chessbase india logo

Sethuraman is the top seed at MPL 59th National Senior Chess Championship 2022

by Shahid Ahmed - 22/12/2022

MPL 59th National Senior Chess Championship starts today in New Delhi. For the first time since 2018, it will be a full-fledged event, which means there will be 13 rounds instead of 11 like the last two rated editions. The time control is also back to 90 minutes for 40 moves followed by 30 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1. The total prize fund remains unchanged from the previous edition which took place in March this year. Sethuraman S P is the top seed of the tournament, The captain of India at the World Teams 2022, Vaibhav Suri will be the second seed and five-times Commonwealth Gold medalist Abhijeet Gupta will be the third seed. Round 1 starts today at 3 p.m. IST. Who do you think will win the 59th edition?Photo: FIDE/Mark Livshitz

New champion will be crowned

Since the current champion, GM Arjun Erigaisi is not playing in the 59th edition, a new champion is guaranteed to be crowned. The runner-up of the previous edition, GM D Gukesh is currently taking part in the 8th Vugar Gashimov Memorial tournament. Thus, he is also unable to take part. 

Top seed - GM Sethuraman S P (2642) | Photo: FIDE/Mark Livshitz

Second seed - GM Vaibhav Suri (2606) | Photo: Mark Livshitz

Third seed - GM Abhijeet Gupta (2601) | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

MPL 59th National Senior Chess Championship 2022 will take place from 22nd December 2022 to 3rd January 2023. Round 1 on 22nd December 2022 starts at 3 p.m. From 23rd December 2022 to 2nd January 2023, Round 2 to 12 will start at 2:30 p.m. The final Round 13 on 3rd January will start at 9 a.m. The tournament is being organized by Delhi Chess Association.

Players list

1GMSethuraman S.P.137220215021596IND2642Petroleum Sports Promotion Board
2GMVaibhav Suri475220215045185IND2606Delhi
3GMGupta Abhijeet415620215010608IND2601Petroleum Sports Promotion Board
4GMMendonca Leon Luke168379202235028561IND2566Goa
5GMVisakh N R4755202125012223IND2544Railway Sports Promotion Board
6GMShyam Sundar M.70520215019141IND2526Tamil Nadu
7IMAronyak Ghosh87998202125072846IND2521Railway Sports Promotion Board
8IMKoustav Chatterjee1036202125073060IND2508West Bengal
9GMIniyan P1622202125002767IND2507Tamil Nadu
10GMKarthik Venkataraman124519202225006479IND2503Andhra Pradesh
11GMSwapnil S. Dhopade242620215019184IND2499Railway Sports Promotion Board
12IMVignesh N R4754202125012215IND2493Railway Sports Promotion Board
13IMShyaamnikhil P594920215024218IND2490Railway Sports Promotion Board
14GMMitrabha Guha37220215057000IND2487West Bengal
15GMSengupta Deep661820215008352IND2486Petroleum Sports Promotion Board
16IMKrishna C R G467820215018625IND2480Railway Sports Promotion Board
17GMChanda Sandipan1475120215004225IND2475West Bengal
18IMDas Sayantan650020215034426IND2475Railway Sports Promotion Board
19GMVenkatesh M.R.250620215005779IND2459Petroleum Sports Promotion Board
20GMDeepan Chakkravarthy J.9981520215011132IND2457Railway Sports Promotion Board
21IMDas Arghyadip1118420215003610IND2438Railway Sports Promotion Board
22IMHarshavardhan G B1408202125059009IND2434Tamil Nadu
23IMMohammad Nubairshah Shaikh9962520215053196IND2433Maharashtra
24IMNeelash Saha648120215094160IND2429West Bengal
25IMSrihari L R2906202146617116IND2429Tamil Nadu
26IMAnuj Shrivatri1857202135070924IND2414Madhya Pradesh
27IMMehar Chinna Reddy C.H.16225020225027420IND2405Telangana
28IMAudi Ameya1383202125034430IND2401Goa
29IMKushagra Mohan2725202125033638IND2390Telangana
30FMPanesar Vedant16583202135033018IND2387Maharashtra


Round 1 pairings

11GMSethuraman S.P.264200Nambiar Vivek1969101
2102Mahindrakar Indrajeet195700GMVaibhav Suri26062
33GMGupta Abhijeet260100Pattnayak Nilsu1956103
4104Gurung Rohit194800GMMendonca Leon Luke25664
55GMVisakh N R254400Badrinath S.1938105
6106Tamang Thendup193700GMShyam Sundar M.25266
77IMAronyak Ghosh252100Koustuv Dash1929107
8108Chandar Raju191800IMKoustav Chatterjee25088
99GMIniyan P250700Peter Anand A1916109
10110Arun Kataria191300GMKarthik Venkataraman250310
1111GMSwapnil S. Dhopade249900Dubey Sanchay1909111
12112Santanu Borpatra Gohain190900IMVignesh N R249312
1313IMShyaamnikhil P249000Anishka Vikram1907113
14114Pradeep Tiwari189300GMMitrabha Guha248714
1515GMSengupta Deep248600Tamojit Chakraborty1881115
16116Vivaan Vishal Shah187300IMKrishna C R G248016
1717GMChanda Sandipan247500Sarthak Rawat1863117
18118AGMSparsh Khandelwal185800IMDas Sayantan247518
1919GMVenkatesh M.R.245900Nawin M S1856119
20120Aarav Sinha185400GMDeepan Chakkravarthy J.245720
2121IMDas Arghyadip243800Aditya P Melani1851121
22122Mithun Anand V184800IMHarshavardhan G B243422
2323IMMohammad Nubairshah Shaikh243300FMVenkata Krishna Karthik K1839123
24124Rupam Mukherjee183800IMNeelash Saha242924
2525IMSrihari L R242900Aakash G1830125


Contact Us