chessbase india logo

MPL 59th National Senior R10: Abhijeet joins Koustav at the top

by Shahid Ahmed - 01/01/2023

IM Koustav Chatterjee made a great escape against GM Mitrabha Guha in the tenth round of MPL 59th National Senior Chess Championship 2022. Mitrabha missed a good opportunity to push for a win in the bishop vs knight endgame. IM Srihari L R continues his unbeaten streak as he drew with GM Sethuraman S P. GM Abhijeet Gupta registered his third win in-a-row. This time it was against IM Vignesh N R who tried to do too much after Abhijeet's strategic exchange sacrifice. Half a dozen players are in pursuit at 7.5/10 each. Abhijeet and Koustaav are currently sharing the lead 8/10. Round 11 starts today at 2 p.m. IST today. Photo: FIDE/Mark Livshitz

Koustav escapes against Mitrabha

Six players - GM Sethuraman S P (PSPB), IM Aronyak Ghosh (RSPB), GM Mitrabha Guha (WB), IM Srihari L R (TN), GM Karthik Venkataraman (AP) and untitled Hari Madhavan N B (TN) are at 7.5/10 each. Hari defeated GM Sandipan Chanda (WB) in Round 10. Koustav Chatterjee became India's 78th, Kolkata and West Bengal's tenth Grandmaster. We will have a detailed article on Koustav's journey towards the GM title, once the tournament concludes.

GM Abhijeet Gupta is back in the lead again 8/10 | Photo: FIDE/Mark Livshitz

Koustav - Mitrabha

Position after 40.Bd3

GM Mitrabha Guha (WB, 2487) had a great opportunity to push for a win against IM Koustav Chattterjee (WB, 2508). 40...Nc4 would have been completely winning for Black. However, he went first 40...fxe3 41.Kg3 Nc4 42.b3 Nb2 and the game ended in a draw.

GM Mitrabha Guha (WB) had a good opportunity to get back in the lead | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Vignesh - Abhijeet

Position after 28.Qxf4

GM Abhijeet Gupta (PSPB, 2601) made a strategic exchange sacrifice 22.Bxf4 exf4 23.Rg2 Kh7 24.Nf2 Bh6 25.Rhg1 Rg8 26.e5 Qxe5 27.Nd3 Qf6 28.Qxf4 and we reach the above position. White need not take the f4-pawn. 28...Bf5 29.Qd4 Qe7 30.Qh4 Qe3 31.Qd4 Nh3 and soon White landed in a lot of trouble.

Final position after 39...b3

Black's bishops are piercing on the queenside. 40.a3 runs into Qxb5 41.cxb5 Rxa3#

A total of 196 players including 18 GMs and 27 IMs are taking part in this tournament organized by Delhi Chess Association. The event is taking place in New Delhi from 22nd December 2022 to 3rd January 20233. The 13-round Swiss league tournament has a time control of 90 minutes for 40 moves followed by 30 minutes with an increment of 30 seconds from move no.1

Replay Round 10 games

Round 10 results

18IMKoustav Chatterjee2508½ - ½7GMMitrabha Guha248714PGN
21GMSethuraman S.P.26427½ - ½7IMSrihari L R242925PGN
312IMVignesh N R24930 - 17GMGupta Abhijeet26013PGN
419GMVenkatesh M.R.2459½ - ½GMVisakh N R25445PGN
526IMAnuj Shrivatri24140 - 1IMAronyak Ghosh25217PGN
610GMKarthik Venkataraman25031 - 0Dhananjay S219966PGN
732Hari Madhavan N B23851 - 0GMChanda Sandipan247517PGN
815GMSengupta Deep248661 - 0GMIniyan P25079PGN
94GMMendonca Leon Luke25666½ - ½6IMUtsab Chatterjee235042PGN
1052GMKarthikeyan P.23166½ - ½6GMShyam Sundar M.25266PGN
1158Varun V225060 - 16IMShyaamnikhil P249013PGN
1259IMSaravana Krishnan P.224460 - 16IMDas Sayantan247518PGN
1382Bharadia Yash211760 - 16GMDeepan Chakkravarthy J.245720PGN
1422IMHarshavardhan G B24346½ - ½6CMSoham Kamotra232948PGN
1523IMMohammad Nubairshah Shaikh24336½ - ½6Nagare Kaivalya Sandip212480PGN
1627IMMehar Chinna Reddy C.H.240561 - 06Subhayan Kundu231951PGN
1730FMPanesar Vedant23876½ - ½6Sanjay S Pillai1799128PGN
1834IMAjay Krishna S238361 - 06Adireddy Arjun198099PGN
1921IMDas Arghyadip2438½ - ½IMRatnakaran K.230455PGN
2028IMAudi Ameya24011 - 0IMPraveen Kumar C221265PGN


Round 11 pairings

13GMGupta Abhijeet26018GMKarthik Venkataraman250310
225IMSrihari L R24298IMKoustav Chatterjee25088
37IMAronyak Ghosh2521GMSethuraman S.P.26421
414GMMitrabha Guha2487Hari Madhavan N B238532
55GMVisakh N R254477GMSengupta Deep248615
613IMShyaamnikhil P249077IMMehar Chinna Reddy C.H.240527
718IMDas Sayantan247577IMAjay Krishna S238334
820GMDeepan Chakkravarthy J.245777GMVenkatesh M.R.245919
948CMSoham Kamotra2329GMMendonca Leon Luke25664
1037IMNitin S.2372GMShyam Sundar M.25266
119GMIniyan P2507GMKarthikeyan P.231652
1242IMUtsab Chatterjee2350IMVignesh N R249312
1317GMChanda Sandipan2475FMAradhya Garg231254
1445GMSriram Jha2337IMHarshavardhan G B243422
1546Sahoo Utkal Ranjan2333IMMohammad Nubairshah Shaikh243323
1666Dhananjay S2199IMAnuj Shrivatri241426
1753IMRajesh V A V2314IMAudi Ameya240128
1873Surendran N2168FMPanesar Vedant238730
19128Sanjay S Pillai1799GMLaxman R.R.237236
2080Nagare Kaivalya Sandip21246Sanket Chakravarty236738



Delhi Chess Association

Tournament Regulations

Contact Us