chessbase india logo

Ojasya Saxena dominates Summer Cup Classical Below 1600 Rating Tournament 2023

by Shahid Ahmed - 09/07/2023

13-year-old Ojasya Saxena (UP) scored an unbeaten 8.5/9 to win Summer Cup Below 1600 Rating Tournament 2023. He finished a half point ahead of the field. Sujeet Kumar Chaudhari (UP) and Pallav Maheshwari (RAJ) scored 8/9 each. They were placed second and third respectively according to tie-breaks. The total prize fund of the tournament was ₹1500000. The top three prizes were ₹111000, ₹71000 and ₹41000 along with a trophy each respectively. There were three prizes worth ₹100000 and above. The tournament was organized by Chess in Lakecity from 16th to 18th June 2023 at Orbit Resort in Udaipur, Rajasthan. This was Ojasya's first tournament triumph of his nascent career. Photos: IA Vikas Sahu/Chess in Lakecity

Ojasya's first tournament triumph

103rd seeded Ojasya Saxena (UP) was playing his tenth over-the-board tournament, nine of them were rated event. The teenager scored 7.5/8 and had a half point lead heading into the final round. Six players were trailing him at 7/8 each. He defeated Samarth Sreeni Warrier (GUJ) in the final round to become a clear champion. Sujeet Kumar Chaudari (UP) and Pallav Maheshwari (RAJ) defeated Habib Qureshi Raaz (MP) and Kishore S M (TN) respectively to finish at second and third place with a score of 8/9 each. 

Champion - Ojasya Saxena 8.5/9

Rating Category 1200-1399: 1st M Tulasi Ram Kumar 7.5/9

Rating Category 1000-1199: 1st Saurabh Somvanshi 7/9

Ojasya Saxena scored an unbeaten 8.5/9, gained 155.2 Elo rating points

Inauguration Ceremony

The tournament was inaugurated by Rajendra Bhatt, IAS, Divisional Commissioner, in presence of IA Vikas Sahu, Secretary, Chess in Lakecity, Executive Member, Rajasthan Chess Association, Rajeev Bhardwaj, President CIL, Tushar Mehta, Chief Patron, CIL, IA Sunil Soni, Sanjeev Bhardwaj, Org. Chairman and FA Neelesh Kumawat.

The tournament hall at Orbit Resort in Udaipur, Rajasthan

12-year-old Mitansh Sahu, son of the tournament organizer, IA Vikas Sahu, scored 6/9, gained 93.2 Elo rating points and received seventh prize in Rating category 1000-1199

All prize winners

Standing at the back (L to R): IA Rajendra Teli, VP Rajasthan Chess Association, Rajeev Bhardwaj. President CIL, Prem Singh Shkatawat, Sanjeev Bhardwaj, Org. Chairman, CP Bhatt Sahab, Pankaj Bhardwaj, Vipin Lodha, FA Neelesh Kumawat and Bhawesh Pandiyar.

The arbiters team

Thanks to the tournament organizer, IA Vikas Sahu, for sharing the photos and info about event.


A total of 561 players took part from various states across the country and one from South Africa and USA each in this three-day nine-round Swiss League Below 1600 Rating tournament. The event was organized by Chess in Lakecity at Orbit Resort in Udaipur, Rajasthan from 16th and 18th June 2023. The time control of the event was 30 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1.

Final standings

Rk.SNoNameTypsexFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
1103Ojasya, SaxenaIND1336Uttar Pradesh8,549,551,548,0008
213Sujeet, Kumar ChaudhariIND1506Uttar Pradesh85053,546,5007
323Pallav, MaheshwariIND1471Rajasthan845,55044,5008
410Kavitha, P LwIND1510Tamil Nadu7,5495341,0007
5193M Tulasi Ram, KumarIND1238Telangana7,54950,540,2506
67Kabnurakar, RushikeshIND1516Maharashtra7,54548,540,0007
7142Kishore, S MIND1296Tamil Nadu75457,541,2506
85Saikat, NathIND1522Delhi75255,541,2505
936Habib, Qureshi RaazS60IND1430Madhya Pradesh751,55639,5007
1061Ravi, PalsuleIND1384Madhya Pradesh7505440,2505
118Samarth, Sreeni WarrierU11IND1514Gujarat749,553,540,0007
1241Bhanushali, KunjIND1412Maharashtra74953,540,7505
1382Aadish, ShahU13IND1359Gujarat74953,539,0005
14105Akash, SrivastavIND1334Uttar Pradesh74952,538,7506
15159Kush, Ajay AgarwalIND1275Maharashtra74952,538,5006
16236Saurabh, SomvanshiIND1199Uttar Pradesh7495137,7506
1771Singhal, KeshavIND1370Uttar Pradesh748,552,539,5006
18127Rubesh, CIND1308Tamil Nadu748,552,538,7505
19113Chourasiya, HemantIND1321Madhya Pradesh74851,536,7506
2088Dhinesh, KannanIND1354Tamil Nadu747,55136,5006
2116Bajpai, AnilIND1495Uttar Pradesh7475239,0007
22120Pratish, RajIND1313West Bengal746,55038,7505
2320Yogesh, LoganathanIND1481Tamil Nadu7454936,5007
2452Harshit, DawarIND1395Madhya Pradesh7454936,2506
2542Manish, KumarIND1409Gujarat744,548,536,5006
2634Pawar, SohumIND1442Maharashtra744,548,536,0006
2737AIMGopal, Krishna MaheshwariIND1426Uttar Pradesh74447,534,5006
284AFMHariom, SolankiIND1524Delhi74446,535,5007
2938Mohd, Tabseer AlamIND1421Bihar74346,536,0006
30185Indrajeet, TomarIND1246Guajrat742,54533,0007


Related news:
13-year-old Vatsal Singla clinches 6th Holi Cup Rating Open 2024

@ 11/04/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Yash Bharadia dominates 1st Dhundhadh Cup Rapid Rating Open 2024 with a 100% score

@ 17/02/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Arpit Pandey wins Winter Cup Classical Below 1600 Rating Lakecity Tournament 2023

@ 08/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Arvinder Preet Singh wins 8th N L Pandiyar Memorial Rating Open 2023

@ 26/10/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vrashank Chouhan and Dakshita Kumawat are Rajasthan State Junior Under-19 Open and Girls 2023 Champions

@ 23/08/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Grandmaster Chess Training Festival at Udaipur by Kingdom of Chess

@ 12/06/2023 by Chandrajeet Rajawat (en)
Chakravarthi Reddy dominates 5th Holi Cup Rating Open 2023

@ 04/05/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Harshit Singh wins VKV Rating Open 2023

@ 24/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Aman Balana wins Winter Cup Below 1600 Rating Lakecity Tournament 2022

@ 10/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kartavya Anadkat bags the first prize at 7th N L Pandiyar Rating Open 2022

@ 28/10/2022 by Sneha Tiwari (en)
52-year-old Harminder Singh wins Below 1600 Rating at Udaipur

@ 28/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Rakesh Kumar Jena victorious at Summer Cup Rating Open 2022

@ 11/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Garv Gaur wins Holi Cup Lakecity Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 06/04/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Dhruv and Dakshita win ARCA State under-19

@ 29/08/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sonakshi Rathore wins Rajasthan State Senior Open for a record third time

@ 26/08/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)

Contact Us