chessbase india logo

MPL 59th National Senior R5: Abhijeet Gupta gains sole lead

by Shahid Ahmed - 27/12/2022

GM Abhijeet Gupta (PSPB) defeated IM Koustav Chatterjee (WB) to become sole leader at 5/5. Top four games went in favor of White at MPL 59th National Senior Chess Championship 2022. GM Sethuraman S P (PSPB), GM Visakh N R (RSPB) and IM Aronyak Ghosh (RSPB) won their respective games against GM Deep Sengupta (PSPB), FM Vedant Panesar (MAH) and IM Nubairshah Shaikh (MAH). They are joined by GM Mitrabha Guha (WB) in the chase at 4.5/5 each. Sethuraman will face Abhijeet on the top board in a battle of former National champions in the sixth round, which starts today at 2 p.m. IST today. Photo: FIDE/Mark Livshitz

Sethuraman, Visakh, Mitrabha and Aronyak in pursuit

FM Vedant Panesar (MAH) played really well against GM Visakh N R (RSPB). It seemed like the former National Under-17 champion might find a way to draw the game until he couldn't and falter. As many as a dozen players are at 4/5 including Utkal Ranjan Sahoo (ODI) who showed great resilience against GM Shyam Sundar M (TN).

GM Abhijeet Gupta is the sole leader 5/5 | Photo: FIDE/Mark Livshitz

Abhijeet - Koustav: 1-0

GM Abhijeet Gupta (PSPB, 2601) got a strong pawn center in the middlegame against IM Koustav Chatterjee (WB, 2508). He squeezed the position further and completely crippled his opponent's pieces.

Position after 25.Bd6

White got a significant positional advantage after 22.c4. The game continued 22...c6 23.Qd2 Nc7 24.e5 Nd7 25.Bd6 and Black is completely lost as his most advanced pieces are the knights on the seventh rank and none of his pieces have any decent squares left to go.

Visakh - Vedant

Position after 54.hxg5

Although Black's knight at e7 is in a relative pin, there is no necessity to defend it now. 54...Kf7 helped White to improve his rook's position 55.Rf8+ Kg7 56.Rf6 and well defending the position became that much difficult for Black. Instead, 54...Re5 55.Rxb7 Kf7 would have given Black better chances to save the game.

Utkal - Shyam Sundar

Position after 56.Qc7

GM Shyam Sundar M (TN, 2526) was winning for the better part of the game against Utkal Ranjan Sahoo (ODI, 2333). However, he erred 56...Rf8+ in a position where he could have immediately won using a combination. Try to find out what Black missed in the above position.

