chessbase india logo

Subhayan Kundu dominates 3rd DD-DBCA Rating Open 2022

by Shahid Ahmed - 18/11/2022

Top seed of the tournament, Subhayan Kundu scored an unbeaten 8.5/9 to win 3rd DD-DBCA Rating Open 2022. He finished a full point ahead of the competition. Kunal Chatterjee, Anurag Jaiswal and Ritabrata Chakraborty scored 7.5/9 each. They were placed second, third and fourth according to tie-breaks. Fifth place finisher Vivek Sharma was the only one to extract a half point from the eventual champion, Subhayan. The total cash prize fund of the tournament was ₹300000. The top three prizes were ₹40000 and a trophy, ₹30000 and ₹20000 each. Check out the champion's favorite game from the tournament analyzed by himself. Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Subhayan wins two in a row

Subhayan Kundu has been consistently doing well throughout the year. He won Third Saturday 239 Rapid in Serbia. Then he became champion in West Bengal State Rapid Rating and runner-up in State Blitz. He finished as the runner-up in Olympiad Curtain Raiser Rapid Rating Open while he was one of the volunteer for the 44th Chess Olympiad. Before winning this event, he won the West Bengal State Senior Open 2022 with a 100% score 8/8 for the first time in his career. Subhayan finished third in the previous edition of this event earlier this year.

Champion - Subhayan Kundu 8.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed
West Bengal State Rapid, Senior and now 3rd DD-DBCA Rating Open Champion - Subhayan Kundu | Video: ChessBase India

Subhayan scored 8.5/9 and finished a full point ahead of the competition

Runner-up - Kunal Chatterjee 7.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Second Runner-up - Anurag Jaiswal 7.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Subhayan chose his best game of the event as the draw in the penultimate round against Vivek Sharma (1813). Check out his analysis in the video above.

Subhayan Kundu defeated Shaon Chowdhury in the final round to win the tournament | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Kunal - Vivek, Round 9

Position after 34.Qe7

White wants to roll the d-pawn down the board and promote a queen. Find out the best way to stop it. Black played 34...f5 which allowed 35.d6 and White won the game comfortably as Black did not put up enough resistance.

Kunal Chatterjee about to give up his two rooks for a queen against Vivek Sharma in Round 9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Photo Gallery

4th Ritabrata Chakraborty 7.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

5th Vivek Sharma 7/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

6th Shankhodip De 7/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

7th Shaon Chowdhury 7/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

8th Arnab Debnath 7/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

9th Sandip Dey 6.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

10th Aritrya Pal 6.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Best Woman 1st - Samriddhaa Ghosh 6.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Best Woman 2nd - Arhashirsha Biswas 5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Best Woman 3rd - Prapti Dholay 5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Best Veteran 1st - Swapan Mitra 5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Best Veteran 2nd - Bani Kanta Nath 3.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

For more photos, please click here.

You have to give your 100% in whatever you do to become a champion - Tennis Ace Jaidip Mukerjea | Video: ChessBase India

A total of 187 players took part from various parts of the country. The six-day nine-round Swiss league Rating tournament was organized by Dhanuka Dhunseri Dibyendu Barua Chess Academy at the academy premises in Kolkata, West Bengal from 4th to 9th November 2022. The time control of the tournament was 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1.

Final standings

Rk.SNoNameTypsexFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4 
11Subhayan KunduIND23078,553,55955,500
22Chatterjee K.K.S60IND21627,551,55645,750
312Anurag JaiswalIND18127,54852,541,750
413Ritabrata ChakrabortyIND17717,5475139,250
511Sharma VivekIND181375356,542,250
614Shankhodip DeIND17587525641,000
76Shaon ChowdhuryIND18977515540,750
822Arnab DebnathIND165774751,538,750
98Sandip DeyIND18426,55155,536,500
1023Aritrya PalIND16276,547,55133,000
1130Vishal SharmaIND15046,547,550,531,750
129Ghosh SamriddhaawIND18286,54750,534,250
1316Sayantan MukherjeeIND17356,54750,532,250
145Ashutosh KumarIND19066,546,550,534,500
1529Arijit GhoshIND15066,546,550,533,500
1631Chakrabarti TamalIND15026,545,549,533,750
1724Goutam DeS60IND15996,542,54733,750
1828Debapriya MannawIND15076,54245,531,750
1938Ananya BothrawIND1446648,552,529,000
2021Uddipan RoyIND16846485228,000


Related news:
Deep Sengupta wins MCT Rapid Rating Open 2024

@ 24/05/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kaustuv Kundu sensational at 5th DD-DBCA Rating Open 2024

@ 25/04/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Rupam Mukherjee wins Chess for Everyone Rating Open 2024 in West Bengal

@ 09/04/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Srijon Saha victorious at 2nd War of Knights School Rating 2024

@ 08/02/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Biswajit Chatterjee dominates 1st Tracks of Strategy Rating Open 2024 with a perfect 8/8

@ 03/02/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sudhanshu Ranjan triumphs at 2nd Nitai Ghosh Memorial Rating Open 2023

@ 15/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
An Open Rapid tournament on the day of ICC World Cup 2023 Final

@ 03/12/2023 by Mrinalini Dhar (en)
Kaustuv Kundu dominates 4th DD-DBCA Rating Open 2023

@ 10/10/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kaustuv Kundu dominates 1st All India Rating Open 2023 with a perfect 9/9

@ 02/05/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
10-year-old Niladri Banerjee becomes the youngest ever West Bengal State Rapid Rating 2023 champion

@ 09/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Subhayan Kundu dominates Madaripur Festival Deputy Commissioner Rapid and Blitz Rating Open 2023

@ 03/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Srijit Paul dominates 1st War of Knights Rating Open 2022

@ 13/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Praloy Sahoo victorious at 2nd DD-DBCA Rating Open 2022

@ 29/05/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Suvankar Maity clinches 4th Kharagpur Chess Classic 2019-20

@ 08/01/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Prantik Roy wins 21st MCA All Bengal Rapid Rating Open

@ 02/01/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Utsab and Sudipa are the 47th West Bengal State Junior Champions

@ 27/08/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
IM Neelash Saha and Samriddhaa Ghosh win 30th National under-17 2019

@ 09/07/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Praloy and Bristy win 42nd West Bengal State Sub-Junior 2019

@ 16/06/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Neelash and Samriddhaa win 2nd West Bengal State under-17

@ 01/06/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ananya Bothra wins 45th West Bengal State Women's 2019

@ 27/05/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Shankhodip and Rajanya win 31st West Bengal State Under-11 2019

@ 04/05/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Prantik and Neelash win 4th West Bengal State Rapid and Blitz 2019

@ 27/04/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)

Contact Us