chessbase india logo

Shubham Kumar wins SLAN 1st Below 1600 Rating Tournament 2023

by Shahid Ahmed - 17/09/2023

Shubham Kumar, Yashvi Jain, Sathwik D S S U, Vangala Prashanth and Gagan Sahu scored 8/9 each at SLAN 1st Below 1600 Rating Tournament 2023. Shubham won the tournament due to better tie-breaks. The remaining four were placed second to fifth. Except Prashanth, the remaining four were undefeated. The total prize fund of the tournament was ₹1000000. The top three prizes were ₹100000, ₹60000 and ₹40000 along with a trophy each respectively. The tournament was organized by SLAN Sports from 25th to 27th August 2023 at Sri Kotla Vijaya Bhaskar Reddy Indoor Stadium in Hyderabad, Telangana. This was Shubham's first tournament triumph of his career. Photos: Naveen Naik Jarupla/SLAN Sports

Top five score 8/9

Yashvi Jain and Shubham Kumar were the coleaders 7.5/8, heading into the final round. They drew their match against each other. Sathwik D S S U, Gagan Sahu, Vangala Prashanth defeated Satvik Andabatla, Mukesh Muthukumar and Arav Baid to finish with a score of 8/9. The five players were placed first to fifth according to tie-breaks. Yashvi became the sole finisher not only among top three but also top 30.

Champion - Shubham Kumar 8/9

Runner-up - Yashvi Jain 8/9

Second Runner-up - Sathwik D S S U 8/9

Top 3: 2nd Yashvi Jain 8/9, 1st Shubham Kumar 8/9 and 3rd Sathwik D S S U 8/9

Shubham Kumar scored an unbeaten 8/9 and gained 49.8 Elo rating points

Lighting of the lamp

The tournament flex

Players in action

The tournament hall at Sri Kotla Vijaya Bhaskar Reddy Indoor Stadium in Hyderabad, Telangana

Thanks to the Tournament Director, Naveen Naik Jarupla, COO of SLAN Sports, for sharing the photos.


A total of 560 players took part from various states across the country, two from Canada and six from USA in this three-day nine-round Swiss League Below 1600 Rating tournament. The event was organized by SLAN Sports at Sri Kotla Vijaya Bhaskar Reddy Indoor Stadium in Hyderabad, Telangana from 25th and 27th August 2023. The time control of the event was 30 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1.

Replay all available games

Final standings

Rk.SNo NameTypsexGrFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
Shubham, KumarIND1468BR852,55749,2507
Yashvi, JainF15wIND1474TG852,556,549,2507
Sathwik, D S S UIND1550AP851,556,549,5007
Vangala, PrashanthIND1347TG85054,548,0008
Gagan, SahuU15IND1454CT84751,546,0007
Kesavan, GIND1528TN7,554,559,547,5007
Mokshith, PasupuletyU15IND1457TG7,55054,543,5007
C, R RitvikIND1491TG7,547,55141,2506
Phani, KanuriIND1397AP7,546,55140,2507
Aaditya, Ranjan SahuU13IND1444KA7,5454840,0007
Subhash, Chandrama NaiduIND1480TG7,5444738,7507
Baid, AravIND1489AP75457,541,5007
AIMMuthukumar, MukeshU13IND1532TN75255,539,5007
Prithvi, SharmaIND1409HR7505440,0006
Nijesh, RU11IND1463TN7505439,7506
Ameya, Abhay ShrivastavaIND1395MH7495339,0007
Ravi, PalsuleIND1406MP7495236,5007
Patil, Shantanu SU15IND1301MH7495037,0006
Parab, RishikeshIND1458GOA748,552,539,0007
Shantharam, KS55IND1296KA748,55237,5007
Abhinav, AnandU09IND1351KA74852,538,5007
Andabatla, SatvikU13IND1451TG747,551,538,0006
Arnav, PradhanU15IND1452TG7475138,5006
Aditya, Narendra UkeyIND1391MH7475037,7506
Divith, Reddy AdullaU07IND1420TG745,549,536,5006



Official site

Related news:
C R Ritvik triumphs at 4th Marvel Below 1800 Rating Tournament 2024

@ 25/05/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Bharat Kumar Reddy Poluri wins 3rd Marvel Rating Open 2024

@ 20/05/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Srikanth Myakala dominates 1st Karimnagar Below 1600 Rating Tournament 2024 with a perfect 9/9

@ 05/02/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ramkumar prevails at 2nd Marvel Below 1600 Rating Tournament 2023

@ 17/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Bharat Kumar Reddy Poluri victorious at 1st Marvel Rating Open 2023

@ 10/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Viresh Sharnarthi and Shreya G Hipparagi are 36th National Under-13 Open and Girls 2023 Champions

@ 19/12/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kandi Santosh Sai Karthik dominates 1st Telangana Gurukulams Below 1600 Rating Tournament 2023

@ 28/06/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
10-year-old Samuel Stephen Noble dominates 1st V4 Chess Below 1600 Rating Tournament 2023

@ 16/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kushagra Mohan wins 1st Bishan Singh Memorial Rating Open 2023

@ 16/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Interview with India's 74th GM Rahul Srivatshav

@ 11/06/2022 by Himank Ghosh (en)
15-year-old Kheerthi Ganta becomes the first girl to win Telangana State Rapid and Blitz 2022

@ 25/04/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
IM Saravana Krishnan and Md Reyan win the Marvel Chess Academy, Hyderabad twin tournaments

@ 23/11/2021 by R Anantharam (en)
Arjun Erigaisi clinches Masthanaiah Rapid Rating Open 2021

@ 01/05/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
IM Rahul Srivasthav clinches Telangana State Senior convincingly 8.0/8

@ 13/04/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Laxman wins Pearl City All India Open and a brand new Maruti Alto 800

@ 13/09/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Balancing chess and education - Sai Agni is Telangana's sixth IM

@ 12/03/2019 by Nongsha Angom (en)
Saravana Krishnan wins Tetrasoft Open 2018

@ 24/10/2018 by Praful Zaveri (en)

Contact Us