chessbase india logo

Srijon Saha victorious at 2nd War of Knights School Rating 2024

by Shahid Ahmed - 08/02/2024

Srijon Saha scored an unbeaten 7/8 to win 2nd War of Knights School Rating Tournament 2024. Second seeded Srijon finished a half point ahead of the competition. Four players - CM Sankalan Shah, Rishan Debnath, Narendra Agarwal and Mudil Dharewa scored 6.5/8 each. They were placed second to fifth respectively according to tie-breaks. The total cash prize fund of the tournament was ₹200000. The top three prizes were ₹20000, ₹15000 and ₹10000 along with a trophy each. The six-day rating tournament was organized by The Knight Chess Academy from 20th to 25th January 2024 at Swami Vivekananda Institute of Modern Sciences in Sonarpur, West Bengal. This is Srijon's first rating tournament triumph of his career. Photos: Arpita Das/The Knight Chess Academy

B D M International wins the Best School prize

Apart from the individual prizes, there were three prizes for Best School. The eligibility criteria was the top four cumulative score of a school. B D M International won the first prize scoring 21.5/32. Rishan Debnath 6.5/8, Sanjeeban Mandal 5/8, Wriddhish Chakraborty 5/8 and Upayan Dey 5/8 are the members from the winning school. South Point School secured the second prize 20.5/32 and Delhi Public School, Ruby Park third 15.5/32. Total 124 prizes were up for grabs. The entire prize fund was provided by The Knight Chess Academy as they had no sponsor.

Champion - Srijon Saha 7/8

Runner-up - CM Sankalan Shah 6.5/8

Srijon Saha scored an unbeaten 7/8, finished a half point ahead of the field and gained 48.26 Elo rating points

4th Narendra Agarwal 6.5/8

Best School 1st - B D Memorial International 21.5/32

Best School 2nd - South Point 21.5/32

Best School 3rd - Delhi Public School Ruby Park 15.5/32

Players in action

Chief Arbiter - IA Asit Baran Choudhury at the closing ceremony

Trophies for the prize winners

The tournament gate

The tournament hall at Swami Vivekananda Institute of Modern Science in Sonarpur, West Bengal

Thanks to Arpita Das, Director of The Knight Chess Academy, for sharing the photos and info.


A total of 138 players took part from various schools across West Bengal. The six-day eight round Rating tournament was organized by The Knight Chess Academy at Swami Vivekananda Institute of Modern Science in Sonarpur, West Bengal from 20th to 25th January 2024. The time control of the event was 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment.

Replay all available games

Final standings

Rk.SNoNameTypsexGrFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
12Srijon SahaU15IND1616Gd Goenka Public School Dakshineswa739,542,535,5006
21CMSankalan ShahIND1941The Modern Academy6,5414534,7505
34Rishan DebnathU15IND1524B D M International6,54043,534,0005
47Narendra AgarwalU11IND1413Calcutta Boys' School6,53740,531,5006
58Mudil DharewaU11IND1411La Martiniere For Boys6,532,536,530,0006
66Ishan SinhaIND1487South Point School6404430,5006
73Arhashirsha BiswasF13wWIND1598Kv Odf Dumdum6373927,2505
810Maitreyi MondalF13wWIND1399Sudhir Memorial Institute636,54028,5006
953Sayan BhattacharjeeIND1069Dum Dum Baidyanath Institution6353928,5006
1011Swapnanil KarU15IND1397D.A.V Public School Barrackpor6353927,7504
1120Sangbit GhoshU13IND1255The Future Foundation School6333626,7505
1222Shubhomit BanerjeeU15IND1235Sinthi Ramkrishna Sangha Vidya5,5384125,5005
1331Somraj DeyU15IND1188Pathabhavan5,536,538,523,5005
1415Raunak SarkarU15IND1320South Point School5,5363925,0004
1535Oiendrila BhattacharyaF15wWIND1157Surah Kanya Vidyalaya5,5363923,5005
1614Tushar BhunyaIND1329The Scottish Church Collegiate5,53538,524,0005
1712Kathakali DeyF15wWIND1378Jaffarpur Charaktala Girls Hit5,53537,524,2505
1829Shlok BharU11IND1193St Claret School Barrackpore5,534,53622,5005
1932Rudradeep GhoshU13IND1182Scottish Church Collegiate school5,5343618,5005
2025Sharanyak DasU15IND1213St. Monfort's Senior Secondary5,533,53622,5005



Official site

Related news:
Kaustuv Kundu sensational at 5th DD-DBCA Rating Open 2024

@ 25/04/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Rupam Mukherjee wins Chess for Everyone Rating Open 2024 in West Bengal

@ 09/04/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Biswajit Chatterjee dominates 1st Tracks of Strategy Rating Open 2024 with a perfect 8/8

@ 03/02/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sudhanshu Ranjan triumphs at 2nd Nitai Ghosh Memorial Rating Open 2023

@ 15/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
An Open Rapid tournament on the day of ICC World Cup 2023 Final

@ 03/12/2023 by Mrinalini Dhar (en)
Kaustuv Kundu dominates 4th DD-DBCA Rating Open 2023

@ 10/10/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kaustuv Kundu dominates 1st All India Rating Open 2023 with a perfect 9/9

@ 02/05/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
10-year-old Niladri Banerjee becomes the youngest ever West Bengal State Rapid Rating 2023 champion

@ 09/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Srijit Paul dominates 1st War of Knights Rating Open 2022

@ 13/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Subhayan Kundu dominates 3rd DD-DBCA Rating Open 2022

@ 18/11/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Praloy Sahoo victorious at 2nd DD-DBCA Rating Open 2022

@ 29/05/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Suvankar Maity clinches 4th Kharagpur Chess Classic 2019-20

@ 08/01/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Prantik Roy wins 21st MCA All Bengal Rapid Rating Open

@ 02/01/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Utsab and Sudipa are the 47th West Bengal State Junior Champions

@ 27/08/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
IM Neelash Saha and Samriddhaa Ghosh win 30th National under-17 2019

@ 09/07/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Praloy and Bristy win 42nd West Bengal State Sub-Junior 2019

@ 16/06/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Neelash and Samriddhaa win 2nd West Bengal State under-17

@ 01/06/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ananya Bothra wins 45th West Bengal State Women's 2019

@ 27/05/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Shankhodip and Rajanya win 31st West Bengal State Under-11 2019

@ 04/05/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Prantik and Neelash win 4th West Bengal State Rapid and Blitz 2019

@ 27/04/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)

Contact Us