chessbase india logo

Neelotpal or Ortik - Who will win 3rd Gujarat GM Open?

by Shahid Ahmed - 07/04/2022

IM Srihari L R held GM Neelotpal Das to a solid draw in the penultimate round of 3rd Gujarat International GM Open 2022. IM Ortik Nigmatov (UZB) won against GM Stany G A to join the lead with Neelotpal 8.0/9. Ortik and Neelotpal will face each other in the final round. The winner will become a clear champion. While a draw would allow Abdisalimov and Srihari to catch up with them and maybe surpass on tie-breaks too. Two in-form teenagers IM Anuj Shrivatri and IM Srihari will clash on the second board. Arpita is still the top scoring female performer so far 6.5/9. Final Round 10 starts today at 10:00 a.m. IST. Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Anuj on a double hat-trick

IM Anuj Shrivatri registered his fifth consecutive win of the event. IM Ratnakaran K and Srithan Saypuri beat GM P Karthikeyan and GM Cristhian Camilo Rios (COL) respectively. FM Kashish Manoj Jain, Satvik Sharma, Jaiveer Mahendru and Yash Watarkar won against IM P Konguvel, IM Diego Del Rey (ESP), IM Anup Deshmukh and WIM Priyanka K respectively.

IM Ortik Nigmatov faces GM Neelotpal Das in the final round | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Stany - Ortik: 0-1

GM Stany G A (2517) captured a pawn in the endgame which took his rook away from the action. Having a couple of doubled pawn also did not help his case.

Position after 22.Rxb5

22.Rxb5 stranded White's rook. 22...Qe6 23.e5 Ra8 and now White has serious problems in the back rank. 24.Qg4 Ra1+ 25.Kg2 dxe5 things fell apart in a hurry for White.

IM Ortik Nigmatov (UZB) scored an important win over GM Stany G A to get into the lead | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

IM Srihari L R and GM Neelotpal Das had a relatively calm draw | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

GM Harsha Bharathakoti - IM Abdisalimov Abdimalik (UZB): 0.5-0.5 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

IM Mehar Chinna Reddy - GM Venkatesh M R: 0.5-0.5 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

C R G Krishna - Anuj: 0-1

IM Anuj Shrivatri (2350) converted his positional advantage beautifully against IM C R G Krishna (2466).

Position after 34...Re8

Sometimes a strong relative pin does not gain you a material immediately. However, it helps you to increase the positional advantage which is exactly what Anuj did. 35.Kf2 h5 36.Qd2 h4 37.Nd3 White managed to unpin his knight. The price he had to pay was an onslaught on the kingside. 37...Rxe2+ 38.Qxe2 Qd8 of course Black will decline the queen exchange as he is the one who is attacking and keeping the queen definitely helps him. 39.Qd2 hxg3+ 40.hxg3 Qf6 continuously hammering on White's weaknesses. Black won the game in another seven moves.

IM Anuj Shrivatri scored his fifth win in-a-row | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

IM Neelash Saha - FM Ranindu Dilshan Liyanage (SRI): 0.5-0.5 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

FM Ayush Sharma - IM Vignesh N R: 0.5-0.5 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

GM P Karthikeyan - IM Ratnakaran K: 0-1 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

WIM Arpita Mukherjee - IM Sidhant Mohapatra: 0.5-0.5 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

FM Kashish Manoj Jain - IM P Konguvel: 1-0 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

IM Ameya Audi - Shiva Pavan Teja Sharma U: 0.5-0.5 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

For more Round 9 photos, please click here.


A total of 374 players including 14 GMs, 30 IMs and 3 WIM are taking part from 14 countries across the world including India. The tournament is organized by Gujarat State Chess Association from 31st March to 7th April 2022 at Karnavati Club, Ahmedabad. The ten-round Swiss league tournament has a time control of 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1.

Replay Round 9 games

Round 9 results

126IMSrihari L R2400India7½ - ½GMNeelotpal Das2409India22
23GMStany G.A.2517India70 - 17IMNigmatov Ortik2445Uzbekistan14
34GMHarsha Bharathakoti2499India½ - ½7IMAbdisalimov Abdimalik2435Uzbekistan16
420IMMehar Chinna Reddy C.H.2422India½ - ½GMVenkatesh M.R.2493India5
511IMKrishna C R G2466India0 - 1IMAnuj Shrivatri2350India34
69GMMirzoev Azer2476Azerbaijan6½ - ½GMLaxman R.R.2429India17
71GMDelgado Ramirez Neuris2622Paraguay61 - 06Ritviz Parab2349India35
841IMSai Agni Jeevitesh J2316India60 - 16GMSavchenko Boris25352
913IMNeelash SahaGJ2445India6½ - ½6FMLiyanage Ranindu Dilshan2340Srilanka37
1043FMAyush Sharma2302India6½ - ½6IMVignesh N R2444India15
1118IMNitin S.2427India61 - 06FMWagh Suyog2328India38
1247Kaustuv Kundu2281India60 - 16IMSammed Jaykumar Shete2408India24
1325IMShahil DeyU152400India61 - 06Garv RaiU151869India94
1427GMKarthikeyan P.2397India60 - 16IMRatnakaran K.2316India40
1551WIMArpita Mukherjee2260India6½ - ½6IMSidhant Mohapatra2359India32
1663FMJain Kashish Manoj2162India61 - 06IMKonguvel Ponnuswamy2358India33
177GMChanda Sandipan2485India1 - 0FMRam Aravind L N2127India66
1870Santu Mondal2063CCSCSB0 - 1IMRaahul V S2478India8
1919GMHesham Abdelrahman2424Egypt1 - 0IMSahu Sekhar Chandra2049India72
2021IMAudi Ameya2418India½ - ½Shiva Pavan Teja Sharma U2022India74


Round 10 pairings

114IMNigmatov Ortik2445Uzbekistan88GMNeelotpal Das2409India22
234IMAnuj Shrivatri2350IndiaIMSrihari L R2400India26
316IMAbdisalimov Abdimalik2435Uzbekistan7GMStany G.A.2517India3
41GMDelgado Ramirez Neuris2622Paraguay77IMNitin S.2427India18
52GMSavchenko Boris253577IMMehar Chinna Reddy C.H.2422India20
624IMSammed Jaykumar Shete2408India77GMHarsha Bharathakoti2499India4
75GMVenkatesh M.R.2493India77IMShahil DeyU152400India25
840IMRatnakaran K.2316India77GMLaxman R.R.2429India17
97GMChanda Sandipan2485India7FMJain Kashish Manoj2162India63
108IMRaahul V S2478IndiaFMAyush Sharma2302India43
1132IMSidhant Mohapatra2359IndiaGMMirzoev Azer2476Azerbaijan9
1236IMSaravana Krishnan P.2340IndiaIMKrishna C R G2466India11
1344IMSangma RahulGJ2286IndiaIMNeelash SahaGJ2445India13
1437FMLiyanage Ranindu Dilshan2340SrilankaIMVignesh N R2444India15
1554FMAradhya Garg2236IndiaGMHesham Abdelrahman2424Egypt19
16118Satvik Sharma1753IndiaIMGusain Himal2408India23
1728IMViani Antonio Dcunha2397IndiaFMAaryan Varshney2277India49
1830IMRajesh V A V2376IndiaAGMSahib SinghU151792India104
1910GMHuerga Leache Mikel2471Spain6WIMArpita Mukherjee2260India51
2076IMWeerawardane Romesh2005Srilanka66IMAudi Ameya2418India21


Contact Us