chessbase india logo

Gujarat GM R05+06: Ivan Rozum and Saptarshi Roy take lead

by Satanick Mukhuty - 26/09/2019

Grandmasters Ivan Rozum and Saptarshi Roy lead the 2nd Gujarat International Grandmaster Open after the completion of rounds five and six yesterday here in Ahmedabad. GM Saptarshi defeated Rathnakaran K in the fifth round and drew Rodrigo Vasquez Schroeder in the sixth, while Ivan Rozum beat Maxim Lugovskoy in the sixth round but was held to a draw by Sayantan Das in the fifth. Both Ivan and Saptarshi have 5.5/6 points each and they are being followed closely by nine players who are just half a point behind with 5.0/6. The category B tournament for players rated below 2000 also came to conclusion yesterday with 1818 rated Anurag Jaiswal of West Bengal finishing clear first with 9.0/10 points. In this illustrated report we bring you the latest games, analyses, and much more from the event.

Saptarshi Roy brings down Rathnakaran K with the black pieces!

A match up between the two most aggressive players of the Indian chess community is always a treat to watch. In round five of the 2nd Gujarat Open, Grandmaster Saptarshi Roy (left) was pitted against the man who is dubbed as the Indian Tal, International Master Rathnakaran K | Photo: Lennart Ootes & ChessBase India

The encounter didn't however open with any ultra-sharp aggressive line but rather the calm and positional 4.d3 variation of the Two Knights defense. Rathnakaran had the White pieces but he simply couldn't steer the game into the kind of position he feels comfortable in and on move 17 ended up lashing out a weakening pawn push. Saptarshi immediately took his opportunity to hit the nail on the head and thereafter with almost flawless technique bagged a smooth victory.


Rathnakaran K - Saptarshi Roy, Round 5

17.g4 was the move that weakened the dark squares on White's kingside. Black at once lodged his bishop on h4 and pushed f5-f4.

19...e4 next cleared the e5 square for the black knight jump in and also opened up the e-file.

Suddenly, from what was a clearly equal position, Black's pieces started looking much more dominant that White's. After Nxd2 Kxd2 f3 Rh2 Rfe8 Black seized full control over the open e-file.

Next step was to bring the king into the foray with Kg7-f6-g5-f4 ... All White could do now was wait and watch his own doom!

Obviously Bxe2 wasn't possible because of fxe2 followed by Bxf2, White was simply helpless.

This was the final position on board when White resigned. Clearly after Bb6 and Rb1 there isn't all that much he can do to stop the f-pawn from queening. 

Top seed Ivan Rozum on a roll!

Ivan Rozum beat Maxim Lugovskoy to emerge as one of the two leaders after round six of the event | Photo: Amruta Mokal

Untitled Bharat Kumar Reddy Poluri beat IM Nikolai Vlassov in round six and drew IM Nguyen Van Huy to stay half a point behind the leaders with 5.0/6. His sixth round victory with black pieces against IM Vlassov is given below | Photo: Rupesh Kumar

Results of round five

Bo.No. NameRtgPts. ResultPts. NameRtg No.
19IMDas Sayantan 24344 ½ - ½4 GMRozum Ivan 25961
211GMLugovskoy Maxim 24224 ½ - ½4 GMChanda Sandipan 25293
327IMRathnakaran K. 23254 0 - 14 GMSaptarshi Roy 24805
46GMVasquez Schroeder Rodrigo 2476 1 - 0 IMSidhant Mohapatra 235723
529Bharat Kumar Reddy Poluri 2304 ½ - ½ IMNguyen Van Huy 24547
614GMKarthikeyan P. 2408 ½ - ½ CMLiyanage Ranindu Dilshan 195679
725IMNeelash Saha 2334 0 - 1 IMEraschenkov Denis 239017
82GMDeepan Chakkravarthy J. 25393 1 - 03 IMAbu Sufian Shakil 225534
94GMRahman Ziaur 24923 1 - 03 Nayak Rajesh 222737
1010GMNeelotpal Das 24333 1 - 03 GMZiatdinov Raset 222238

Results of round six

Bo.No. NameRtgPts. ResultPts. NameRtg No.
GMSaptarshi Roy 24805 ½ - ½ GMVasquez Schroeder Rodrigo 2476
GMRozum Ivan 2596 1 - 0 GMLugovskoy Maxim 2422
GMChanda Sandipan 2529 ½ - ½ IMDas Sayantan 2434
IMEraschenkov Denis 2390 ½ - ½4 GMDeepan Chakkravarthy J. 2539
FMShailesh Dravid 22994 ½ - ½4 GMRahman Ziaur 2492
IMNguyen Van Huy 24544 ½ - ½4 Sahoo Utkal Ranjan 2329
Zia Tahsin Tajwar 21424 ½ - ½4 GMNeelotpal Das 2433
GMHimanshu Sharma 24084 1 - 04 IMRathnakaran K. 2325
WGMKiran Manisha Mohanty 21024 0 - 14 GMKarthikeyan P. 2408
GMMurshed Niaz 24054 ½ - ½4 Pranav V 2308

