chessbase india logo

MPL 59th National Senior R9: Koustav subdues Sethuraman

by Shahid Ahmed - 31/12/2022

IM Koustav Chatterjee ended GM Sethuraman S P's domination in the ninth round at MPL 59th National Senior Chess Championship 2022. The teenager IM exchanged pieces at a regular interval and arrived at a rook and minor piece which was slightly advantageous for him. The seasoned GM made some inaccurate decisions in an already difficult endgame which cost him the point and the lead. GM Abhijeet Gupta scored his second win in-a-row as he defeated GM Deep Sengupta using his tactical alertness to get back in the chase along with Sethuraman, GM Mitrabha Guha and IM Srihari L R. Round 10 starts today at 2 p.m. IST today. Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Sethuraman, Abhijeet, Mitrabha and Srihari L R on the hunt

IM Srihari L R (TN) scored an impressive victory over GM Leon Luke Mendonca (Goa) as he seized his opportunity when the GM made an incorrect decision. Both Srihari and Mitrabha are undefeated at 7/9 each.

IM Koustav Chatterjee (WB) is the new sole leader 7/8| Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Sethuraman - Koustav: 0-1

IM Koustav Chatterjee (WB, 2508) opted for the Classical system in the French Defence. He had no trouble equalizing out of the opening against GM Sethuraman S P (PSPB, 2642). Pieces got exchanged at regular interval and after 28 moves, the game arrived at a Rook and Knight vs. Rook and Bishop endgame.

Position after 28...Kxf7

Although Black's bishop might seem undeveloped, the position can be opened whenever he wants. White's isolated pawns on a2 and c2 do not help his case either. 29.c3 Bd7 30.f5 e5 31.Rxd5 Bxf5 32.Ra5 Rc6 the knight is stuck defending the c3-pawn. It is safe to say White is positonally lost. Black made no mistakes and went on to win the game comfortably. Eventually, White fell into an unavoidable mating net.

Final position after 50...f5

Abhijeet - Deep

Position after 24...Nf6

24...Rd8 would have been fine for Black. 24...Nf6 runs into some trouble. Can you find out the tactical shot which GM Abhijeet Gupta (PSPB, 2601) executed brilliantly against GM Deep Sengupta (PSPB, 2486) in the game?

Srihari - Leon

Position after 24...Ne5

GM Leon Luke Mendonca (Goa, 2566) made an inaccuracy 24...Ne5 which virtually gave up the e6 square. 25.Nxe5 fxe5 26.Ne6 and now Black cannot take the knight due to e7 discover check threat. 24...f5 would have been for Black as Ne6 no longer is dangerous due to the long diagonal being blocked by White's own knight at f3. Black eventually took the knight on e6 and it played a crucial role in White earning the victory. IM Srihari L R (TN, 2429) moved to 7/9.

IM Srihari L R (TN) is undefeated so far 7/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Visakh - Mehar

Position after 45.d5

The above pawn endgame seems to be heading towards a draw, right? Well, 45.d5! is one last attempt by GM Visakh N R (RSPB, 2544) against IM Mehar Chinna Reddy C H (RSPB, 2405) to trick him and it worked. Both 45...b6 and exd5 leads to a draw. However, 45...e5 loses for Black. Try to find out the difference.

A total of 196 players including 18 GMs and 27 IMs are taking part in this tournament organized by Delhi Chess Association. The event is taking place in New Delhi from 22nd December 2022 to 3rd January 20233. The 13-round Swiss league tournament has a time control of 90 minutes for 40 moves followed by 30 minutes with an increment of 30 seconds from move no.1

Replay Round 9 games

Round 9 results

11GMSethuraman S.P.264270 - 1IMKoustav Chatterjee25088PGN
214GMMitrabha Guha2487½ - ½6GMKarthik Venkataraman250310PGN
33GMGupta Abhijeet260161 - 06GMSengupta Deep248615PGN
425IMSrihari L R242961 - 06GMMendonca Leon Luke25664PGN
57IMAronyak Ghosh25216½ - ½6Hari Madhavan N B238532PGN
69GMIniyan P25076½ - ½6GMVenkatesh M.R.245919PGN
75GMVisakh N R25441 - 06IMMehar Chinna Reddy C.H.240527PGN
86GMShyam Sundar M.2526½ - ½IMAjay Krishna S238334PGN
912IMVignesh N R24931 - 0IMAvinash Ramesh232749PGN
1013IMShyaamnikhil P2490½ - ½IMSaravana Krishnan P.224459PGN
1117GMChanda Sandipan24751 - 0CMMayank Chakraborty217970PGN
1251Subhayan Kundu2319½ - ½IMMohammad Nubairshah Shaikh243323PGN
1363FMMohamed Anees M22370 - 1IMAnuj Shrivatri241426PGN
1466Dhananjay S21991 - 0IMAudi Ameya240128PGN
1599Adireddy Arjun1980½ - ½FMPanesar Vedant238730PGN
1618IMDas Sayantan247551 - 05Bharat Kumar Reddy Poluri224360PGN
1762IMSharma Dinesh K.223950 - 15GMDeepan Chakkravarthy J.245720PGN
1864Sai Vishwesh.C22195½ - ½5IMDas Arghyadip243821PGN
1978CMBorgaonkar Akshay213550 - 15IMHarshavardhan G B243422PGN
2029IMKushagra Mohan23905½ - ½5Anadkat Kartavya214776PGN


Round 10 pairings

18IMKoustav Chatterjee25087GMMitrabha Guha248714
21GMSethuraman S.P.264277IMSrihari L R242925
312IMVignesh N R24937GMGupta Abhijeet26013
419GMVenkatesh M.R.2459GMVisakh N R25445
526IMAnuj Shrivatri2414IMAronyak Ghosh25217
610GMKarthik Venkataraman2503Dhananjay S219966
732Hari Madhavan N B2385GMChanda Sandipan247517
815GMSengupta Deep24866GMIniyan P25079
94GMMendonca Leon Luke256666IMUtsab Chatterjee235042
1052GMKarthikeyan P.231666GMShyam Sundar M.25266
1158Varun V225066IMShyaamnikhil P249013
1259IMSaravana Krishnan P.224466IMDas Sayantan247518
1382Bharadia Yash211766GMDeepan Chakkravarthy J.245720
1422IMHarshavardhan G B243466CMSoham Kamotra232948
1523IMMohammad Nubairshah Shaikh243366Nagare Kaivalya Sandip212480
1627IMMehar Chinna Reddy C.H.240566Subhayan Kundu231951
1730FMPanesar Vedant238766Sanjay S Pillai1799128
1834IMAjay Krishna S238366Adireddy Arjun198099
1921IMDas Arghyadip2438IMRatnakaran K.230455
2028IMAudi Ameya2401IMPraveen Kumar C221265



Delhi Chess Association

Tournament Regulations

Contact Us