fourth respectively according to tie-breaks. Harish and Vaibhav remained undefeated. Vaibhav was the sole person to hold Ayush to a draw in the penultimate eighth round. The total prize fund for the tournament was ₹350000. The top three prizes were ₹40000, ₹25000 and ₹15000 along with a trophy each. This was Ayush's second tournament triumph of the year, first after becoming one of the latest International Master of India. Photos: Manas Mukhoti/The Scindia School

Ayush's second triumph of the year

IM Ayush Sharma had a sole lead heading into the final round. Nine players were trailing him by a half point at 7/8 each. Ayush defeated GM Laxman R R to become a clear champion. Harish Sharma and CM Vaibhav Jayant Raut won against Gopalakrishnan G and Sachi Jain respectively to secure second and third place respectively. 9-year-old Madhvendra Pratap Sharma scored an incredible unbeaten 7.5/9 to finish seventh and gained 95.6 Elo rating points in the process. He is the youngest finisher among the top ten.

Champion - IM Ayush Sharma 8.5/9

Runner-up - Harish Sharma 8/9

Second Runner-up - CM Vaibhav Jayant Raut 8/9

IM Ayush Sharma scored an unbeaten 8.5/9 and increased his Elo rating by 49.2 points

Madhya Pradesh's first IM - Akshat Khamparia delivers his speech

9-year-old Madhvendra Pratap Sharma drew against GM Laxman R R in the penultimate round, scored 7.5/9 to finish seventh

Players in action

GM Laxman R R with IM Akshat Khamparia at the Gwalior Fort

View from the Gwalior Fort

IM Akshat Khamparia shares - Scindia school is one of the best schools of India. It has a 500 acre campus Fort. The persons behind the success of the tournament - Mrs. Garima Garg and Mr. Rajesh Chhari, both are chess parents.


A total of 435 players including a GM and an IM took part from various places all over the country in this two-day nine round Rapid Rating Open tournament. It was organized by and at The Scindia School, Fort, Gwalior in Gwalior, Madhya Pradesh on 5th and 6th November 2023. The time control of the event was 25 minutes + 10 seconds increment per move.

Final standings

Rk.SNo NameTypsexFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
FMAyush, SharmaIND2120MP8,553,55753,0008
Sharma, HarishIND1837DEL851,555,548,5007
CMVaibhav, Jayant RautIND2157MAH851,55446,0007
Mishra, KamadU17IND1640MP849,552,547,0008
FMGarv, GaurU17IND1957Har7,5576148,7507
FMAaryan, VarshneyIND2216DL7,5525544,0007
Madhvendra, Pratap SharmaU11IND1653MP7,5515543,7506
Yashpal, AroraIND1752MP7,549,551,541,2507
Kant, RupeshIND2020MP-G7,548,550,540,0007
Vedant, BhardwajIND1616MP7,5465041,2507
Ravi, PalsuleIND1351MP7,5434739,0007
GMLaxman, R.R.IND2217ICF7565942,7506
Sanyam, SrivastavaU13IND1280UP754,559,544,0007
Borkhetariya, Devarsh MU17IND1384GUJ7545842,7506
Daksh, GoyalU15IND1894DEL752,55539,0007
Sachi, JainF15wIND1698DL750,553,538,5007
Kavyansh, AgrawalU17IND1567MP-G749,55338,5007
FMRathore, S.K.S55IND1910MP749,551,537,5007
Arnab, Kumar MullickIND1636TEL7495338,5007
Kanwal, Om PrakashIND1626MP748,552,537,5007



The Scindia School

Related news:
Ayush Sharma dominates UICC Indore Rapid Rating Open 2024

@ 22/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Boris Savchenko wins 2nd Indore GM Open 2024, Ratnakaran third

@ 20/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Naitik R Mehta clinches 2nd Indore GM Below 2000 Rating Tournament 2024

@ 16/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
2nd Indore GM Open 2024 R7: Goutham outplays Hesham in the endgame

@ 14/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
2nd Indore GM Open 2024 R5-6: Fedorov emerges sole leader, Deepan in pursuit

@ 13/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
2nd Indore GM Open 2024 R4: Deepan subdues Savchenko, gains early sole lead

@ 12/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
2nd Indore GM Open 2024 R2-3: Nandhidhaa makes a perfect start

@ 11/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
2nd Indore GM Open 2024 R1: Daaevik, Saurabh and Vivaan score upsets

@ 10/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
B K Chaurasia wins Madhya Pradesh Civil Service State Tournament 2023

@ 29/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
आयुष शर्मा बने मध्य प्रदेश के तीसरे इंटरनेशनल मास्टर

@ 22/09/2023 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Kartavya Anadkat conquers 5th Kamlaram Welfare Society Rapid Rating Open 2023

@ 21/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Neelash Saha clinches 35th All India Railway Individual Championship 2023 on his debut

@ 12/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Integral Coach Factory dominates 35th All India Railway Team Championship 2023

@ 11/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kishan Kumar victorious at Chess for Everyone Rating Open in Sagar, Madhya Pradesh

@ 12/05/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vigneshwaran S wins 1st Prime Chess Academy Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 10/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Laxman R R wins Dr. Ajitkumar Singh Kasliwal & Suneeta Singh Memorial Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 09/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kaustuv Kundu wins 1st Chandrashekhar Azad Memorial All India Rapid Rating Open

@ 08/03/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
P Shyam Nikhil triumphs Pandit Shiv Kumar Khamparia Memorial Blitz Rating Open 2022

@ 30/01/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Prakhar Bajaj and Cera Dagaria score 100% to win Madhya Pradesh State Sub-Junior 2021 Boys and Girls

@ 06/01/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sriram Jha wins 1st Chhindwara All India Rapid Rating Open

@ 26/12/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Laxman R R wins Dr. Ajit Kumar Singh Kasliwal and Suneeta Singh Memorial All India Rapid Rating Open

@ 08/12/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)

Contact Us