Standings after round six

Rk.SNo NamesexFEDRtgClub/City TB1 
GMRozum IvanRUS2596Russia5,5
GMSaptarshi RoyIND2480WB5,5
GMChanda SandipanIND2529WB5,0
GMVasquez Schroeder RodrigoCHI2476Chile5,0
IMDas SayantanIND2434WB5,0
GMHimanshu SharmaIND2408Har5,0
GMKarthikeyan P.IND2408TN5,0
GMHesham AbdelrahmanEGY2396Egypt5,0
IMEraschenkov DenisRUS2390Russia5,0
FMManush ShahIND2352Guj5,0
Bharat Kumar Reddy PoluriIND2304AP5,0

Complete results and standings

Anurag Jaiswal wins category-B (below 2000) event

West Bengal's Anurag Jaiswal clinched the below 2000 category event by scoring an unbeaten 9.0/10 points. Nikhil M of Andhra Pradesh finished half a point behind with 8.5/10 to secure sole second spot. Six players followed next with 8.0/10 points among them Raj D Vyas of Gujarat took the third place on the basis of having the best tie-break score.

Anurag scored an unbeaten 9.0/10 points to finish clear first in the category B event and gained 57.4 rating points.

Final standings of the category B event after ten rounds

Rk.SNo NameFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
Anurag JaiswalIND1818WB9,00,063,067,559,508
Nikhil MIND1895AP8,50,065,570,057,008
Raj D VyasIND1731Guj8,00,063,068,052,007
Sumit GroverIND1954JK8,00,062,067,051,756
Chudasama AnkitIND1838Guj8,00,060,065,050,008
FMMuhammed ShuaauMDV1876Maldives8,00,060,064,549,257
Falgun D PurohitIND1719Guj8,00,054,558,545,257
AGMChandrajeet Singh RajawatIND1766Raj8,00,052,555,043,757
Chavan NameetIND1795Mah7,50,063,568,547,507
Kadav OmkarIND1898Mah7,50,056,061,045,507

Complete standings

Related news:
उज्बेकिस्तान के ओर्टिक बने गुजरात इंटरनेशनल के विजेता,भारत के नीलोत्पल और अनुज भी शीर्ष 3 में

@ 08/04/2022 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Nigmatov Ortik clinches 3rd Gujarat GM Open 2022, Neelotpal second and Anuj third

@ 08/04/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Neelotpal or Ortik - Who will win 3rd Gujarat GM Open?

@ 07/04/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
3rd Gujarat GM Open R8: Neelotpal neutralizes Neuris, takes sole lead

@ 06/04/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
गुजरात इंटरनेशनल : नीलोत्पल दास को एकल बढ़त

@ 05/04/2022 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
3rd Gujarat GM Open R7: Neelotpal, Ortik and Srihari in a three-way lead

@ 05/04/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
3rd Gujarat GM Open R4: 58-year-old Anilkumar calls his opponent's bluff

@ 03/04/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
3rd Gujarat GM Open R2-3: Anup Deshmukh scores a sublime victory

@ 02/04/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
3rd Gujarat GM Open R1: Akshit Kacha swindles IM Shahil Dey

@ 01/04/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ivan Rozum wins 2nd Gujarat International Grandmaster Open

@ 30/09/2019 by Satanick Mukhuty (en)
Gujarat GM R09: IM Neelash Saha beats third Grandmaster in a row

@ 29/09/2019 by Satanick Mukhuty (en)
Gujarat GM R08: Ivan Rozum dashes ahead, Saptarshi Roy fights back

@ 28/09/2019 by Satanick Mukhuty (en)
Gujarat GM R07: Ivan Rozum elbows Saptarshi Roy out of the lead

@ 27/09/2019 by Satanick Mukhuty (en)
Gujarat GM R04: Rathnakaran K outwits Neelotpal Das in a double-edged Vienna

@ 25/09/2019 by Satanick Mukhuty (en)
Gujarat GM R02+03: Deepan Chakkravarthy slips down the rank list

@ 24/09/2019 by Satanick Mukhuty (en)
The 2nd Gujarat International Open begins in Ahmedabad

@ 23/09/2019 by Satanick Mukhuty (en)
Gujarat GM Open R8: Vignesh catches Stany in the lead!

@ 10/10/2018 by Aditya Pai (en)
Gujarat GM Open R6+7: Stany the unstoppable

@ 09/10/2018 by Aditya Pai (en)
गुजरात इंटरनेशनल - हर्षा बने ग्रांड मास्टर , स्टेनी को सयुंक्त बढ़त

@ 09/10/2018 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Gujarat GM Open 2018 R5: GA Stany leads with Levon Babujian

@ 08/10/2018 by Aditya Pai (en)
Gujarat Open 2018 Round 3+4: Harsha Bharathakoti becomes India's 56th GM!

@ 07/10/2018 by Aditya Pai (en)

Contact Us