chessbase india logo

MPL 59th National Senior R1: Take my Queen if you can

by Shahid Ahmed - 23/12/2022

The top seeds avoided any major upset in the first round of MPL 59th National Senior Chess Championship 2022. For the first time in National, there are 70 live boards. Thus, the propensity to find beautiful game(s) in each round increases by that much. It goes without saying that not only for the viewers, it helps the players also to see the current form in the tournament of their future opponents. Aarav Sinha (DEL) and Ajay Santhosh Parvathareddy (UP) held GM Deepan Chakkravarthy (RSPB) and GM Sriram Jha (LIC) to a draw. If you have to pick some beautiful moves played by one person in the opening round, it has to be Santanu Borpatra Gohain (ASM) against IM Vignesh N R (RSPB). Round 2 starts today at 2 p.m. IST today. Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Few minor upsets

As the computer becomes stronger by each passing day and the increase in accessibility of various chess materials, certainly helps improve the average strength of the players. The rating is no longer a good scale to measure one's true strength, especially for adults. As many as nine including 2 GMs and 7 IMs were held to a draw in the first round. Multi-time Santanu Borpatra Gohain (ASM) played some beautiful chess and Keval Nirgun (MAH) could have possibly pulled off the first major upset of the tournament.

The former multi-time North Eastern State champion - Santanu Borpatra Gohain | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Santanu - Vignesh: 0.5-0.5

Santanu Borpatra Gohain (ASM, 1909) played some beautiful chess against IM Vignesh N R (RSPB, 2493). At a first glance, one might think there is a transmission error. However, a careful inspection reveals that there was no technical glitch, it was intentional.

Position after 25...Rc5

So, how did it all happen? Let's rewind the sequence of moves - 23...Rb8 24.a4! now Black cannot take the queen as 24...Rxb5 25.axb5 drops the second rook at c6 due to double attack. 24...Rbb6 Black's pieces are a bit paralyzed and it is really not easy to find a plausible move. 25.dxe5! Black still cannot take the queen for the same reason mentioned above. 25...Rc5 and we get the above diagram. Now 26.Bd4 Rbxb5/Rcxb5 27.axb5 Qb7/8 28.Bxc5/b6 gives White a clear advantage according to the computer. We have seen that White's play is very humane, hence he went 26.exf6 Rbxb5 27.axb5 Qd8 28.Nd4 and soon Black had to give up his queen for the knight and bishop to prevent a checkmate threat. It left White ahead by an exchange and it was not easy to convert it into a full point. The game ended in a draw after 44 moves.

Sanjay - Ameya

Position after 43...Qxd2

A back and forth battle might seem to be winning for Black. However, that is not the case. White can still save the game after sacrificing his bishop at d2. Try to find out how. Sanjay S Pillai (KER, 1799) found it against IM Ameya Audi (Goa, 2401).

Kushagra - Keval: 0.5-0.5

Sometimes a draw is not a draw. Generally when we face a higher rated player and have a complex position, it is human nature to take a draw. If the opponent is an IM, then well it often seems like a good decision. Keval Nirgun (MAH, 1785) is certainly not wrong in this matter, especially if he was in time trouble against IM Kushagra Mohan (TEL, 2390) because the continuation was not something easy to find if you had less time on the clock.

Final position after 50.Rxf7+

A draw was agreed after after 50.Rxf7+ as Black probably thought that he was lost after 50...Rxf7 51.Qxf7+ and checkmate is unstoppable in all variations which is true unless, Black finds the step-away from problems intermezzo 50...Kb6!! Now Black is winning, find out how.

