chessbase india logo

Kushagra Mohan wins 1st Bishan Singh Memorial Rating Open 2023

by Shahid Ahmed - 16/01/2023

Top seed of the tournament, IM Kushagra Mohan, IM Chakravarthi Reddy M and second seeded IM Himal Gusain scored an unbeaten 8/9 each. Kushagra won the 1st Bishan Singh Ji Memorial Rating Open 2023. Chakravarthi and Himal were placed second and third according to tie-breaks. This is also Kushagra's first Rating Openn tournament triumph. The five-day nine-round rating tournament was organized by V4 Chess - Deccan Chess Academy, Maestro Chess Academy and Chess Maverics at Sri Kotla Vijaya Bhaskar Reddy Indoor Stadium in Hyderabad, Telangana. Total prize fund of the tournament was ₹1000001. Top three prizes were ₹100000, ₹70000 and ₹40000 along with a trophy each. Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Kushagra's first Rating Open triumph

IM Kushagra Mohan has had many podium finishes at State, National, Asian and Commonwealth events. However, he had not won an Rating Ope tournament until 14th January 2023 when that changed. The Hyderabad's very own Kushagra won his very first Rating tournament and maintained his top seed position. 13-year-old Apoorv Kamble was the youngest to make a top 10 finish. He scored 7.5/9 and was placed ninth according to tie-breaks.

Champion - IM Kushagra Mohan 8/9 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy
"It's possible to improve without a coach" - IM Kushagra Mohan wins 1st Bishan Singh ji Memorial Rating Open 2023

Runner-up - IM Chakravarthi Reddy M 8/9 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy
I am very satisfied to gain some rating points after a year  - IM Chakravarthi Reddy M

Second Runner-up - IM Himal Gusain 8/9 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy
IM Himal Gusain on finishing third at the 1st Bishan Singh Ji Memorial Chess Tournament

Top 3 (L to R): 3rd IM Himal Gusain 8/9, 1st IM Kushagra Mohan 8/9 and 2nd IM Chakravarthi Reddy M | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

IM Kushagra Mohan's (2389) favorite game from the event was against Bharat Kumar Reddy Poluri (2243) in the seventh round where he won a rook endgame having three pawns against his opponent's two.

Bharat - Kushagra, Round 7

Position after 57...Ra3+

White played the one thing he should not do here, 58.Kf4?? Find out why it is a mistake and what he should have done instead.

IM Kushagra Mohan scored an unbeaten 8/9 and gained 4.1 Elo rating points

Lighting of the lamp at the inauguration ceremony | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Inaugural first move is being made | Photo:  Aditya Sur Roy

The tournament hall at Sri KVB Indoor Stadium in Hyderabad, Telangana | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

IM Kushagra Mohan drew with IM N Krishna Teja in the final round to win the tournament on tie-breaks | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

The trophies for the prize winners | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Top three winners of the tournament with the organizers | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy
Arjun Erigaisi's performance has led to a huge chess boom | Video: ChessBase India

Five-year-old Siddharth Chodisetti, one of the youngest participants was given the ChessPa in Chess Adventure Park book along with his trophy | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

The other youngest participant of the tournament, Srinikhila Yadavilli was also awarded a trophy and a brand new ChessPa in Chess Adventure Park book | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

For more photos, please click here.

A total of 482 players including a GM and 6 IMs took part from various states across the country and a player from Australia, England, Switzerland each and three from the USA. The five-day nine-round Swiss league Rating tournament was organized by V4 Chess - Deccan Chess Academy, Maestro Chess Academy and Chess Mavericks at Sri Kotla Vijaya Bhaskar Reddy Indoor Stadium, Hyderabad, Telangana from 10th to 14th January 2023. The time control of the tournament was 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1.