Some notable results

GM Abhijeet Gupta (PSPB) - IM Koustav Chatterjee (WB): 1-0

GM Sethuraman S P (PSPB) - GM Deep Sengupta (PSPB): 1-0

GM Visakh N R (RSPB) - FM Vedant Panesar (MAH): 1-0

IM Aronyak Ghosh (WB) - IM Nubairshah Shaikh (MAH): 1-0

IM Kushagra Mohan (TEL) - GM Iniyan P (TN): 0.5-0.5

Utkal Ranjan Sahoo (ODI) - GM Shyam Sundar M (TN): 1-0

CM Soham Kamotra (J&K) - GM Karthik Venkataraman (AP): 0.5-0.5

IM P Shyam Nikhil (RSPB) - GM Karthikeyan P (RSPB): 0.5-0.5

Subhayan Kundu (WB) - IM C R G Krishna (RSPB): 0.5-0.5

GM Sandipan Chanda (WB) - IM P Saravana Krishnnan (TN): 0.5-0.5

IM Srihari L R (TN) - Sai Vishwesh C (TN): 0.5-0.5

FM M Anees M (TN) - IM Ameya Audi (Goa): 0.5-0.5

IM Praveen Kumar C (RSPB) - Hari Madhavan N B (TN): 0-1

Garv Rai (DEL) - GM Laxman R R (RSPB): 1-0

IM Nitin S (RSPB) - Yash Bharadia (RAJ): 0-1

Kaivalya Sandip Nagare (MAH) - IM Arghyadip Das (RSPB): 1-0

Harshit Pawar (DEL) - IM Utsab Chatterjee (WB): 0.5-0.5

IM Avinash Ramesh (TN) - Nilsu Pattnayak (ODI): 0.5-0.5


A total of 196 players including 18 GMs and 27 IMs are taking part in this tournament organized by Delhi Chess Association. The event is taking place in New Delhi from 22nd December 2022 to 3rd January 20233. The 13-round Swiss league tournament has a time control of 90 minutes for 40 moves followed by 30 minutes with an increment of 30 seconds from move no.1

Replay Round 5 games

Round 5 results

13GMGupta Abhijeet260141 - 04IMKoustav Chatterjee25088PGN
21GMSethuraman S.P.26421 - 0GMSengupta Deep248615PGN
35GMVisakh N R25441 - 0FMPanesar Vedant238730PGN
47IMAronyak Ghosh25211 - 0IMMohammad Nubairshah Shaikh243323PGN
529IMKushagra Mohan2390½ - ½GMIniyan P25079PGN
633GMNeelotpal Das23840 - 1GMMitrabha Guha248714PGN
745GMSriram Jha233730 - 13GMMendonca Leon Luke25664PGN
846Sahoo Utkal Ranjan233331 - 03GMShyam Sundar M.25266PGN
948CMSoham Kamotra23293½ - ½3GMKarthik Venkataraman250310PGN
1013IMShyaamnikhil P24903½ - ½3GMKarthikeyan P.231652PGN
1151Subhayan Kundu23193½ - ½3IMKrishna C R G248016PGN
1217GMChanda Sandipan24753½ - ½3IMSaravana Krishnan P.224459PGN
1319GMVenkatesh M.R.245931 - 03Bharat Kumar Reddy Poluri224360PGN
1453IMRajesh V A V23143½ - ½3IMHarshavardhan G B243422PGN
1525IMSrihari L R24293½ - ½3Sai Vishwesh.C221964PGN
1655IMRatnakaran K.230431 - 03IMAnuj Shrivatri241426PGN
1727IMMehar Chinna Reddy C.H.240531 - 03Anadkat Kartavya214776PGN
1863FMMohamed Anees M22373½ - ½3IMAudi Ameya240128PGN
1965IMPraveen Kumar C221230 - 13Hari Madhavan N B238532PGN
2069Garv Rai218131 - 03GMLaxman R.R.237236PGN


Round 6 pairings

11GMSethuraman S.P.26425GMGupta Abhijeet26013
214GMMitrabha Guha2487GMVisakh N R25445
38IMKoustav Chatterjee25084IMAronyak Ghosh25217
44GMMendonca Leon Luke256644Sahoo Utkal Ranjan233346
532Hari Madhavan N B238544GMIniyan P25079
655IMRatnakaran K.230444GMVenkatesh M.R.245919
769Garv Rai218144IMMehar Chinna Reddy C.H.240527
882Bharadia Yash211744IMKushagra Mohan239029
910GMKarthik Venkataraman25034Dere Pushkar211483
1012IMVignesh N R2493IMVardaan Nagpal232947
1150IMRaahul V S2325IMShyaamnikhil P249013
1215GMSengupta Deep2486CMSoham Kamotra232948
1316IMKrishna C R G2480IMSaravana Krishnan P.224459
1464Sai Vishwesh.C2219GMChanda Sandipan247517
1518IMDas Sayantan2475Subhayan Kundu231951
1622IMHarshavardhan G B2434FMMohamed Anees M223763
1723IMMohammad Nubairshah Shaikh2433IMRajesh V A V231453
1852GMKarthikeyan P.2316IMSrihari L R242925
1928IMAudi Ameya2401Nagare Kaivalya Sandip212480
2030FMPanesar Vedant2387Shet Prajwal P206489



Delhi Chess Association

Tournament Regulations

Contact Us