chessbase india logo

Vrashank Chouhan and Dakshita Kumawat are Rajasthan State Junior Under-19 Open and Girls 2023 Champions

by Shahid Ahmed - 23/08/2023

Vrashank Chouhan (Udaipur), Harshvardhan Swami (Bikaner), Aayush Bhojak (Udaipur) and Aman Balana (Ganganagar) scored 7/8 each at Rajasthan State Junior Under-19 Rating 2023 in Open section. Former National Junior champion, Vrashank won the tournament on tie-breaks. Harshvardhan, Aayush and Aman were placed second to fourth respectively. In the Girls section, the defending State Junior Girls champion, Dakshita Kumawat (Udaipur) scored an unbeaten 7.5/8 to become the champion once again. She finished a staggering 1.5 points ahead of the field. Four girls - Nandini Purohit (Bhilwara), Kiyana Parihar (Udaipur), Aashi Upadhyay (Jaipur) and Naavya Rathi (Jodhpur) scored 6/8 each. They secured second to fifth place respectively. Total prize fund was ₹30000. The top three prizes were ₹7000, ₹5500 and ₹4500 along with a trophy each respectively. Photos: IA NI Vikas Sahu/Chess in Lakecity

Top seeds prevail

Vrashank Chouhan and Aayush Bhojak, both from Udaipur, were the coleaders 6.5/7 each, heading into the final round. They drew their game against each other, secured first and third place respectively according to tie-breaks. Aman Balana (Ganganagar) defeated Pranay Chordia (Udaipur) and Siddhant Chaturvedi (Jaipur) lost to Harshvardhan Swami (Bikaner). Harshvardhan secured second place and Aman fourth. In the Girls section, the defending champion and the top seed, Dakshita Kumawat (Udaipur) won the tournament with a round to spare 7/7. She drew against Nandini Purohit (Bhilwara) in the final round. Nandini secured second place. 7-year-old Kiyana Parihar (Udaipur) defeated Aayat Bazaz (Udaipur) to finish third.

Top 4 (L to R) - IA NI Vikas Sahu, 2nd Harshvardhan Swami 7/8, 4th Aman Balana 7/8, 3rd Aayush Bhojak 7/8, 1st Vrashank Chouhan 7/8, 3rd Kiyana Parihar 6/8, 1st Dakshita Kumawat 7.5/8, 2nd Nandini Purohit, 4th Aashi Upadhyay 6/8 and IA Neelesh Kumawat

Inaugural first moves being made

The inauguration ceremony took plcae on 28th July in presence of Chief Guest - Tushar Mehta, Chief Patron, Chess in Lakecity, Jayendra Chaturvedi - RCA, Rajeev Bhardwaj  -President Chess in Lakecity. Other dignitaries present were - Lovedeep Sharma, Coordinator, Organizing Secretary, IA NI Vikas Sahu, Member, Chess in School - AICF, IA FI Rajendra Teli, Vice President RCA, Manish Shirmali, FA Daksh Jain, Chief Arbiter in Open, FA Monika Sahu, Chief Arbiter in Girls, and IA NI Neelesh Kumawat, Anti-Cheating Arbiter.

Players in action

Group photo of all prize winners

The prizes were distributed by Jayant Advani, son of L K Advani, former Deputy Prime Minister, Uddhav Podar, MD, Bhumika Enterprises, Ashok Bhargava, Secretary, Rajasthan State Chess Association, Tushar Mehta, Chief Patron Lakecity, Krishna Gopal Sharma, Vice President, IA FI Rajendra Teli, Vice President, RCA, FA Daksh Jain, Chief Arbiter in Open, FA Monika Sahu, Chief Arbiter in Girls, and IA NI Neelesh Kumawat, Anti-Cheating  Arbiter.


A total of 154 players in Open and 45 in Girls section took part in this three-day eight round Swiss-league Under-19 Rating tournament which was organized by Chess in Lakecity at Urban Square Mall in Udaipur, Rajasthan from 28th to 30th July 2023. The time control of the event was 60 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1.

Final standings in Open

Rk.SNoNameTypsexFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
11Vrashank, ChouhanIND2049Udaipur74144,534,50
25Harshvardhan, SwamiIND1562Bikaner7394235,50
37Aayush, BhojakIND1551Udaipur737,54034,25
48Aman, BalanaIND1547Ganganagar73741,534,50
517Alokik, MaheshwariU11IND1319Bhilwara6,53739,530,75
63Pranay, ChordiaIND1604Udaipur641,54532,00
712Geet, JainIND1402Udaipur63842,529,25
89Siddhant, ChaturvediU13IND1503Jaipur6384027,50
94Raj, KapoorIND1592Jaipur637,54230,00
102Ujjwal, DeepIND1673Jaipur6373925,50


Final standings in Girls

Rk.SNoNameTypsexFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
11Dakshita, KumawatwIND1649Udaipur7,53740,537,50
25Nandini, PurohitU13wIND1117Bhilwara6394331,25
34Kiyana, PariharU09wIND1156Udaipur6384127,50
42Aashi, UpadhyaywIND1503Jaipur636,540,524,50
59Naavya, RathiU13wIND1043Jodhpur633,536,526,50
637Sankhla, AnanyaU09wIND0Bikaner5,534,538,523,75
77Priya, SankhlawIND1073Bikaner5,530,533,522,50
83Aaradhya, UpadhyayU09wIND1274Bhilwara537,540,522,00
98Yasha, KalwaniU13wIND1069Jodhpur5374021,50
1041Tejashwini Sharma,U13wIND0Bhilwara53333,516,00