chessbase india logo

Himal Gusain dominates Surya Trophy Rating Open 2022

by Shahid Ahmed - 22/01/2023

Top seed of the tournament, IM Himal Gusain scored a staggering 9.5/10 to win Surya Trophy Rating Open 2022. He finished a full point ahead of the field. 10-year-old Aansh Nandan Nerurkar scored 8.5/10 to finish second. His sole loss of the event was against the eventual champion, Himal. IM Rahul Sangma scored 8/10 to finish third. None of the podium finishers needed tie-break to determine their final rank. The total prize fund of the tournament was ₹500000. The top three prizes were ₹75000, ₹50000 and ₹25000 along with a trophy each. The six-day ten-round Swiss League Rating tournament was organized by Divyam Foundation at Hotel Surya, Vadodara, Gujarat. Photo: Pruthviraj Leuva

10-year-old Aansh impresses

IM Himal Gusain of RSPB won his first tournament of the year 2023 on the very first day, 1st January. He also finished third at 1st Bishan Singh ji Memorial Rating Open 2023. Maharashtra's 10-year-old Aansh Nandan Nerurkar delivered his best performance by scoring an impressive 8.5/10 to finish second. He also gained a whopping 120 Elo rating points in the process.

Champion - IM Himal Gusain 9.5/10 | Photo: Pruthviraj Leuva

Runner-up - Aansh Nandan Nerurkar 8.5/10 | Photo: Pruthviraj Leuva

Second Runner-up - IM Rahul Sangma 8/10 | Photo: Pruthviraj Leuva

Top three (L to R) - 3rd IM Rahul Sangma, 1st IM Himal Gusain and 2nd Aansh Nandan Nerurkar | Photo: Pruthviraj Leuva

IM Himal Gusain scored an unbeaten 9.5/10, started with a fantastic 8/8 and faced both podium finishers

Top boards in action | Photo: Pruthviraj Leuva

Top visually challenged player Ashvin Makwana and... | Photo: Pruthviraj Leuva

...few other visually challenged players took part | Photo: Pruthviraj Leuva

A differently abled player also participated | Photo: Pruthviraj Leuva

The tournament hall at Hotel Surya, Vadodara, Gujarat | Photo: Pruthviraj Leuva

The trophies for the prize winners | Photo: Pruthviraj Leuva

All prize winners | Photo: Pruthviraj Leuva

The organizer and arbiters team | Photo: Pruthviraj Leuva

A total of 118 players including two IMs from various states across the country and one from Uganda and USA took part in this event. The tournament was organized by Divyam Foundationn from 27th December 2022 to 1st January 2023 at Hotel Surya, Vadodara, Gujarat. The ten-round Swiss league Rating tournament had a time control of 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment.

Final standings

Rk.SNo NameTypsexFEDRtgIClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 Krtg+/-
IMGusain HimalIND2381RLYS9,5636763,500910-0,7
Aansh Nandan NerurkarU10IND16918,55862,550,750840120
IMSangma RahulIND2210RLYS860,56651,000710-8,7
ACMIyer ArvindU15IND16587,56165,546,750640132,4
Majumder ShrayanIND18217,5586344,7507206,4
Akshat NegiIND16067,5545641,50072039,8
Dishank Sachin BajajIND1696760,565,542,25064016
Sanjay ChhabraIND167676064,540,750620-1,8
AGMBhogal RupeshIND167675962,538,500720-4,8
Sinha Santosh KumarIND1923GJ756,56140,250620-29
Vedant Rupeshbhai VarasadaU12IND1301GJ754,55934,750640176,4
AGMPrashanth J NaikIND16986,560,565,539,00052017,2
Jihan Tejas ShahU15IND1860GJ6,558,563,537,250640-72,8
Ashutosh KumarIND18806,558,56337,000520-26
Daksh GoyalU15IND17416,55862,537,750540-21,2
Abhinav ChauhanIND14956,557,561,538,25062040,6
Trivedi Karan RIND1936GJ6,5576137,500520-45
Mrityunjay KumarIND17066,556,56136,250520-10,2
Singla AaryanU15IND15296,556,56036,25054074,8
Sahil BheronIND16226,555,55937,2506200,8


Related news:
Himal Gusain convincingly clinches 3rd Tours Open 2024

@ 30/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain victorious at 16th Marseille International Festival 2023

@ 18/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain dominates 1st Saint-Macaire Autumn Open 2023

@ 04/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain dominates 1st G H Raisoni Memorial Pune Rapid Rating Open 2023

@ 22/10/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain clinches 9th Ciudad de Oviedo Open 2023

@ 13/08/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain wins 14th Vaujany Open 2023

@ 31/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
14-year-old Arvind Iyer is the winner of Surya Trophy Rapid Rating Open 2023

@ 05/03/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain wins 19th Caspian Cup 2023, Kushagra Mohan third

@ 28/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
उज्बेकिस्तान के ओर्टिक बने गुजरात इंटरनेशनल के विजेता,भारत के नीलोत्पल और अनुज भी शीर्ष 3 में

@ 08/04/2022 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Nigmatov Ortik clinches 3rd Gujarat GM Open 2022, Neelotpal second and Anuj third

@ 08/04/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Neelotpal or Ortik - Who will win 3rd Gujarat GM Open?