Replay all available games

Final standings

Rk.SNo NameTypsexGrFEDRtgIClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
IMKushagra MohanIND2389Telangana85357,549,7507
IMChakravarthi Reddy MIND2289Telangana8515649,5007
IMGusain HimalIND2381Western Railways8515648,7507
GMLaxman R.R.IND2372Icf7,554,559,548,0006
IMKrishna Teja NIND2340Andhra Pradesh7,5525746,7506
Bharat Kumar Reddy PoluriIND2243Telangana7,5525644,7507
Nikhil MIND1850Andhra Pradesh7,550,55543,2507
Apoorv KambleU15IND1802Karnataka7,54852,542,2507
Lad Mandar PradipIND1776Goa7,5485242,7507
Varun VIND2250Telangana7515541,5005
Sri Sai Baswanth PIND1848Andhra Pradesh750,553,538,0007
Shanmukha PulliIND1557Telangana75053,539,5006
Jai Sankar SubramanianIND1746Tamilnadu749,553,540,0006
Vignesh Advaith VemulaU15IND1687Telangana747,550,536,7506
IMDeshmukh AnupS55IND2145Maharashtra74751,539,2506
Dinesh Kumar JaganathanIND1858Tamilnadu74751,538,0007
Shankhadeep MaityIND1482West Bengal74750,537,7506
K AshleeshIND1732Telangana746,550,538,5006
Mhamane SourabhIND1717Maharashtra746,550,537,0006
IMRamnathan BalasubramaniamIND2001Tamilnadu746,55037,5007
Rupesh Reddy YU15IND1688Andhra Pradesh744,548,536,5007
Velpula SarayuwIND1847Telangana6,551,554,535,2506
Bhosale ShrirajIND1961Maharashtra6,550,55536,2506
Aansh Nandan NerurkarU11IND1691Maharashtra6,549,553,537,2506
Advaitt Srikant KoduriU13IND1674Uttar Pradesh6,549,553,535,5006


Related news:
C R Ritvik triumphs at 4th Marvel Below 1800 Rating Tournament 2024

@ 25/05/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Bharat Kumar Reddy Poluri wins 3rd Marvel Rating Open 2024

@ 20/05/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Srikanth Myakala dominates 1st Karimnagar Below 1600 Rating Tournament 2024 with a perfect 9/9

@ 05/02/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ramkumar prevails at 2nd Marvel Below 1600 Rating Tournament 2023

@ 17/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Bharat Kumar Reddy Poluri victorious at 1st Marvel Rating Open 2023

@ 10/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Viresh Sharnarthi and Shreya G Hipparagi are 36th National Under-13 Open and Girls 2023 Champions

@ 19/12/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Shubham Kumar wins SLAN 1st Below 1600 Rating Tournament 2023

@ 17/09/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kandi Santosh Sai Karthik dominates 1st Telangana Gurukulams Below 1600 Rating Tournament 2023

@ 28/06/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain wins 19th Caspian Cup 2023, Kushagra Mohan third

@ 28/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
10-year-old Samuel Stephen Noble dominates 1st V4 Chess Below 1600 Rating Tournament 2023

@ 16/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kushagra Mohan becomes the latest International Master of India

@ 08/09/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Interview with India's 74th GM Rahul Srivatshav

@ 11/06/2022 by Himank Ghosh (en)
15-year-old Kheerthi Ganta becomes the first girl to win Telangana State Rapid and Blitz 2022

@ 25/04/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
IM Saravana Krishnan and Md Reyan win the Marvel Chess Academy, Hyderabad twin tournaments

@ 23/11/2021 by R Anantharam (en)
Arjun Erigaisi clinches Masthanaiah Rapid Rating Open 2021

@ 01/05/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
IM Rahul Srivasthav clinches Telangana State Senior convincingly 8.0/8

@ 13/04/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Laxman wins Pearl City All India Open and a brand new Maruti Alto 800

@ 13/09/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Balancing chess and education - Sai Agni is Telangana's sixth IM

@ 12/03/2019 by Nongsha Angom (en)
Saravana Krishnan wins Tetrasoft Open 2018

@ 24/10/2018 by Praful Zaveri (en)

Contact Us