chessbase india logo

Rakesh Kumar Jena victorious at Summer Cup Rating Open 2022

by Shahid Ahmed - 11/07/2022

Starting out as the top seed, IM Rakesh Kumar Jena scored an unbeaten 6.5/7. Second seeded, Ritviz Parab and 12-year-old Jihaan Tejas Shah also scored the same. However, Rakesh won the tournament due to better tie-break score. Ritviz and Jihaan had to settle for second and third place respectively. The tournament had to be truncated by two rounds due to Section 144 getting imposed on the state on 29th June. Total prize fund of the tournament was ₹1101000. Top three prizes were ₹111000, ₹71000 and ₹41000 along with a trophy each. The tournament was held between 26th and 29th June 2022 at Udaipur, Rajasthan.

Top two seeds finish at the top

12-year-old Jihaan Tejas Shah scored an impressive 6.5/7. He gained a massive 104.8 Elo rating points and won the first prize of ₹101000 in Rating category 1300-1599. The boy from Gujarat is the youngest player to finish in top 10. 14-year-old Medhansh Saxena scored an unbeaten 6/7. He is the only other teenager to make a top ten finish at sixth place.

Champion - IM Rakesh Kumar Jena 6.5/7

IM Rakesh Kumar Jena scored an unbeaten 6.5/7, drew with the eventual runner-up Ritviz Parab in the final round

Runner-up - Ritviz Parab 6.5/7 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Second Runner-up - Jihan Tejas Shah 6.5/7 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Inauguration Ceremony in progress | Photo: IA FI Rajendra Teli/Chess in Lakecity

Inaugural first move is being made | Photo: IA FI Rajendra Teli/Chess in Lakecity

The tournament was inaugurated by District Collector of Udaipur. IAS Tara Chand Meena and Shakeel Hussain, District Sports Officer, Udaipur. FA FT Praful Zaveri, Indian Chess School founder, Rajiv Bharadwaj, President Chess In Lakecity, IA FT Rajendra Teli, Chief Arbiter and IA NI Vikas Sahu, Chess In Lakecity.

The tournament hall | Photo: IA FI Rajendra Teli/Chess in Lakecity

Thanks to IA FT Rajendra Teli and IA NI Vikas Sahu, Chess in Lakecity for providing photos and information about the tournament.


A total of 380 players including two IMs took part in this four-day seven round Classical Rating tournament. The event was organized by Chess in Lakecity in Udaipur, Rajasthan from 26th to 29th June 2022. Due to the imposition of Section 144 from 29th June in Rajasthan state, as per the guidelines of local administration, last two rounds (8th and 9th) were cancelled. Prizes were declared as per the standings after the seventh round. The time control of the event was 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment.

Final standings

Rk.SNo NameTypsexGrFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
IMRakesh Kumar JenaIND2331Orrisa6,531,034,531,25
Ritviz ParabIND2329Goa6,530,033,029,75
Jihan Tejas ShahU13IND1589Gujarat6,528,031,528,50
Vrandesh ParekhIND1808Gujarat6,032,035,529,50
Yatin KumarIND1744Delhi6,031,534,027,50
Medhansh SaxenaU15IND1517Uttar pradesh6,028,532,026,50
Dishank Sachin BajajIND1625Maharashtra6,028,531,526,25
Babel T DivyanshuIND1712Rajasthan-Lc6,028,531,025,75
Prakash RamIND2046Punjab6,027,531,026,00
Sailesh RIND1507Tamil Nadu6,027,030,025,25
Rajat YadavIND1244Madhya Pradesh6,026,028,023,25
Akshat NegiIND1488Delhi6,024,527,023,50
IMSangma RahulIND2209Indian Railways5,531,035,527,00
Karthikeyan GIND1305Tamil Nadu5,530,532,024,50
Arshpreet SinghU13IND1586Haryana5,529,031,522,25
Anurag MalikIND1573Haryana5,528,031,022,25
Bhawesh PandiyarIND1568Rajasthan-Lc5,527,529,521,00
Shanmukha PulliIND1562Telagana5,526,529,521,25
Shah Moxit JIND1707Gujarat5,526,029,022,00
Pathak Anshu KrIND1596Uttar Pradesh5,526,028,520,50
Sunyasakta SatpathywIND1779Orrisa5,525,028,021,00
FMSingh Arvinder PreetIND2042Punjab5,031,034,021,75
Bidkar NikhilIND1604Maharashtra5,030,533,020,50
Sankalp AroraIND1572Uttar Pradesh5,029,533,521,50
Rituraj TamuliIND1514Assam5,029,031,520,50
Soni Deepak RIND1482Maharashtra5,029,031,520,25
Gajendra SinghIND1886LIC5,028,532,022,25
Sandeep ChitkaraIND1733Delhi5,028,532,020,50
Ahmad JunaidIND1965Uttar Pradesh5,028,531,521,50
Darsh KansalIND1705Madhya Pradesh5,028,031,020,00
Sahil BheronIND1553Haryana5,028,030,521,00
Samarth Sreeni WarrierU11IND1250Gujarat5,027,529,518,25
Gada OmIND1559Maharashtra5,027,030,520,00
Anil ShivpuriS60IND1504Delhi5,027,030,519,75
Gaurav SharmaIND1463Delhi5,027,030,020,00


Related news:
Saikat Nath wins 3rd Summer Cup Below 1800 Rating Tournament 2024

@ 03/07/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Badrinath wins 1st Jaipur Rating Open 2024

@ 22/06/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
13-year-old Vatsal Singla clinches 6th Holi Cup Rating Open 2024

@ 11/04/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Yash Bharadia dominates 1st Dhundhadh Cup Rapid Rating Open 2024 with a 100% score

@ 17/02/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Arpit Pandey wins Winter Cup Classical Below 1600 Rating Lakecity Tournament 2023

@ 08/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Arvinder Preet Singh wins 8th N L Pandiyar Memorial Rating Open 2023

@ 26/10/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vrashank Chouhan and Dakshita Kumawat are Rajasthan State Junior Under-19 Open and Girls 2023 Champions

@ 23/08/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ojasya Saxena dominates Summer Cup Classical Below 1600 Rating Tournament 2023

@ 09/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Grandmaster Chess Training Festival at Udaipur by Kingdom of Chess

@ 12/06/2023 by Chandrajeet Rajawat (en)
Chakravarthi Reddy dominates 5th Holi Cup Rating Open 2023

@ 04/05/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Harshit Singh wins VKV Rating Open 2023

@ 24/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Aman Balana wins Winter Cup Below 1600 Rating Lakecity Tournament 2022

@ 10/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kartavya Anadkat bags the first prize at 7th N L Pandiyar Rating Open 2022

@ 28/10/2022 by Sneha Tiwari (en)
52-year-old Harminder Singh wins Below 1600 Rating at Udaipur

@ 28/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Garv Gaur wins Holi Cup Lakecity Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 06/04/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Dhruv and Dakshita win ARCA State under-19

@ 29/08/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sonakshi Rathore wins Rajasthan State Senior Open for a record third time

@ 26/08/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)

Contact Us