@ 07/04/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
3rd Gujarat GM Open R8: Neelotpal neutralizes Neuris, takes sole lead

@ 06/04/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
गुजरात इंटरनेशनल : नीलोत्पल दास को एकल बढ़त

@ 05/04/2022 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
3rd Gujarat GM Open R7: Neelotpal, Ortik and Srihari in a three-way lead

@ 05/04/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
3rd Gujarat GM Open R4: 58-year-old Anilkumar calls his opponent's bluff

@ 03/04/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
3rd Gujarat GM Open R2-3: Anup Deshmukh scores a sublime victory

@ 02/04/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
3rd Gujarat GM Open R1: Akshit Kacha swindles IM Shahil Dey

@ 01/04/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mrudul Dehankar wins AICF Gujarat WGM

@ 20/11/2019 by Satanick Mukhuty (en)
मृदुल देहांकर बनी महिला ग्रांडमास्टर टूर्नामेंट विजेता

@ 20/11/2019 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
AICF Gujarat WGM: Aakanksha and Mrudul leads

@ 17/11/2019 by Satanick Mukhuty (en)
Six Indians in the hunt for norms at AICF Gujarat WGM Tournament

@ 13/11/2019 by Satanick Mukhuty (en)
रोजुम इवान ने जीता गुजरात इंटरनेशनल का खिताब

@ 03/10/2019 by Nitesh srivastava (hi)
Ivan Rozum wins 2nd Gujarat International Grandmaster Open

@ 30/09/2019 by Satanick Mukhuty (en)
Gujarat GM R09: IM Neelash Saha beats third Grandmaster in a row

@ 29/09/2019 by Satanick Mukhuty (en)
Gujarat GM R08: Ivan Rozum dashes ahead, Saptarshi Roy fights back

@ 28/09/2019 by Satanick Mukhuty (en)
Gujarat GM R07: Ivan Rozum elbows Saptarshi Roy out of the lead

@ 27/09/2019 by Satanick Mukhuty (en)
गुजरात इंटरनेशनल: रोजूम इवान, सप्तऋषि संयुक्त बढ़त पर

@ 26/09/2019 by Nitesh sriastava (hi)
Gujarat GM R05+06: Ivan Rozum and Saptarshi Roy take lead

@ 26/09/2019 by Satanick Mukhuty (en)
Gujarat GM R04: Rathnakaran K outwits Neelotpal Das in a double-edged Vienna

@ 25/09/2019 by Satanick Mukhuty (en)
Gujarat GM R02+03: Deepan Chakkravarthy slips down the rank list

@ 24/09/2019 by Satanick Mukhuty (en)
The 2nd Gujarat International Open begins in Ahmedabad

@ 23/09/2019 by Satanick Mukhuty (en)
Vishy Anand versus Gujarat

@ 08/09/2019 by Sagar Shah (en)
IM Praveen Kumar wins 2nd RCPA Open 2019

@ 21/08/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
गुजरात इंटरनेशनल - मार्टिन नें जीता खिताब ,विघनेश उपविजेता !

@ 14/10/2018 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
गुजरात इंटरनेशनल - स्टेनी को विघनेश का झटका , गरबा के रंग में रंगे खिलाड़ी

@ 11/10/2018 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Gujarat GM Open R8: Vignesh catches Stany in the lead!

@ 10/10/2018 by Aditya Pai (en)
Gujarat GM Open R6+7: Stany the unstoppable

@ 09/10/2018 by Aditya Pai (en)
गुजरात इंटरनेशनल - हर्षा बने ग्रांड मास्टर , स्टेनी को सयुंक्त बढ़त

@ 09/10/2018 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Gujarat GM Open 2018 R5: GA Stany leads with Levon Babujian

@ 08/10/2018 by Aditya Pai (en)
Gujarat Open 2018 Round 3+4: Harsha Bharathakoti becomes India's 56th GM!

@ 07/10/2018 by Aditya Pai (en)
The Gujarat Open begins!

@ 07/10/2018 by Aditya Pai (en)

Contact Us