chessbase india logo

3rd Gujarat GM Open R4: 58-year-old Anilkumar calls his opponent's bluff

by Shahid Ahmed - 03/04/2022

IM Nitin S, GM Neelotpal Das, Anilkumar OT and IM Srihari L R are the four Indians among eight leaders 4.0/4 at 3rd Gujarat International GM Open 2022. The veteran from Kerala called his opponent IM Himal Gusain's bluff early in the opening and he could not recover for the rest of the game. Anilkumar will face Nitin in the fifth round. Neelotpal and Srihari scored relatively easier wins compared to Nitin. Kaustuv Kundu was completely winning for the better part of the game against Adham Fawzy. FM Suyog Wagh had a long grueling draw with Paraguay no.1 GM Neuris Delgado Ramirez. Round 5 starts today at 9:30 a.m. IST. Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Vrushali Deodhar beats Anuj Shrivatri

Vrushali Umesh Deodhar scored a big win over IM Anuj Shrivatri. Gaurav Rajesh Zagade and CM Ojasva Singh drew with GM Stany G A and GM Sandipan Chanda each respectively.

Anilkumar OT is a very strong veteran whose rating does not show his actual strength | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Anilkumar - Himal: 1-0

IM Himal Gusain (2408) went for a dubious sacrifice early in the opening against Anilkumar O T (1915).

Position after 6...Bf5

The Bf5 idea works only when the knights are at f3 and f6 to prevent the king from escaping via f3 and also to not allow Qxd5. 6...Bf5 turned out to be premature which made it safer for White to take it 7.Qxf5. Now 7...Qxb2 is not dangerous as 8.Qxd5 Qxa1 is met by 9.Qb5. If Black decides to take away castling rights 8...Qc1+ 9.Ke2 Qb2+ and the king runs away 10.Kf3. Black managed to regain material 7...e5 8.Nd2 g6 9.Qc2 exf4 10.exf4. The price was certainly more than a pawn. Soon Black lost an exchange and could not recover for the rest of the game.

Adham - Kaustuv: 0.5-0.5

Kaustuv Kundu (2281) was winning for the better part of the game against GM Adham Fawzy (EGY, 2490).

Position after 32.Bf6

32...cxd3 33.Bxd8 is how the game continued which is also winning for Black. Find out a better continuation for Black which leaves his opponent little chance to save the game.

Kaustuv was completely winning against GM Adham Fawzy (EGY) for the majority of the game | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Both FM Suyog Wagh and Paraguay no.1 GM Neuris Delgado Ramirez had chances against each other | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

FM Sekar B - IM Vignesh N R: 0.5-0.5 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Vrashank Chouhan - IM Diego Del Rey (ESP): 0.5-0.5 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

GM Harsha Bharathakoti - FM Kashish Manoj Jain: 0.5-0.5 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

CM Ojasva Singh - GM Sandipan Chanda: 0.5-0.5 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

GM Cristhian Camilo Rios (COL) - CM Akila Kavinda (SRI): 0-1 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Akhilesh Nagare - IM P Konguvel: 0.5-0.5 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

IM Anuj Shrivatri - Vrushali Umesh Deodhar: 0-1 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

IM Rahul Sangma - Om Nagnath Lamkane: 0-1 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Priyanshu Patil - WIM Arpita Mukherjee: 0.5-0.5 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

WIM Priyanka K - Swayham P Das: 0.5-0.5 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

IM Mehar Chinna Reddy - Sunny Bedi: 0.5-0.5 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Arvind Iyer - IM Ameya Audi: 0.5-0.5 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Jagdish Barik - IM Suvrajit Saha: 0.5-0.5 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

For more Round 4 photos, please click here.


A total of 374 players including 14 GMs, 30 IMs and 3 WIM are taking part from 14 countries across the world including India. The tournament is organized by Gujarat State Chess Association from 31st March to 7th April 2022 at Karnavati Club, Ahmedabad. The ten-round Swiss league tournament has a time control of 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1.

Replay Round 4 games

Round 4 results

138FMWagh Suyog2328India3½ - ½3GMDelgado Ramirez Neuris2622Paraguay1
26GMFawzy Adham2490Egypt3½ - ½3Kaustuv Kundu2281India47
340IMRatnakaran K.2316India30 - 13GMMirzoev Azer2476Azerbaijan9
414IMNigmatov Ortik2445Uzbekistan31 - 03IMDeshmukh Anup2190India59
546FMSekar B2283India3½ - ½3IMVignesh N R2444India15
616IMAbdisalimov Abdimalik2435Uzbekistan31 - 03Bhattacharyya Soham2004India77
718IMNitin S.2427India31 - 03Bhosale Shriraj1959India85
880Ilamparthi A RU151993India30 - 13GMHesham Abdelrahman2424Egypt19
922GMNeelotpal Das2409India31 - 03AFMPawar HarshitU151921India88
1089Anilkumar O.T.1915India31 - 03IMGusain Himal2408India23
1126IMSrihari L R2400India31 - 03Vaibhav KalpakaU151859India95
12105Vrashank ChouhanU151790India3½ - ½3IMDel Rey Diego2371Spain31
13138Majumder Shrayan1686India3½ - ½3Ritviz Parab2349India35
142GMSavchenko Boris25351 - 0WIMChitlange Sakshi2205India57
1561Gaurav Rajesh Zagade2174India½ - ½GMStany G.A.2517India3
164GMHarsha Bharathakoti2499India½ - ½FMJain Kashish Manoj2162India63
1764CMSingh Ojasva2141India½ - ½GMChanda Sandipan2485India7
1865IMRamnathan Balasubramaniam2130India0 - 1IMKrishna C R G2466India11
1912GMRios Cristhian Camilo2449Colombia0 - 1CMKavinda Akila2068Srilanka69
2066FMRam Aravind L N2127India0 - 1IMNeelash Saha2445India13


Round 5 pairings

19GMMirzoev Azer2476Azerbaijan44GMNeelotpal Das2409India22
219GMHesham Abdelrahman2424Egypt44IMNigmatov Ortik2445Uzbekistan14
326IMSrihari L R2400India44IMAbdisalimov Abdimalik2435Uzbekistan16
418IMNitin S.2427India44Anilkumar O.T.1915India89
51GMDelgado Ramirez Neuris2622ParaguayFMSekar B2283India46
647Kaustuv Kundu2281IndiaGMSavchenko Boris25352
755FMDe Silva L M S T2220SrilankaGMFawzy Adham2490Egypt6
811IMKrishna C R G2466IndiaFMWagh Suyog2328India38
913IMNeelash Saha2445IndiaBharat Kumar Reddy Poluri2263India50
1015IMVignesh N R2444IndiaCMKavinda Akila2068Srilanka69
1117GMLaxman R.R.2429IndiaGarv RaiU151869India94
1231IMDel Rey Diego2371SpainMajumder Shrayan1686India138
1383Deodhar Vrushali Umesh1974IndiaIMSidhant Mohapatra2359India32
1435Ritviz Parab2349IndiaVrashank ChouhanU151790India105
1591Om Nagnath Lamkane1881India3GMHarsha Bharathakoti2499India4
163GMStany G.A.2517India33Ilamparthi A RU151993India80
1777Bhattacharyya Soham2004India33GMVenkatesh M.R.2493India5
187GMChanda Sandipan2485India33FMMuhammed Shuaau1969Maldives84
1981Borgaonkar AkshayU151985India33GMHuerga Leache Mikel2471Spain10
2023IMGusain Himal2408India33Shah Vishwa1911India90


Contact Us