chessbase india logo

MPL 59th National Senior R4: Abhijeet Gupta and Koustav Chatterjee emerge early coleaders

by Shahid Ahmed - 26/12/2022

GM Iniyan P (TN) drew with his statemate and top seed GM Sethuraman S P (PSPB) in the fourth round of MPL 59th National Senior Chess Championship 2022. FM Vedant Panesar (MAH) also shared the point with IM Aronyak Ghosh (WB). GM Abhijeet Gupta (PSPB) defeated the reigning Asian Junior 2022 Open champion, IM Harshavardhan G B (TN) and IM Koustaav Chatterjee (WB) prevailed over IM Nitin S (TN). Abhijeet and Koustav will inevitably clash in the fifth round which starts today at 2 p.m. IST today. There are still nine rounds left. Will we see a sole leader at the conclusion of Round 5? Photo: FIDE/Mark Livshitz

Untitled players continue to impress

It seems like IMs and GMs are not safe against untitled players. While no GM suffered a loss in the fourth round, GM Karthik Venkataraman (AP) was held to a draw by Subhayan Kundu (WB). Pushkar Dere (MAH) and Shet Prajwal P (KAR) defeated their respective IM opponents.

GM Abhijeet Gupta and IM Koustav Chatterjee are at 4/4 each | Photo: FIDE/Mark Livshitz

Harshavardhan - Abhijeet: 0-1

The new Asian Junior 2022 Open champion, IM Harshavardhan G B (2434) put up a very good fight against the five-time Commonwealth champion, GM Abhijeet Gupta (2601). He only made an incorrect decision to defend an expendable pawn in the final moments of the double rook and minor piece endgame

Position after 41.Rh2

White can certainly afford losing the h3-pawn. However, the absolute pin on the b-file against the b5-knight can prove to be fatal and it did. White's remedies were 41.Ra3 and Kb2. Both would have been fine for him and the game probably would have ended in a draw. However, 41.Rh2 cost him dearly. 41...Nd4 42.Kb4 Rba8 43.Bb3 Bxb5 and now even if White had recaptured on b5, material loss was unavoidable.

Koustav - Nitin

Position after 28...d5

In an already difficult position, Black made an incorrect pawn break 28...d5. It only enabled White to gain a pawn majority on the queenside which eventually played a key role in White getting the victory by promoting his c-pawn into a queen.

Ayush - Neelotpal

Position after 15.Qc1

The trend of queen sacrifice at this event continues. GM Neelotpal Das (2384) made a beautiful queen sacrifice to gain positional advantage against FM Ayushh Ravikumar (1994). 15...Nxd4 16.Bxd4 Qxd4 17.Rxd4 Bxd4 18.Qd2 Bc3 19.Qe2 0-0 Black is not winning immediately. Computer gives White a decisive advantage by just considering the material imbalance. However, only a human can understand the long-term positional advantage Black has. He had no trouble converting his advantage into a win.

Some notable results

GM Iniyan P (TN) - GM Sethuraman S P (PSPB): 0.5-0.5

IM Harshavardhan G B (TN) - GM Abhijeet Gupta (PSPB): 0-1

FM Vedant Panesar (MAH) - IM Aronyak Ghosh (RSPB): 0.5-0.5

IM Koustav Chatterjee (WB) - IM Nitin S (RSPB): 1-0

GM Karthik Venkataramana (AP) - Subhayan Kundu (WB): 0.5-0.5

Utkal Ranjan Sahoo (ODI) - IM P Shyam Nikhil (ODI): 0.5-0.5

Bharat Kumar Reddy Poluri (TEL) - IM Mehar Chinna Reddy C H (RSPB): 0.5-0.5

IM Vignesh N R (RSPB) - Akshit Kumar J (AP): 0.5-0.5

IM Ajay Krishna S (TN) - Pushkar Dere (MAH): 0-1

IM Shahil Dey (ASM) - Shet Prajwal P (KAR): 0-1

CM Sahib Singh (DEL) - IM Avinash Ramesh (TN): 0.5-0.5


A total of 196 players including 18 GMs and 27 IMs are taking part in this tournament organized by Delhi Chess Association. The event is taking place in New Delhi from 22nd December 2022 to 3rd January 20233. The 13-round Swiss league tournament has a time control of 90 minutes for 40 moves followed by 30 minutes with an increment of 30 seconds from move no.1

Replay Round 4 games

Round 4 results

19GMIniyan P25073½ - ½3GMSethuraman S.P.26421PGN
222IMHarshavardhan G B243430 - 13GMGupta Abhijeet26013PGN
330FMPanesar Vedant23873½ - ½3IMAronyak Ghosh25217PGN
48IMKoustav Chatterjee250831 - 03IMNitin S.237237PGN
542IMUtsab Chatterjee23500 - 1GMVisakh N R25445PGN
610GMKarthik Venkataraman2503½ - ½Subhayan Kundu231951PGN
746Sahoo Utkal Ranjan2333½ - ½IMShyaamnikhil P249013PGN
814GMMitrabha Guha24871 - 0IMVardaan Nagpal232947PGN
950IMRaahul V S23250 - 1GMSengupta Deep248615PGN
1016IMKrishna C R G2480½ - ½IMPraveen Kumar C221265PGN
1152GMKarthikeyan P.2316½ - ½GMChanda Sandipan247517PGN
1256FMKrishnan Ritvik22660 - 1IMMohammad Nubairshah Shaikh243323PGN
1326IMAnuj Shrivatri2414½ - ½IMRajesh V A V231453PGN
1460Bharat Kumar Reddy Poluri2243½ - ½IMMehar Chinna Reddy C.H.240527PGN
1592Imocha Laishram20540 - 1IMKushagra Mohan239029PGN
1698FMAyushh Ravikumar19940 - 1GMNeelotpal Das238433PGN
174GMMendonca Leon Luke256621 - 0Shreyansh Daklia216574PGN
186GMShyam Sundar M.252621 - 02Surendran N216873PGN
1912IMVignesh N R24932½ - ½2Akshit Kumar J215875PGN
2077FMSrinivasa Rao M.214220 - 12GMVenkatesh M.R.245919PGN


Round 5 pairings

13GMGupta Abhijeet260144IMKoustav Chatterjee25088
21GMSethuraman S.P.2642GMSengupta Deep248615
35GMVisakh N R2544FMPanesar Vedant238730
47IMAronyak Ghosh2521IMMohammad Nubairshah Shaikh243323
529IMKushagra Mohan2390GMIniyan P25079
633GMNeelotpal Das2384GMMitrabha Guha248714
745GMSriram Jha233733GMMendonca Leon Luke25664
846Sahoo Utkal Ranjan233333GMShyam Sundar M.25266
948CMSoham Kamotra232933GMKarthik Venkataraman250310
1013IMShyaamnikhil P249033GMKarthikeyan P.231652
1151Subhayan Kundu231933IMKrishna C R G248016
1217GMChanda Sandipan247533IMSaravana Krishnan P.224459
1319GMVenkatesh M.R.245933Bharat Kumar Reddy Poluri224360
1453IMRajesh V A V231433IMHarshavardhan G B243422
1525IMSrihari L R242933Sai Vishwesh.C221964
1655IMRatnakaran K.230433IMAnuj Shrivatri241426
1727IMMehar Chinna Reddy C.H.240533Anadkat Kartavya214776
1863FMMohamed Anees M223733IMAudi Ameya240128
1965IMPraveen Kumar C221233Hari Madhavan N B238532
2069Garv Rai218133GMLaxman R.R.237236



Delhi Chess Association

Tournament Regulations

Contact Us