chessbase india logo

Ramkumar prevails at 2nd Marvel Below 1600 Rating Tournament 2023

by Shahid Ahmed - 17/01/2024

R Ramkumar scored an unbeaten 8.5/9 to win 2nd Marvel Below 1600 Rating Open 2023. He finished a half point ahead of the field. Tijil Singh and C R Ritvik scored 8/9 each. They were placed second and third respectively according to tie-breaks. Ramkumar's sole draw was against the eventual runner-up, Tijil. The top three finishers remained undefeated. The total prize fund of the tournament was ₹600000. The top three prizes were ₹75000, ₹50000 and ₹40000 along with a trophy each. This was Ramkumar's third overall, first rating tournament triumph of his career. Photos: Marvel Chess Academy

Ramkumar's first rating tournament triumph of his career

R Ramkumar was the sole leader heading into the final round 7.5/8. He defeated Prashanth Vangala to become a clear champion. Tijil Singh and C R Ritvik won against My Aditya and Aswin Babu J to secure second and third position respectively.

Top 3 (L to R): 1st R Ramkumar 8.5/9, 2nd Tijil Singh 8/9 and 3rd C R Ritvik

R Ram Kumar scored an unbeaten 8.5/9, finished a half point ahead of the field and gained 32.4 Elo rating points

The tournament hall at Puchalapalli Leela Sundaraiah Function Hall, Pragathinagar in Hyderabad, Telangana

A total of 401 players took part from various states across the country and one from Australia, Canada and USA each in the Below 1600 Rating tournament. The three-day nine round Rating tournament was organized by B Rajashekar at Puchalapalli Leela Sundaraiah Function Hall, Pragathinagar in Hyderabad, Telangana from 28th to 30th December 2023. The time control of the event was 30 minutes + 30 seconds increment per move.

Final standings

Rk.SNo NameTypsexFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
Ram, Kumar RIND1536AP8,551,555,551,5008
Tijil, SinghU15IND1255TG8525546,7507
C, R RitvikIND1527TG8515548,0007
Gudimetla, Navaneeth ReddyU15IND1494TN7,55252,541,2507
Vasistha, Ramana Rao K VIND1440TG7,5505242,5006
Phani, Krishna C HIND1449TG7,5475142,2507
Venkata, Krishna TondapuIND1505TG7,5454939,7507
Aswin, Babu JIND1593TN7556043,5007
AFMMy, AdityaIND1549AP752,557,542,5007
Vangala, PrashanthIND1413TG7515640,5007
Andabatla, SatvikU13IND1471TG749,553,539,2506
Sreenandan, Babu JIND1440TG74953,540,0006
Sree, Rama Anjani Kumar KU13IND1317TG748,55238,7506
Phani, KanuriIND1442AP7485136,7506
Pratik, Lalit TambiU11IND1310MH74850,538,0007
Hriday, MundadaU13IND1339TG7475036,0007
Nagasri, SaikanthIND1498AP74749,537,7505
Anilkumar, Reddy KasireddyIND1352TG746,549,537,5007
Anandhi, PF13wIND1204KA7424533,0007
Nidhish, ShyamalU09IND1384TG6,552,556,538,2506
Oam, BahetiU15IND1167TG6,5515537,7506
AFMAbhibhav, KumarU13IND1127DL6,550,55437,0005
Sarvani, CheedellaF15wIND1376AP6,549,55235,7505
Subba, Raju S.IND1360TG6,5495335,2506
Syam, Sudhakar Rao RIND1333AP6,5485235,2506



Marvel Chess Academy

Related news:
C R Ritvik triumphs at 4th Marvel Below 1800 Rating Tournament 2024

@ 25/05/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Bharat Kumar Reddy Poluri wins 3rd Marvel Rating Open 2024

@ 20/05/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Srikanth Myakala dominates 1st Karimnagar Below 1600 Rating Tournament 2024 with a perfect 9/9

@ 05/02/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Bharat Kumar Reddy Poluri victorious at 1st Marvel Rating Open 2023

@ 10/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Viresh Sharnarthi and Shreya G Hipparagi are 36th National Under-13 Open and Girls 2023 Champions

@ 19/12/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Shubham Kumar wins SLAN 1st Below 1600 Rating Tournament 2023

@ 17/09/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kandi Santosh Sai Karthik dominates 1st Telangana Gurukulams Below 1600 Rating Tournament 2023

@ 28/06/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
10-year-old Samuel Stephen Noble dominates 1st V4 Chess Below 1600 Rating Tournament 2023

@ 16/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kushagra Mohan wins 1st Bishan Singh Memorial Rating Open 2023

@ 16/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Interview with India's 74th GM Rahul Srivatshav

@ 11/06/2022 by Himank Ghosh (en)
15-year-old Kheerthi Ganta becomes the first girl to win Telangana State Rapid and Blitz 2022

@ 25/04/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
IM Saravana Krishnan and Md Reyan win the Marvel Chess Academy, Hyderabad twin tournaments

@ 23/11/2021 by R Anantharam (en)
Arjun Erigaisi clinches Masthanaiah Rapid Rating Open 2021

@ 01/05/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
IM Rahul Srivasthav clinches Telangana State Senior convincingly 8.0/8

@ 13/04/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Laxman wins Pearl City All India Open and a brand new Maruti Alto 800

@ 13/09/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Balancing chess and education - Sai Agni is Telangana's sixth IM

@ 12/03/2019 by Nongsha Angom (en)
Saravana Krishnan wins Tetrasoft Open 2018

@ 24/10/2018 by Praful Zaveri (en)

Contact Us