chessbase india logo

Srikanth Myakala dominates 1st Karimnagar Below 1600 Rating Tournament 2024 with a perfect 9/9

by Shahid Ahmed - 05/02/2024

Srikanth Myakala won 1st Karimnagar Below 1600 Rating Open 2024 with a 100% score 9/9. He finished a staggering one and a half point ahead of the competition. Four players - Mahender Marri, Gowrichander U, Natura Bethi and Sathvik Gulakaram scored 7.5/9 each. They were placed second to fifth respectively according to tie-breaks. Srikanth defeated the eventual runner-up, Mahender in the penultimate round. The total prize fund of the tournament was ₹200000. Entry fee was only ₹999. The top three prizes were ₹30000, ₹20000 and ₹15000 along with a trophy each. This was Srikanth's first rating tournament triumph of his career. Photos: Vishwanath Chess Academy

Srikanth's first rating tournament triumph of his career

Srikanth Myakala was the sole leader going into the final round 8/8. He had a full point lead over the rest. A draw would have sufficed for a first place finish. Still, he went for a win against Mahendar B to become a clear champion. Mahendar Marri defeated Sanikommu Jaideep Reddy and Gowrichander U drew against Sathvik Gulakaram to secure second and third place respectively. Natura Bethi is the sole female finisher among top 15. She scored 7.5/9 to finish at fourth place.

Champion - Srikanth Myakala 9/9

Top 3 (L to R): 3rd Gowrichander U 7.5/9, 1st Srikanth Myakala 9/9 and 2nd Mahender Marri 7.5/9

Srikanth Myakala scored a perfect 9/9, finished one and a half point ahead of the rest and gained 49.8 Elo rating points

A total of 285 players took part from various states across the country in the Below 1600 Rating tournament. The three-day nine round Rating tournament was organized by Vishwanath Chess Academy at Vysya Bhavan in Karimnagar, Telangana from 19th to 21st January 2024. The time control of the event was 30 minutes + 30 seconds increment per move.

Final standings

Rk.SNoNameTypsexFEDRtgIClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
111Srikanth, MyakalaIND1365TG9515555,0009
222Mahender, MarriIND1278TG7,5515542,7507
315Gowrichander, UIND1341TN7,550,555,544,7507
42Natura, BethiwIND1499TG7,550,554,542,5007
520Sathvik, GulakaramU11IND1311TG7,548,55241,5006
643Moorthattil, HarikumarIND1186TG7525743,0006
76Aragonda, MohanIND1439TG7525539,7506
814Ravindra, PIND1343TG749,553,539,2506
926Kanthi, Kiran KatarapuIND1245AP749,550,534,5007
1010Mahendar, BIND1374TG748,55137,5007
1112Imran, HussainIND1358JH746,550,538,2505
1228Hariharan, JU15IND1242TN745,54836,5006
1335M Tulasi Ram, KumarIND1224TG7454837,0007
149Pavan, CIND1387KA7444836,7506
153Shaik, RiyazIND1476TG74245,528,5007
165Vishwanath, KannamIND1464TG6,547,550,533,7506
1730Vijetha, MarriwIND1235TG6,5475235,7505
18292Vijay, Yadav AIND0TG6,546,550,535,2505
1927Bandi, PrashantIND1243TG6,546,55033,2506
2013Singh, Ankit KumarIND1352JH6,54650,535,5004


Related news:
C R Ritvik triumphs at 4th Marvel Below 1800 Rating Tournament 2024

@ 25/05/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Bharat Kumar Reddy Poluri wins 3rd Marvel Rating Open 2024

@ 20/05/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ramkumar prevails at 2nd Marvel Below 1600 Rating Tournament 2023

@ 17/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Bharat Kumar Reddy Poluri victorious at 1st Marvel Rating Open 2023

@ 10/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Viresh Sharnarthi and Shreya G Hipparagi are 36th National Under-13 Open and Girls 2023 Champions

@ 19/12/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Shubham Kumar wins SLAN 1st Below 1600 Rating Tournament 2023

@ 17/09/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kandi Santosh Sai Karthik dominates 1st Telangana Gurukulams Below 1600 Rating Tournament 2023

@ 28/06/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
10-year-old Samuel Stephen Noble dominates 1st V4 Chess Below 1600 Rating Tournament 2023

@ 16/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kushagra Mohan wins 1st Bishan Singh Memorial Rating Open 2023

@ 16/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Interview with India's 74th GM Rahul Srivatshav

@ 11/06/2022 by Himank Ghosh (en)
15-year-old Kheerthi Ganta becomes the first girl to win Telangana State Rapid and Blitz 2022

@ 25/04/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
IM Saravana Krishnan and Md Reyan win the Marvel Chess Academy, Hyderabad twin tournaments

@ 23/11/2021 by R Anantharam (en)
Arjun Erigaisi clinches Masthanaiah Rapid Rating Open 2021

@ 01/05/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
IM Rahul Srivasthav clinches Telangana State Senior convincingly 8.0/8

@ 13/04/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Laxman wins Pearl City All India Open and a brand new Maruti Alto 800

@ 13/09/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Balancing chess and education - Sai Agni is Telangana's sixth IM

@ 12/03/2019 by Nongsha Angom (en)
Saravana Krishnan wins Tetrasoft Open 2018

@ 24/10/2018 by Praful Zaveri (en)

Contact Us