chessbase india logo

Biswajit Chatterjee dominates 1st Tracks of Strategy Rating Open 2024 with a perfect 8/8

by Shahid Ahmed - 03/02/2024

Biswajit Chatterjee scored 8/8 to win 1st Tracks of Strategy Rating Open 2024. He finished a full point ahead of the field. Shankhadeep Maity scored an unbeaten 7/8 to finish second. Nine players scored 6.5/8. Out of them, the reigning West Bengal State Rapid champion, Niladri Banerjee was placed third according to tie-breaks. The total prize fund of the tournament was ₹139750 + trophies. The top three prizes were ₹10000 + trophy, ₹9000 and ₹8000 each respectively. This was Biswajit's first tournament triumph since December 2019. Entry fee was only ₹600. The five-day eight round Rating tournament was organized by South Eastern Railways Sports Association, Kharagpur Divsion. Photos: Yuva Chess Academy

Top two remain undefeated

Biswajit Chatterjee was the sole leader 7/7 heading into the final round. Even though a draw was enough for him to become a clear champion, he went on to beat Samrat Ghorai to finish with a 100% score. Shankhadeep Maity won against Manish Sharma to secure second place. Chitrak Naha drew against Niladri Banerjee. Niladri finished third.

Champion - Biswajit Chatterjee 8/8

Runner-up - Shankhadeep Maity 7/8

Second Runner-up - Niladri Banerjee 6.5/8

Biswajit Chatterjee scored 8/8, finished a full point ahead of the competition and gained 30.2 Elo rating points

The DRM, Kharagpur Division, Mr. K R Chaudhary making the inaugural first move, IA Asit Baran Choudhury, Chief Arbiter of the event assisted him

Playeres in action

The tournament hall at South Institute in Paschim Medinipur, West Bengal

For more tournament and prize distribution ceremony photos, click at the respective links.

Interview of Chief Arbiter - IA Asit Baran Choudhury | Video: Yuva Chess Academy

Players, parents and accompanying persons share their experience | Video: Yuva Chess Academy

A total of 261 players took part from various states across the country. The five-day eight round Rating Open tournament was organized by South Eastern Railway Sports Association, Kharagpur Division at South Institute in Paschim Medinipur, West Bengal from 10th to 14th January 2024. The time control of the event was 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment per move.

Final standings

Rk.SNoNameTypsexGrFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
15Biswajit ChatterjeeIND1819SER83943,543,5008
218Shankhadeep MaityIND1507WB735,538,533,7506
39Niladri BanerjeeU13IND1651WB6,541,54535,2506
412Kamal Kishore DebnathIND1564SER6,540,543,531,7506
517Chitrak NahaIND1523WB6,538,54229,7506
628AFMParambrata SarkarU13IND13926,5384130,7506
720ACMRamesh ParmarIND1492HAR6,53739,531,2506
835Oishik MondalU09IND1331WB6,53739,530,7506
914Aritra ChandaIND1540WB6,536,53931,0005
107Rajesh KumarIND1762SER6,53638,531,7506
1142Samrat SutarU13IND12986,5303227,2506
122Samrat GhoraiIND1889WB642,545,531,5006
1310Manish SharmaIND1647JHAR6394229,5005
146Verma SanjayKDSERIND1778SER63842,530,0005
1533Kinjal SardarU15IND134563839,527,5005
1619Shambo DuttaIND1500WB636,540,529,0005
17110Sayan BhattacharjeeIND1069635,53927,0006
1827Swapnanil KarU15IND139763538,527,0006
1915Pallab BalaIND1531WB634,53824,0004
2026Baibhab SinghIND1408ODI634,53725,5006
21113Archishman PandaU13IND1064633,53725,5006
2247Ratul MajumderU15IND1258WB632,532,520,0006
238Himangsu DasIND1673RPM5,541,545,528,7505
2469Rudradeep GhoshU13IND11825,537,539,525,0004
2523Diproneel BarmanU13IND1437WB5,53739,524,7505



Yuva Chess Academy

Tournament Details

Related news:
Deep Sengupta wins MCT Rapid Rating Open 2024

@ 24/05/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kaustuv Kundu sensational at 5th DD-DBCA Rating Open 2024

@ 25/04/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Rupam Mukherjee wins Chess for Everyone Rating Open 2024 in West Bengal

@ 09/04/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Srijon Saha victorious at 2nd War of Knights School Rating 2024

@ 08/02/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sudhanshu Ranjan triumphs at 2nd Nitai Ghosh Memorial Rating Open 2023

@ 15/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
An Open Rapid tournament on the day of ICC World Cup 2023 Final

@ 03/12/2023 by Mrinalini Dhar (en)
Kaustuv Kundu dominates 4th DD-DBCA Rating Open 2023

@ 10/10/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kaustuv Kundu dominates 1st All India Rating Open 2023 with a perfect 9/9

@ 02/05/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
10-year-old Niladri Banerjee becomes the youngest ever West Bengal State Rapid Rating 2023 champion

@ 09/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Srijit Paul dominates 1st War of Knights Rating Open 2022

@ 13/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Subhayan Kundu dominates 3rd DD-DBCA Rating Open 2022

@ 18/11/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Praloy Sahoo victorious at 2nd DD-DBCA Rating Open 2022

@ 29/05/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Suvankar Maity clinches 4th Kharagpur Chess Classic 2019-20

@ 08/01/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Prantik Roy wins 21st MCA All Bengal Rapid Rating Open

@ 02/01/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Utsab and Sudipa are the 47th West Bengal State Junior Champions

@ 27/08/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
IM Neelash Saha and Samriddhaa Ghosh win 30th National under-17 2019

@ 09/07/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Praloy and Bristy win 42nd West Bengal State Sub-Junior 2019

@ 16/06/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Neelash and Samriddhaa win 2nd West Bengal State under-17

@ 01/06/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ananya Bothra wins 45th West Bengal State Women's 2019

@ 27/05/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Shankhodip and Rajanya win 31st West Bengal State Under-11 2019

@ 04/05/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Prantik and Neelash win 4th West Bengal State Rapid and Blitz 2019

@ 27/04/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)

Contact Us