Some notable results

Santanu Borpatra Gohain (ASM) - IM Vignesh N R (RSPB): 0.5-0.5

Sparsh Khandelwal (CHT) - IM Sayantan Das (RSPB): 0.5-0.5

Aarav Sinha (DEL) - GM Deepan Chakkravarthy (RSPB): 0.5-0.5

Rupam Mukherjee (WB) - IM Neelash Saha (WB): 0.5-0.5

Sanjay S Pillai (KER) -  IM Ameya Audi (Goa): 0.5-0.5

IM Kushagra Mohan (TEL) - Keval Nirgun (MAH): 0.5-0.5

GM Sriram Jha (LIC) - Ajay Santhosh Parvathareddy (UP): 0.5-0.5

IM Ratnakaran K (RSPB) - Bipin Raj S (TEL): 0.5-0.5

IM Praveen Kumar C (RSPB) - Ujjawal Bansal (GUJ): 0.5-0.5


A total of 196 players including 18 GMs and 27 IMs are taking part in this tournament organized by Delhi Chess Association. The event is taking place in New Delhi from 22nd December 2022 to 3rd January 20233. The 13-round Swiss league tournament has a time control of 90 minutes for 40 moves followed by 30 minutes with an increment of 30 seconds from move no.1

Replay Round 1 games

Round 1 results

11GMSethuraman S.P.264201 - 00Nambiar Vivek1969101PGN
2102Mahindrakar Indrajeet19570+ - -0GMVaibhav Suri26062
33GMGupta Abhijeet260101 - 00Pattnayak Nilsu1956103PGN
4104Gurung Rohit194800 - 10GMMendonca Leon Luke25664PGN
55GMVisakh N R254401 - 00Badrinath S.1938105PGN
6106Tamang Thendup193700 - 10GMShyam Sundar M.25266PGN
77IMAronyak Ghosh252101 - 00Koustuv Dash1929107PGN
8108Chandar Raju191800 - 10IMKoustav Chatterjee25088PGN
99GMIniyan P250701 - 00Peter Anand A1916109PGN
10110Arun Kataria191300 - 10GMKarthik Venkataraman250310PGN
1111GMSwapnil S. Dhopade249901 - 00Dubey Sanchay1909111PGN
12112Santanu Borpatra Gohain19090½ - ½0IMVignesh N R249312PGN
1313IMShyaamnikhil P249001 - 00Anishka Vikram1907113PGN
14114Pradeep Tiwari189300 - 10GMMitrabha Guha248714PGN
1515GMSengupta Deep248601 - 00Tamojit Chakraborty1881115PGN
16116Vivaan Vishal Shah187300 - 10IMKrishna C R G248016PGN
1717GMChanda Sandipan247501 - 00Sarthak Rawat1863117PGN
18118AGMSparsh Khandelwal18580½ - ½0IMDas Sayantan247518PGN
1919GMVenkatesh M.R.245901 - 00Nawin M S1856119PGN
20120Aarav Sinha18540½ - ½0GMDeepan Chakkravarthy J.245720PGN


Round 2 pairings

158Varun V225011GMSethuraman S.P.26421
259IMSaravana Krishnan P.224411GMGupta Abhijeet26013
34GMMendonca Leon Luke256611Praloy Sahoo224161
460Bharat Kumar Reddy Poluri224311GMVisakh N R25445
56GMShyam Sundar M.252611FMMohamed Anees M223763
662IMSharma Dinesh K.223911IMAronyak Ghosh25217
78IMKoustav Chatterjee250811Gandhi Anish219767
864Sai Vishwesh.C221911GMIniyan P25079
910GMKarthik Venkataraman250311Garv Rai218169
1066Dhananjay S219911GMSwapnil S. Dhopade249911
1168CMNayak Rajesh218411IMShyaamnikhil P249013
1214GMMitrabha Guha248711Chidvilash Sai Surapaneni217771
1370CMMayank Chakraborty217911GMSengupta Deep248615
1416IMKrishna C R G248011Surendran N216873
1574Shreyansh Daklia216511GMChanda Sandipan247517
1676Anadkat Kartavya214711GMVenkatesh M.R.245919
1721IMDas Arghyadip243811Akshit Kumar J215875
1822IMHarshavardhan G B243411FMSrinivasa Rao M.214277
1978CMBorgaonkar Akshay213511IMMohammad Nubairshah Shaikh243323
2080Nagare Kaivalya Sandip212411IMSrihari L R242925



Delhi Chess Association

Tournament Regulations

Contact Us